View Full Version : MO tackle, awsome stuff

Dave_griffin
26-05-2006, 08:04 PM
hey guy's,
i just picked up a mail order tackle catalouge called MO tackle. i recommend it to anyone who is in to fishing as the prices are just exceptional (theres nothing in there i have seen cheaper ANYWHERE else) and it has an absolutely massive range of products.. every single top brand (shimano, Daiwa, G.loomis, abu garcia, strudwick) just to name a few. it has all the rods, and reels from these brands and many others and postage is $15 to anywhere in australia for as many items as you want up to 1 ton!! it also has a huge selection of lures (jackals, river-2-sea, halco, slider, squidgy, berkley, atomic, ecogear, predatek & arbogast along with 100s of unknown brands) it has a massive section for camping equipment and also sells minnkota electric motors and eagle sounders. has anyone ordered anything from this magazine to give some feed back on postage etc... it is a great magazine with everything you could ever want.. and as for the prices.. i dont think i will ever enter a tackle shop ever again.

cheers, Dave

melb_guy
26-05-2006, 08:22 PM
hey guy's,
i just picked up a mail order tackle catalouge called MO tackle. i recommend it to anyone who is in to fishing as the prices are just exceptional (theres nothing in there i have seen cheaper ANYWHERE else) and it has an absolutely massive range of products.. every single top brand (shimano, Daiwa, G.loomis, abu garcia, strudwick) just to name a few. it has all the rods, and reels from these brands and many others and postage is $15 to anywhere in australia for as many items as you want up to 1 ton!! it also has a huge selection of lures (jackals, river-2-sea, halco, slider, squidgy, berkley, atomic, ecogear, predatek & arbogast along with 100s of unknown brands) it has a massive section for camping equipment and also sells minnkota electric motors and eagle sounders. has anyone ordered anything from this magazine to give some feed back on postage etc... it is a great magazine with everything you could ever want.. and as for the prices.. i dont think i will ever enter a tackle shop ever again.

cheers, Dave

Hi Dave,

Where can i join it????
Do they have a website??

Cheers :)

scuttlebutt
26-05-2006, 09:18 PM
i dont think i will ever enter a tackle shop ever again.

cheers, Dave

What, not even for work? That post reads suspiciously like an advertisement to me.

steve

26-05-2006, 09:30 PM
Hey steve..... not a bad bit of on the sly advertising hey?

27-05-2006, 12:58 AM
i dont think i will ever enter a tackle shop ever again.

cheers, Dave

What, not even for work? #That post reads suspiciously like an advertisement to me.

You're kidding us! #;D ;D ;D

If this was TV, you would be able to hear the volume increased already when you read the post. #;D ;D # # I noticed a few weeks ago that "Rugs a Million" who do those extra loud grandiose claims adverts on TV (eg "half price") was done over by the authorities in Perth for making false claims in their adverts. #I notice that their claims are a lot less feral now. #I wonder at what stage that will happen to internet advertising and surreptitious adverts like this one.

I also wonder in what sense he means "enter a tackle shop". #;D ;D ;D

hogesTS
27-05-2006, 01:08 AM
not an advertisment, MO tackle has been around for donkeys, they have some pretty good deals on lures and line, havent really ever looked at their reel and rod prices though. And there is also the advantage that they will post to anywhere, so for those out in the sticks you can still get good quality gear at a decent price (most of the guys up on TI use them). Unfortunatley they dont have a website, you have to buy their catalogue from the newsagents.

27-05-2006, 01:38 AM
not an advertisment, MO tackle has been around for donkeys,

Hahaha! # ;D ;D ;D ;D #Give me a break! #;D ;D ;D

They may well be a great business to deal with. #( - but a 21st century business mail-order business without a website???!!! # Hahaha! #;D ;D ;D # #Perhaps, they are an Irish mail-order business - they may not even have a post-box. #;D ;D ;D #)

As someone who has spent the last 20 years in marketing and sales, let me be the first to applaud these guys for attempting some low cost marketing in this way. #It was the sort of thing that I used to do with media releases, often helped with boozy lunches with journalists, in the earlier stages of my marketing career. #The public is so incredibly gullible and accepting of what media will tell them. # Of course any controversy generated here will only help their cause. #What was their name again? # ;D ;D ;D

However, there are some hallmarks to indicate that this is a 24 carat gold bit of marketing:-

1. #Firstly there is the obvious hype style.

2. #Secondly, this type of post is usually done by someone with only a handful of posts and therefore no commitment to the site. #In this case, it is the guy's first post. #Good one! #;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

3. #Thirdly, it is often followed up by some equally novice stooge asking, "where can i get it?' # In this case the follow-up poster has made only five posts, every one of which was about tackle. #Give me a break! # ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D # That this guy may well have given himself away as being based in Melbourne suggests to me that this is a put-up job. #Melbourne fishos are well catered for by Fishnet.com.au so why would he want to ask those sorts of questions on a Brisbane based website unless he was doing a bit of research? #It all sounds like a Melbourne based marketing effort.

Imagine eh! #a mail order business without a website! #Hahaha! # ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Dammit! #I won't get to sleep tonight! #I cannot stop laughing. # ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Of course, doing this sort of marketing on the website funded by a guy like Steve Brown who makes his living from selling tackle would be known in the industry as a form of 'ambush marketing" # [No smilies here #>:( ]

Tony_N
27-05-2006, 06:50 AM
Yep #- thats more than a bit naughty I reckon.

Notice that he's no longer saying that he'd undercut anybody else's prices by 10%. #He has a competitor amar+ #set up almost next door and its obvious they are hurting him. #Last time I went into MO #the place was very scrappy, prices weren't that great and the staff seemed to have lost interest. #To be fair they do some great specials from time to time - but you'll probably find that you can can take their catalogue to your local tackle shop and get the prices matched.

BOWIE.M
27-05-2006, 07:30 AM
I HAVEN'T BOUGHT ANYTHING FROM THEM I LIKE THE IDEA THAT I CAN WALK INTO THE LOCAL TACKLE SHOP AND LOOK AND FEEL/PLAY WITH THE ITEM BEFORE I BUY IT KNOWING THAT IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG DOWN THE TRACK THEY WILL HELP ME OUT.

CamH
27-05-2006, 12:03 PM
I haven't seen their prices for a while but last time I did they were more expensive than Wellsys tackle in Kawana.

Brent_P
27-05-2006, 12:59 PM
According to their latest catalogue (which they charge $10 for in newsagents), there will be a website soon.
Yeah, it does sound like advertising to me too, but I've bought a helluva lot of gear off MO Tackle over the last eight or nine years and I reckon their prices are generally better than most places and they have a huge range of tackle. Though you sometimes see cheaper prices on the Perth-based Campbells ProTackle site, MO Tackle say they'll match any advertised price (like the mart that must not be named) and their postage is cheaper on rods. Their delivery is very quick to the Gold Coast too - about four days from Coffs Harbour.
One of the specials on Shimano combos in the latest catalogue really annoyed me. I had wanted to buy a Tcurve Overhead Deep Jig 400 with a Shimano Trinidad 40N combo but I didn't want to spend $750, so I ordered the Tcurve and a Daiwa Saltist 50 from MO Tackle about two months ago. Then the other day they sent me a catalogue, and I saw the Tcurve and Trinidad combo for $550 :o. Campbells Protackle sell the same combo for $759 - not for long probably. That shows you how much profit margin Shimano put on their gear - if they have the same policy as they do in the United States, Shimano have a minimum price they will allow retailers to advertise. That might be why some retailers have advertised TLD prices as being 'too hot to print!', rather than this just being advertising hype.
Like Tony said, some tackle shops will match MO Tackle's prices, but a lot won't and you have to pay $10 for a catalogue to show them (you get the $10 back from MO Tackle if you order something from them). I did that myself when I bought a 7ft 15-24kg Live Fibre from a shop on the Gold Coast but the difference was only $30. You don't have to pay $15 postage when you buy direct from a tackle shop, so I saved $45.
A workmate of mine tried to buy a Daiwa Sol 2500 for the same price as Campbells ProTackle were selling them recently, but he was turned down twice before he got a comparable deal which included some free Bionic braid and a few packets of soft plastics. He told me that one guy in a tackle shop told him he didn't have any Daiwa Sols in stock and if he wanted one my mate would have to pay postage! I really laughed when I heard that - some people will try anything on.
It really is amazing that the small, privately owned tackle shops manage to survive, given that they don't have the buying power the big shops and the chains like BCF and the mart have. And there's also Ebay and the American and Japanese online stores to compete with. Luckily, there's still a lot of people who prefer personal service when they shop for fishing gear.

Dave_griffin
27-05-2006, 05:56 PM
lol im not trying to advertise it.. christ i would love to work for them and advertise.. but as i am only 15 i think it will be a while.. lol im just saying it looks to be really good... i was more interested to see if anyone has actually bought anything from them to see how quick postage and weather they are good to deal with or not. anyway wateva, believe wat u want... if you think im bulls***ing you u can have a look at the newsagents without buying it. and of course im going to enter tackle shops again.. to check prices and stuff but if they are genuine then i will be ordering off them.. the prices are really good.

Dave_griffin
27-05-2006, 06:09 PM
also charleville, if you check out the freshwater section.. you will notice a lot of posts bye "david_griffin_44" (they will be a few pages back as it was about x-mas when i last used ausfish) anyway i forgot my password etc. for that account, and as i havent had a computer for about 3 months my hotmail account had expired and therefore i could not do the "forgot your password?" thing because they send your old password to your hotmail account. so i made a new account... but seeing as you know F***ing everything, you will know that its just a major coincidence that someone else has the same name as me....

kind regards, Dave

27-05-2006, 07:27 PM
Well, getting a bit heated I must say.

Stay with one tackle shop and become a regular. In time they will get to know your name.

In time they will realise that you get all your fishing stuff from them.

In the end they will look after you real well.

Along the way dont be affraid to ask for a discount.

My local has always beat the MO and Campbells so called deals with out even mentioning them or their prices. (but it is good to know what these guys are charging)

Steven

Huggy_B
27-05-2006, 11:11 PM
I was watching ifsih today (in Perth) and saw an ad for MO tackle - Coffs Harbour.

The had a phone number you could call to get a free catologue and they said if you can find it cheaper in Perth, you get it free. They guarantee to be cheaper.

First I had heard of them til today and now I have seen it twice! ;D

28-05-2006, 07:27 AM
#if they have the same policy as they do in the United States, Shimano have a minimum price they will allow retailers to advertise.

Nah - that would be resale price maintenance which is specifically banned under the Trade Practices Act in Australia.

The ACCC would prosecute them for that.

28-05-2006, 09:14 AM
The Mart with an A will meet MO Tackle prices. Have done it a few times, taken the catalogue in & they have met MO Tackle prices.

Their website has been comming for the last 5 years or there about. Quite amazing really when you think about it, as to how big buying online is. I remember when MO Tackle was offering whole sale prices, when I enquired about it in regards to an E-Bussiness I was told that they were to have their website online in a few months & they would be in direct competition with me, so they knocked me back >:(..... that was 4 years ago :o

I get their catalogue every now & then just to keep up with tackle prices.... gotta keep in the know for when I buy off Ebay ;D

28-05-2006, 12:01 PM
Living in the Coffs area, I have Am$rt, B$F, and MO to choose from.
The beauty of MO is they have things the others don't, like a larger variety of rods, hooks, plastics, lures, mono, braid etc. etc.
So while the others are always competitive price-wise for items commonly stocked, MO has a greater variety of items overall.
Also the staff are infinitely more knowledgable about fishing, sometimes to the point of arrogance with one or two of them. To be fair though, the majority of the staff are a pleasure to deal with, ie polite, friendly and helpful.
To my knowledge they started as 'Grafton Guns' in Little St, Coffs about 20 years ago, so they have been around for a while.
Just my personal experience folks, definitely not on the staff!

HST
28-05-2006, 07:02 PM
hey guy's,
i just picked up a mail order tackle catalogue called MO tackle. i recommend it to anyone who is in to fishing as the prices are just exceptional (there's nothing in there i have seen cheaper ANYWHERE else) and it has an absolutely massive range of products.. every single top brand (shimano, Daiwa, G.loomis, abu Garcia, strudwick) just to name a few. it has all the rods, and reels from these brands and many others and postage is $15 to anywhere in Australia for as many items as you want up to 1 ton!! it also has a huge selection of lures (jackals, river-2-sea, halco, slider, squidgy, Berkley, atomic, ecogear, predatek & arbogast along with 100s of unknown brands) it has a massive section for camping equipment and also sells minn kota electric motors and eagle sounders. has anyone ordered anything from this magazine to give some feed back on postage etc... it is a great magazine with everything you could ever want.. and as for the prices.. i dont think i will ever enter a tackle shop ever again.

cheers, Dave

Dave sorry to tell you this its has far from all the rods and reels ,the Australian daiwa catalogue is less than 20 pages for them to choose from , the real daiwa catalogue for the Japan market is well over 250 pages ,the Gamakatsu japan catalogue is over 280 pages ,shimano ,ryobi and the last goes on ,we dont even get 2 % of the gear that is out there to choose from .We are a dumping ground for new unwanted tackle that is old technology ,HST

28-05-2006, 09:15 PM
lol im not trying to advertise it.. christ i would love to work for them and advertise.. but as i am only 15 i think it will be a while.. lol im just saying it looks to be really good... i was more interested to see if anyone has actually bought anything from them to see how quick postage and weather they are good to deal with or not. anyway wateva, believe wat u want... if you think im bulls***ing you u can have a look at the newsagents without buying it. and of course im going to enter tackle shops again.. to check prices and stuff but if they are genuine then i will be ordering off them.. the prices are really good.

dave, you are pretty articulate for the age of 15. maybe you should consider a career in politics?

28-05-2006, 09:44 PM
Yeah Lippa - I was just going to let this go through to the keeper as it is too silly for words - but what the heck...

So now, we are talking about a 15 year old who would be happy to live without his hotmail address for three months. ;D ;D ;D ;D Even when my computer has been in for repairs, my kids only survive by accessing their hotmail at the library. 8-) I am sure that every normal 15 year old is the same.

...and what about the sign-off? How many 15 year old kids would use such an old fashioned way of signing off their correspondence? :-?

Too silly for words. ;D ;D ;D

28-05-2006, 10:09 PM
I was watching ifsih today (in Perth) and saw an ad for MO tackle - Coffs Harbour.

The had a phone number you could call to get a free catologue and they said if you can find it cheaper in Perth, you get it free. They guarantee to be cheaper.

First I had heard of them til today and now I have seen it twice! #;D

Hmmm. #Sounds like they have contracted a national or even international marketing firm to help them drive up sales.

Hey #- look at this? # #Can it be a coincidence????

There just happens to be a David Griffin who works in an international marketing firm called GFK Australia, based in Sydney.

...and this is what they do...

GfK Australia is part of the Retail and Technology Division of the GfK Group, one of the largest market research organisations worldwide. We specialise in monitoring the product sales and market trends of industry sectors such as consumer electronics, entertainment media, information technology, major & small domestic appliances, photographic & imaging, telecommunications and toys.

GfK provides essential market data to over 200 organisations in Australia and New Zealand. Our client-base covers many of the leading manufacturers, vendors and distributors within their respective industries, plus the majority of the region's key retailers and resellers.

Goodness golly gosh! #This is really interesting. # ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Isn't Google a wonderful thing?! ;D ;D ;D

Dave_griffin
29-05-2006, 08:26 AM
clearly the sign off of "kind regards" is sarcasm... why would there be kind regards after i just called you a F*****G know it all. and if you want proof that i am only 15 then have a look at my postings from about three months ago in freshwater ( i went hunting for them and they are 19 pages back) probably 20 now. although they are under a different account name "david griffin" i think.. you will just have to believe that it is me.. otherwise how else would i know about them. they state that i am 15 somewhere... i think its the brisbane river bass one.. but you probably think that i new something like this would happen so i deliberately made those posts a few months back? anyway i couldnt give two shits about wat you all think.. to be honest i just think it was a good magazine with heaps of crap.. and the only tackle shop i live near is charlton's tackle and bait and the mart with an a.. and i dont mean to bad mouth charltons as they are a great bunch of blokes and have allways been good to me.. but MO craps all over there prices.. having said all this, they are the only two tackle shops i have had to compare prices with.

cheers and i apologise for making this post, some things are better kept to your self.

Dave_griffin
29-05-2006, 08:35 AM
i just read ur other shit charleville.. if theres anyway of proving that im 15 then i would happily do it... so if you have any ideas?? please tell me.. its just a coincidence that this other fella has the same name as me.. and to be honest.. if i was this fella, do you really think i would be going to so much effort to tell you that im not? i mean the so called "add" is on the board... thats all that matters to the seller.. if i was trying to addvertise it then i would have posted it and you would have never heard from me again. the only reason i still am going on with this shit is because i dont want to create a bad name for myself. anyway if theres an administrator that reads this, perhaps they could just delete the hole lot?? please?

29-05-2006, 09:02 AM
no school today dave? or did you go to libary early to make your responses? mine was merly an observation. jump back in your shirt. it's not that big of a deal!

davidgrifin44
29-05-2006, 12:30 PM
i have the flue. and yea i suppose no-one is going to believe that... but anyway to be honest i couldnt care.. weather you think im a 15 year old kid... or a 45 year old sales rep. either way i have more maturity then u charleville.. i mean for F***S sake, you went to the effort of typing my name in google just to prove your point for wat reason? and really it hasnt proved anything.. because if i typed charlie cockbreath in to google (thats ur name right??) im sure there would be websites coming up from gay porn websites all the way to politicians etc. anyway i doubt anyone wants to read two people argueing over crap.. i mean after all this is a fishing chatboard.. but look if your that warried about it.. maybe i could post my birth certificate to you? would that make you happy?

"KIND REGARDS" Dave

29-05-2006, 02:28 PM
Oops!! Somebody's not happy!!

RayB
29-05-2006, 05:04 PM
Hard to remain quiet on this one although I have tried! Really!

My only comments are, if Dave Griffin is on the level (don't care either way) then he has every reason to defend himself and I can't blame his reaction at all.
Also, in reference to the google search, why would someone trying to promote their own company, by pretending to be an ordinary forum user, use their real name?

Not saying that he is on the level but will make me think twice before sharing my revelations on this forum.

IMO
Ray

hogesTS
29-05-2006, 05:58 PM
geez it doesnt take much for you blokes to get your knickers in a knot does it? I have no idea if Dave does work for MO tackle or anybody else involved with marketting, but from where i sit it seems like he is just trying to offer some friendly advice about saving some money on tackle. If he does then more fool me, but if not then cut the guy some slack, say thank you very much for the tip, and go check out the catalogue if you so desire.
If you bothered to check his profile it says he lives in Ipswich, so i doubt the (02) area code on the phone number from google is his number? Theres a Jeff Hogan that works at a Bunnings near me, so i better not go talking about cheap hardware on here or i might be accused of running some sort of racket.

29-05-2006, 07:06 PM
Aha! At last some real evidence that Dave Griffin is who he says he is. That is, my suspicions may be wrong!

If that is the case the I apologise profusely to Dave Griffin.

The problem is that over-the-top endorsements are occasionally seen on this site and are obviously blatant advertising and as per my previous posts on this topic, so much was suggesting that such was the same on this topic.

I did search for past posts under the name suggested in his earlier posts but no such posts existed hence my quick flick to a Google.

The turning point for me is the latest message from Dave which obviously uses his original sign-in and which shows that he is a bronze member with, indeed, the previous posts that he mentions.

So my apologies for ever doubting you, Mr Griffin.

Dave's invective responses were interpreted as those that a market researcher might use to deflect attention because it would be contrary to the the ethics of a member of the Market Research Institute to engage in such activities without the full knowledge of the audience. ie he would be in trouble for utilising such a deceitful approach.

I also apologize tothe second poster who I accused of being a stooge.

I still cannot get over a mail-order store without a website though. ;D ;D ;D

onerabbit
29-05-2006, 10:34 PM
Ok guys,

This has been a very interesting read on "who is the real Dave Griffen".

I have openly endorsed Mo Tackle quite a few times without this sort of response, although I've not started a new subject to do it.

For the record, I'm 43 & have nothing at all to gain in any way by saying that I agree with Dave Griffen as far as great prices & service from Mo Tackle, I've been ringing them for all of my orders for 3-4yrs now.
As a rule, the staff really do know their gear, although I usually ask for one guy that I have gotten to know over the phone, I called into the shop on the way south after last new years. The first guy at the counter did know his stuff as well, even though I knew what I was there for.
Apparently there will be a website soon !!
Their phone # is (02) 66524611, from what I remember, if you ring, they will send you a catalogue for free.
Just my opinion,

krause69
30-05-2006, 09:43 AM
lol hay guys, i finally read this post. its actually quite a laugh.. but i will verify that dave is 15 as i go to school with him at igs lol... some funny stuff though

cheers, Krause

30-05-2006, 10:12 AM
but i will verify that dave is 15 as i go to school with him

Where were you when we needed you two days ago??? #;D ;D ;D

Dave has a career ahead of him in advertising copy writing. #;D ;D

Roo
30-05-2006, 03:43 PM
;D ;D ;Dthis is hilarious ;D ;D ;D

who'd have thought a 15yr old schoolboy??(igs? ipswich girls school?)could be able to string a sentence together, NOT faint into the shadows when the big boys come out firing and then stay on the offensive to the bitter end. Good on'ya dave griffen for giving all you've got. you'll go places.

One of the funniest wild goose chases i've read yet ;D ;D ;)

Roo.

adam_ngakiri
30-05-2006, 04:08 PM
Hey Dave young fella, instead of spending all that hard earned pocket money on new tackle, invest 50 cents in a bar of soap and wash that filthy mouth of yours out. I dont know where you learnt to talk like that but it is not becoming of a youngster such as yourself trying to make it in this world...

krause69
30-05-2006, 04:26 PM
this is hilarious

who'd have thought a 15yr old schoolboy??(igs? ipswich girls school?)could be able to string a sentence together, NOT faint into the shadows when the big boys come out firing and then stay on the offensive to the bitter end. Good on'ya dave griffen for giving all you've got. you'll go places.

One of the funniest wild goose chases i've read yet

Roo.

your bloody right there Roo

cheers krause

30-05-2006, 05:32 PM
onya roo, your a crack up, ya summed it up beutifully!!!

gone_phishin
30-05-2006, 06:45 PM
I don't know about hilarious Roo, but I know its getting pathetic now ;)

Who really cares Charleville :-?

If it is an ad or isn't, in the big scheme of things, does it really matter???

If you are just a 15 year old kid from Ipswich Grammar School Dave, good on ya for pointing out Mo Tackle to the rest of us. If not, good on ya for a advert that has cost nobody nothing.

Chill pill time again guys. (Damn, I wish I could find that old recipe for chillpills of Granma's. No, hang on, I think that was chillblains :-[ :-[)

Kind regards
Geoff

PS By the way, check out some of my 13 year old sons posts (Going_phishing), he signs with "Regards" or "Cheers" and is very articulate.

Brent_P
30-05-2006, 08:11 PM
Dave Griffin,
I'm sorry I wrote that your original post read like advertising to me - not that I cared if it was. I first thought it was an ad when I saw that you had listed ten different lures that MO Tackle sell. Maybe you're just a bit tackle-obsessive. Not that there's anything wrong with that - I know I am.
Like I said before, MO Tackle is a good store with good prices, and I've bought a lot of gear off them without any major problems. I did have to return a reel that was faulty once and they quickly replaced it. They have always been good people to deal with. I hope they do get a website soon, like they hinted they would in their latest catalogue.

krause69
30-05-2006, 08:17 PM
good one ya fellas well sumed up i carnt say anything else you said it all for me.

cheers krause

banshee
30-05-2006, 08:18 PM
I wouldn't be holding my breath waiting for the website,I imagine they would turn a profit from the catalog where as a website would probably cause a downturn in sales as well incuring an extra cost.

onerabbit
30-05-2006, 09:23 PM
If you spend $ 100 on a mail order they will send you the catalogue for 6mnths, for free.

onerabbit
30-05-2006, 09:26 PM
Or just ring up & they will send you one.

Gbanger
30-05-2006, 09:50 PM
dont worry dave, the next few years of your life you will be trying to get away with being over 18... seems like you are winning the battle hands down

davidgrifin44
31-05-2006, 09:18 AM
I think its about time to change the subject?? i apologise for my swearing adam_ngakiri.. and Roo.. according to your profile you are 34? i thought a 34 year old would have enough maturity NOT to give people shit about there school.. i mean its just a school.. everyone has to go to one right? just incase you didnt know its (ipswich grammer school (igs)) the girls school is called (ipswich girls grammar school (iggs)) anyway weather u believe im 15 or not.. i do not care. so just get over it... talk about fishing.. thats why everyones here.

onerabbit
31-05-2006, 07:45 PM
Well said Dave,

case closed.

davo
01-06-2006, 03:30 PM
After an interesting experience with Mo's tackle I don't deal with them. I ordered some lures and a tackle box in the November for an upcoming trip. They told me the tackle box was unavailable and as it turned out the stuff wouldn't be delivered in time so I asked if the order could be cancelled. They said OK and that was that until the next March when a parcel arrived from Mo's :o :o

I contacted them and had to send it back and had the run around getting the money back as they debted my credit card :o :o. It was only 4 months late and I had even cancelled the order. They wonder why we buy from overseas.

billybob3
01-06-2006, 04:13 PM
Hey guys

Yeah MO can be good, BUT are they going to be open when you need pillies for teh mackeral , or run out of hooks the day before a big trip out on the reef.

ITs always nice to find better prices BUT think about the local tackle store who is there when you need those other items. Everyone is always talking about better service and local advice but what f teh lovcal gusy are all out of business.?

They also need the support of local fishos to survive, if we dont support them then they wont be around when we need them.

Sure there is a place for both.

Thats my 2 bobs worth.

Now before anyone gets there nose out of joint, or their jocks in a twist. I have used MO a few times for stuff I havent been able to get locally.

Pete ;D

mylestom
01-06-2006, 04:36 PM
Settle down boys, he only offered his opinion.
I and family have dealt with them for over 10years always find them helpful. The range is the largest if only bunnings was as good with service.
Yes every business makes a mistake sometimes. They employ over 20 people (Ones that fish).
They are also great sponsors of some of the childrens competition over many years.
No I do not work for them but am retired and fish all the time. Would be in the shop about once a fortnight and they are great.

Say what you like but you can't change the facts. They have the biggest range in Australia. If you are a true fishing nut you would drop your jaw at the range on the shelf.

Competition is great but MO Tackle is not a multi-national store but a family business with a lot of local employees.

Trev

-Henno-
04-06-2006, 08:48 PM
Hey Dave,

I reckon you are ok. You stood by your guns and gave it back to em. Go hard mate! It was pretty obvious to me when the expletives started coming out that you didn't work for MO's. If you worked for me and spoke like that on a public forum you woudn't be working for me for long.

The only thing I think you did wrong was use your real name for your nickname in here. I never ever ever use my real name.

Kind regards
Adolph Hitler

04-06-2006, 10:19 PM
The only thing I think you did wrong was use your real name for your nickname in here. #I never ever ever use my real name.

This is good advice. # One of the real crimes of the 21st century is identity theft wherein someone anywhere in the world can build up enough knowledge of your particulars to be able to secure credit cards in your name and run up some pretty nasty debts which may impact on your on credit rating, or at least slow down any transaction that you want to do involving credit - eg buying your first car, etc.

On a site like Ausfish.com, many of us divulge little things about ourselves a little at a time over the months, especially when people ask questions like where are you, how did your name come about etc. #The serious crook can compile a good dossier of our details pretty easily over time.

For instance, from this site, you will all know that I am 33 years old, drive a Kenworth, live at Hamilton, have four kids, was born in Pittsworth and that my wife is the best that I could get with the car I had.

Ah well, at least the last bit is true. # ;D ;D ;D

davis
10-06-2006, 11:16 PM
I was talking to a guy at work yesterday and he told me about MO tackle. He was so happy with the prices and the service he sounded just like Dave in his first post, he really raved on about it. I wonder if he is secretly advertising MO tackle as well. ;) ;).
Wait till I see him next week, cheeky bastard.

Kind Regards

Lobster48
13-06-2006, 07:55 PM
I DO NOT WORK FOR MO TACKLE, OR SPRINGWOOD OR ANY OTHER FISHING RELATED ORGASNISATION

Now that we have that out of the way.

I have used MO tackle on and of for about 8 years now and have not have any trouble with them. Instead of winging about a higher price...I don't buy it. If the price is cheap and I know the equipment...I buy it. Call me crazy, call me wild but seems basic enough to me.

Oh by the way...if you do purchase from them...you get the next book for free.

I am all for local tackle stores but sometimes it helps to look after yourself as well, especially when forking out big bucks for fishing gear.

Cheers All

Lobster