View Full Version : Tyrnos 20 and T Curve Rod Purchase

fishenmick
15-05-2006, 02:06 AM
I am currently in Iraq with the Australian Army and want to buy a Tyrnos 20 and a matching 10-15kg T-Curve rod. I have looked on the internet and of the few sites I have found the best price is $450 and $30 postage and handling. It seems like a good price but want to know if this is the current price. I will be home in about four weeks, but I want to order one now over the internet and have it at home when I get there so I can set it up and get on the water ASAP. Plus I want to order it before the missus changes her mind and says no :(. I am in the Brisbane area.

Any help would be appreciated.

regards, Mick

Az
15-05-2006, 11:30 AM
get in contact with sundown marine on the board, they had a special running on these and may be able to sort one out, i think around $229 so there are some big savings to be had at present

I got one and have it matched to a wilson 10-15kg live fibre and its an awesome combo, very happy with it

Far_Canal
15-05-2006, 11:56 AM
10-15kg t curve tyrnos medium - $189 bcf.

15-05-2006, 02:30 PM
G'day breama
Could you elaborate on that combo? That sounds too cheap even for just the reel. What is a medium tyrnos anyway? a 20 or 30?

Az
15-05-2006, 05:50 PM
G'day breama
# # Could you elaborate on that combo? That sounds too cheap even for just the reel. What is a medium tyrnos anyway? a 20 or 30?

he's referring to the tyrnos rod, they're a good trolling rod but I much prefer the live fiber 10-15kg for everything else which can still troll quite well

15-05-2006, 06:22 PM
No worries az... thanx mate;)
dave

fishenmick
16-05-2006, 12:54 AM
I got one and have it matched to a wilson 10-15kg live fibre and its an awesome combo, very happy with it

Thanks Az, you think the Tyrnos Live Fibre rod is not as good as the Wilson for jigging and a general all rounder? I will try to get some more info before I purchase the rod I think. Certainly want something that can do it all.

Thanks, Mick

Az
16-05-2006, 09:52 AM
the tyrnos (shimano not live fibre - sorry to confuse) rod would probably be ok for jigging and an allrounder, all depends how much jigging you intend to do, i can still jig with mine (wilson live fibre 10-15kg) troll and its great for feeling bites bottom bashing. There are plenty of good rods to match the tyrnos to, get the tyrnos then fit it to a few different rods till you find one you really feel comfortable with and suits your requirements, for me it was the live fibre

wayne_cook
24-05-2006, 05:06 PM
HI mick ur price sounds good. 8-)
I have 3 live fibre rods and have just purchased a t-curve for jigging.
I feel the t-curve will fullfil ur needs they are great.
Nice and light nice & easy to grip super strong ,power to burn.
IF I had to only take a few rods on a trip it would the first rod packed ;)
Cheers bear

fishenmick
29-05-2006, 02:21 AM
Thanks Brrbear,

I appreciate all the advice and have been offered some great prices by the mart and also Sundown. I am thinking I will go with two setups.

2 x Tyrnos 20s and either th T-Curve or Live Fibre or one of each. Will need to look at and feel the rods when I get back. Only a week to go.