View Full Version : What are the finest Barra rods - Baitcaster

JohnThomas1
30-05-2006, 06:15 PM
I've been off the scene for ages. I am interested in hearing about the new wave of great rods and some opinions on old ones. Rods that will redline 6 and 8 kilo line. Talk about braid to if you like.

I have an Ultragraph 300 and a custom Loomis made by John Simmons, who used to build a few rods for Vic McCristal. Cork grips, Loomis GL blank that redlines 8, a great rod. The Ultra is good too.

I rememebr the Ian Miller Salty Barra's and co being highly regarded. McGinns were rare but a bit cult.

Now i see great looking rods from Live Fibre, Strudwick, Loomis, Shimano off the rack. Daiwa too i hear.

Any comments guys?

Jonli
30-05-2006, 06:49 PM
:)

Mine are G Loomis IMX and G Loomis GLX ( Travel rod ) , very happy with these rods and haven't got the urge to buy other rod , yet . ;D

Re-aligning the back bone of these blanks make them an even better rods than the factory rods . :o

JonLi . 8-)

land-lubber
30-05-2006, 10:45 PM
have a look at the nitro inovater range of rods, very highly regarded by those who have tham and a few of the charter guys are using them. well worth a look, thier site can be acessed by doing a google on nitro graphite rods

barradise
31-05-2006, 01:24 AM
Did you say 'finest' or most expensive???

SundownMarine
31-05-2006, 08:12 AM
John,

We use just about every type of rod on the market between us here at Sundown.
The very best in Australia at the moment are the Egrell series of rods that Eric Grell (ex strudwick and loomis builder) builds.Most custom rod builders are very good at putting the bits on the rods like grips and such but Eric designs the blanks on his rods and has come up with a product second to none.
These rods used to be part of the Xstream stable but the brand is now owned and operated by Eric.

Nothing comes close to the B8-5 (E-grell) for serious impoundment barra work,the ability to swing 10kg of drag over one of these things and then be able to cast small lures is something no other rod on the market can do like the B8-5 can.

Jason.

Sundown Marine.

JohnThomas1
31-05-2006, 05:33 PM
Did you say 'finest' or most expensive???

Just wondering what were the best nowadays and even some comments from yesteryear would be welcome. McGinns, Miller etc. The new Texalium?

Thanks for the interest.

bigblue
01-06-2006, 01:31 AM
Ian Millers are perfection!

hardb8
01-06-2006, 11:33 PM
Hi John,
I'm gonna throw a new option at ya and recommend you look at the Megabass Destroyers,All rods come with titanium framed silicone carbide guides as standard factory options,They use materials like Kevlar,Titanium and carbon fiber in their blanks and have some inovative concepts incorperated into their rods like no other I've seen.Their butt sections for example take on the properties of musical instruments.For example a gituar or chelo with no box section at the bottom does not amplify sound/vibration.Megabass have incorperated this into rod technology by creating a hollow tubular (Sound /vibration amplifyer)section through the butt.I can testify to this working very well.Testing the theory by holding the blank which is very responsive already just above the foregrip with a lure in tow,I then moved my hand onto the grip,The difference in (Information amplification is amazing)This is one of the most important things a rod can do for you.They are supurbly crafted with detail from tip to butt,A truly awsome rod to look at,Let alone fish.I've got a couple and these things and they make my IMX Loomis' look and feel like old rangoons.They cater to Barra fisherman as well with rods to 25lb.My latest (Barra rod) has the same lure and line weight specs as my IMX Loomis CR 723 with 3 inches in extra lenght the only difference.The Loomis is now up for sale and although a great rod it just don't compare.I've had a cast of the previously mentioned E.Grells and they are a very nice/suitable rod worth considering,I'd also look at the Millerrods,I've got no experience with the new Barra series but they're getting high praise from some of our best Barra fishos,Not to mention they're made by arguably Australias finest rod crafter.

I just had to get me a Destroyer! 8-) More info at megabassusa.com

Just another option in a massive catagory.Cheers hardb8 ;)

Jonli
02-06-2006, 03:04 AM
;)

Had a session with Megabass F5 510X which is rated 10-25 lbs , can't say I wud invest US$. 500.- for such a rod though . http://www.ozatoya.co.jp/shop/collection_sale.html , at the same time I played
with Megabass F4 60X which is rated 8-20 lbs which cost around the same price , not impressed at all .

I can get 2 pcs. of MBR IMX rods for one of this Megabass rod , the choise is obvious for me .

JonLi .

Richard
02-06-2006, 02:25 PM
I couldn't be happier with the performance of my Angler ultragraph 3000 over the last 10 years.

There may be newer blanks out there and much more expensive but it's come through for me time after time and is still my preferred rod out of all my other barra outfits. Not sure if they still make them though. :-?

I guess it just comes down to how much you want to spend really but i reckon these rods are a good comprimise..

Richard

Jonli
02-06-2006, 03:10 PM
;)

Richard ,

Rod is an extension of one's limbs , it's a matter of getting used to with the tools and you are good for the life of the outfits . ::) I happen to like G Loomis IMX blank , especially one that has the backbone aligned properly and I am not in the market for any other rod , in the near future . :P

I do try many other newer rods , some I like and some I don't like but the price of technology sure have come down in recent time ; http://www.tackletour.com/reviewfenwickhmg.html and
like everything else , most rods are Made In China , to reduce the cost . :o

JonLi . 8-)

JohnThomas1
02-06-2006, 06:21 PM
Wow guys, thanks for so many interesting comments.

Richard - As i said originally i have an Ultragraph 3000 too. I have caught Barra, King, Macks and heaps more on it and must say it is a superb rod, sort of a compromise between the finest graphites and durability. I am sure you can still get em, and they came with cork grip options last time i looked.

hardb8
03-06-2006, 11:40 AM
Hi John,
The rods from Megabass are available for a lot cheaper than previously mentioned if ya shop around.Ya can pick em up for about $470 AU brand new with tags and cloth bag.This is a bit cheaper than new prices for Loomis IMX/GLX,Millerods top shelf stuff and the E.Grells.With top shelf fittings new concepts and practical ideas. (Not gimmicks just to sell them) I think these rods are great value for money.I believe there are many rods to suit your needs from a variety of manufactures in a number of price ranges.I'm not trying to sell you a rod just offering my opinion on rods I own,Use,And am therefore qualified to comment on.To me Megabass seem to be pushing the envelope with design engineering and material placement.Horses for courses though,Peoples genitic make up and fishing styles differ,And what might be the perfect rod for you may be to (Long,Short,Heavy,Light) for me,And it's great to have so many options available to us,As it would be boring if we all had the same tastes and requirements.Don't rush into anything or be pushed into a sale as this is quite an investment.You'll know the rod for you when it's in your hands.
Have fun shoppin mate. ;) hardb8

wayne_cook
03-06-2006, 06:06 PM
they make my IMX Loomis' look and feel like old rangoons.They cater to Barra fisherman as well with rods to 25lb.My latest (Barra rod) has the same lure and line weight specs as my IMX Loomis CR 723 with 3 inches in extra lenght the only difference.The Loomis is now up for sale and although a great rod it just don't compare.

How much
Bear

hardb8
03-06-2006, 06:41 PM
Hi bear,
IMX CR 723

Lenght :- 6'0"
Line weight :- 10 - 17lb
Lure weight :- 1/4 - 3/4oz
Fast action

Cork grips,G.Loomis reelseat with Mag touch,Hook keeper and Fuji alconite low profile guides.Also comes with green IMX rod bag.The rod is in perfect condition with no marks or scratches and cork has been cleaned to new condition.This is a very capeable rod,I'm just upgrading.New price is about $540.For you Bear $400.For $450 I'll give ya a spankin new Loomis shirt,Hat and a couple of stickers as well.If anyones intrested give me a yell.

Jonli
07-06-2006, 04:16 PM
;D

There Can Only Be One : http://www.tackletour.com/reviewsupercastfin06.html ;)

If one care to digest this report , GLX MBR blank is still the reference for these rods and in the earlier evaluation , check this and draw your own conclusion ; http://www.tackletour.com/reviewsupercastfin06.html :-/

JonLi . 8-)

edaw
10-06-2006, 03:35 PM
MILLER CAMOFISH RODS AND DAIWA MILLIONAIRE REELS PURE BLISS

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
13-06-2006, 11:20 AM
A few quick points-

Most of the above mentioned rods come at a price, and each individual rod is usually suited to a certain style of fishing or is purchased to do a specific job. Often, not one rod will do everything you wish for. The above mentioned rods, yes, are 'fine' rods, but when we start talking barra, and nowadays its dam barra that cop the most talk, and anglers will find themselves in situations where a 50, 60, 70 lb fish or even a hard fighting smaller one will be stickin' to them. Many reels nowadays see 50lb braid attached and reels with drag systems capable of exerting a bit of serios pressure. Add to that, timber, unforgiving, unpredictable fish movements and anglers working their gear up towards the high end of its ability and you may just change your mind on what is a 'fine barra rod' and what is not a 'fine barra rod'. Broken rods are serious issues, especially at Xhundred dollars a piece. I'm not de-noting top quality rods, but just making aware that all rods are not fool proof, and considering a lot of tussles with large barra can often end up in vertical style fights beneath a boat, rod angles can become severe and without warning and angler can break a rod,,,,,,,along with many other ways it can happen.
Sponsorship deals can (not always) paint an ugly picture with what gear people promote and what gets printed in magazines etc. Just because it gets printed in a magazine, believe me it is quite often biased and printed for one reason, and that is for the exchange of money. Magazines are companies, their to make money as the main reason, and believe me, the truth is often forgotten. Many sponsored anglers do not pay the same marked shop price as the average Aussie does and most likely does not feel the same pain as a hard earned owner does; hence why I say you may change your mind on what a 'fine' rod is.
But top quality gear I have always owned, but the topic of rods in the yr 2006 is a touchy one.
The ultragraph 3000 mentioned above is no longer the same blank as from about 12 months ago. A cheap import of disheartening quality now replaces the nice rod of the past. Same goes for many other forms of tackle, rods included that all now compete for the same market that is controlled by cheap overseas labour and prices so low that quality seems difficult to mention when we talk $80 rods.
My barra rods for Awoonga are all less than $120 and seem to be doing the job just fine, just as fine as a $500 one. An expensive rod won't catch you anymore fish, and it seems that by trial and error and some serious homework in the form of question asking can find you a descent rod that suits your needs for whatever price you are willing to pay, even $80. The expensive rods are often more fragile and deserve more care when handling and when using them whilst fishing, and often allow less room for error when angling. All rods are not tools for poking lures off snags, they are usually not designed to bend past 90 degrees, this is a major point to follow to prevent rods breaking and to take into consideration when rod angles change during a fight as a fish moves from the surface away from the boat to a more vertical position below the boat. Rods are tools, and when a tough job at hand is needed to be done and the term 'heavy handidness' is mentioned it becomes difficult to select from a shelf a rod to do the job at hand that you may be specifically requiring. If custom is the answer, well and good, but you never know, that $100 rod on the rack may just be what you define as a 'fine' rod for the job at hand. Remember, a handline rolled onto a piece of cork can catch you the same fish!
Johnny M

way_out_bush
13-06-2006, 06:39 PM
Hi all, Great post. I use the steve starling barra rod. It has survived 2 trips to the territory and has been a great all round rod.

Lobster48
13-06-2006, 07:44 PM
JohnLi,

Did you say that G-Loomis are OK after you realign the backbone...

I always check the Backbone of every rod I buy and can't day I would buy a $400+ rod that has not been built on the backbone!

What does this say about Loomis???

JohnThomas1
13-06-2006, 07:59 PM
A few quick points-

Most of the above mentioned rods come at a price, and each individual rod is usually suited to a certain style of fishing or is purchased to do a specific job. Often, not one rod will do everything you wish for. The above mentioned rods, yes, are 'fine' rods, but when we start talking barra, and nowadays its dam barra that cop the most talk, and anglers will find themselves in situations where a 50, 60, 70 lb fish or even a hard fighting smaller one will be stickin' to them. Many reels nowadays see 50lb braid attached and reels with drag systems capable of exerting a bit of serios pressure. Add to that, timber, unforgiving, unpredictable fish movements and anglers working their gear up towards the high end of its ability and you may just change your mind on what is a 'fine barra rod' and what is not a 'fine barra rod'. Broken rods are serious issues, especially at Xhundred dollars a piece. I'm not de-noting top quality rods, but just making aware that all rods are not fool proof, and considering a lot of tussles with large barra can often end up in vertical style fights beneath a boat, rod angles can become severe and without warning and angler can break a rod,,,,,,,along with many other ways it can happen.
Sponsorship deals can (not always) paint an ugly picture with what gear people promote and what gets printed in magazines etc. Just because it gets printed in a magazine, believe me it is quite often biased and printed for one reason, and that is for the exchange of money. Magazines are companies, their to make money as the main reason, and believe me, the truth is often forgotten. Many sponsored anglers do not pay the same marked shop price as the average Aussie does and most likely does not feel the same pain as a hard earned owner does; hence why I say you may change your mind on what a 'fine' rod is.
But top quality gear I have always owned, but the topic of rods in the yr 2006 is a touchy one.
The ultragraph 3000 mentioned above is no longer the same blank as from about 12 months ago. A cheap import of disheartening quality now replaces the nice rod of the past. Same goes for many other forms of tackle, rods included that all now compete for the same market that is controlled by cheap overseas labour and prices so low that quality seems difficult to mention when we talk $80 rods.
My barra rods for Awoonga are all less than $120 and seem to be doing the job just fine, just as fine as a $500 one. An expensive rod won't catch you anymore fish, and it seems that by trial and error and some serious homework in the form of question asking can find you a descent rod that suits your needs for whatever price you are willing to pay, even $80. The expensive rods are often more fragile and deserve more care when handling and when using them whilst fishing, and often allow less room for error when angling. All rods are not tools for poking lures off snags, they are usually not designed to bend past 90 degrees, this is a major point to follow to prevent rods breaking and to take into consideration when rod angles change during a fight as a fish moves from the surface away from the boat to a more vertical position below the boat. Rods are tools, and when a tough job at hand is needed to be done and the term 'heavy handidness' is mentioned it becomes difficult to select from a shelf a rod to do the job at hand that you may be specifically requiring. If custom is the answer, well and good, but you never know, that $100 rod on the rack may just be what you define as a 'fine' rod for the job at hand. Remember, a handline rolled onto a piece of cork can catch you the same fish!
Johnny M

What a fantastic read this was. Much obliged. What are these $120 rods you speak of mate if i can be so bold to ask? Shame to hear about the Ultragraph, mine is 6 or more years old and truly a great rod. I wrapped it around a wooden stump casting many years ago and to my extreme amazement found it still in one piece. My previous Daiwa IM6 (First model) had died when a friend jumped in the back of my ute and landed on it. Didn't take much at all actually.

banshee
13-06-2006, 08:28 PM
Johnny M,couldn't agree more,well writen.

-Henno-
13-06-2006, 08:28 PM
Hey I must admit I am as curious as JohnThomas1 to find out what you use in the vicinity of $80 to $120 Johnny. Please do tell, or PM me.

Jonli
13-06-2006, 08:51 PM
:D Lobster ,

Most rod producers nowaday wrap their rods in China or other third countries , including my own ( A famous Japanese brand rods are built in Batam Island ) and sadly to say , the workers aren't exactly what one can call a custom rod builder in attitude , they are pressed to produce a certain number of rods per day and can't take too much time in aligning the backbone , so doing it
" approximately " is the accepted way here . :o What can you expect from such workers who are paid less than A$. 200.- per
month ? >:(

Now , modern blanks are made from so many wrap configurations of varying modulus graphite films , finding the backbone from such blank isn't as straight forward as finding one in the old graphite blank , it takes a few trials to find the perfect alignment of the back bone of the blank which only good rod builders will go thru such length in order to produce a good casting rod . ::)

I always try to find a rod with it's backbone correctly aligned in the shop but when buying an expensive rod , the shopowner wud
object if you " load " the rod by holding the tip in one hand and press the mid section of the blank with other in order to judge if
that particular rod is built correctly . Now I am not sure if this objection of the shop owners are common in your area but you can
always try it the next time you visit a shop to gauge the reaction . :-/

Custom rod builders' work aren't confined to making good to look at n colourfull butt wrapping and guide wrappings , more than just placing the guides in the correct distance but making sure the back bone of the blank is aligned correctly if not perfectly so as to produce a rod that is very pleasant to use . ;) On the otherhand , a custom builder will demand A$. 200.- to build such rod so
it's not exactly an apple to apple comparison , eh ? :-[

JonLi . 8-)

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
13-06-2006, 10:19 PM
Regardless of the brand name of the rods I will mention, the art of angling comes back down to understanding the species we target, the capabilities of the lines we use, drag systems, reel gearing etc as well as the physics type relations when it comes to rods, fulcrums, leverage etc and also knowing when to pull, how to pull, and how to really control a hooked fish on a line. There is a lot more involved than having a nice outfit, and at the end of the day and experienced angler will bring greater results with lesser gear in hand, than an inexperienced angler with top shelf stuff. Ever watched some anglers make things look easy???
Penn Pinpoint Tournament Series and Berkley Drop shot in 3 different models have accounted for many barra of all sizes on charter and many on personal trips.
In my eyes at present they are a 'fine' rod for the job, only mentioned because they are still in one piece and often get used in beginners hands! That is just what suits my style of angling in Awoonga, not necessarily the best rods in the world, but they answer the questions that get asked in my vessel of the barra in Awoonga. If it is doing the job, it is a 'fine rod' in my books.
Johnny

hardb8
14-06-2006, 08:04 PM
A DIFF PERSPECTIVE,
Your words are wise,As a while ago I was astounded by the skill level that can be acheived with a baitcaster,This man inspired me to practice and practice a little more.He was very humble,And had acheived a level I didn't think was possible.He used a Penn Pinpoint as his weapon of choice.Not a very expensive rod compared to what's out there but a very capable delivery system and fighting tool none the less.

As mentioned it dosent matter what you got,It's how you use it.As also mentioned before a handline is all that's needed,And is line fishing in it's rawest form,An ordinary outfit being opperated by seasoned angler will out fish an ordinary guy with the most hightech gear every time.On the other hand lets put the most high performance tackle in the hands of the man mentioned above,A highly skilled angler,With the best tackle available.Do you think his distance,accuracy and fishing pleasure will improve on what it was with mid range tackle?You betcha.It is frightening to think what some people would be able to acheive if not bound by sponsership or buget.I think the two things it comes down to when individuals are selecting a rod are buget and personal taste.

As for Loomis rods not being on the bone I was told by an old rep and have also read that they are infact desighned this way,Being built offset a certain ammount of degrees (14 I think) so the rod loads on the backbone while casting.This makes sence as when casting you don't hold the rod upright in your hand (Reel facing directly upwards) but off set.You spend alot more time casting than you do actually catching fish,And if you can't get your lure in the strike zone in the first place you don't get hit,Making accuracy and distance parramount in that order.The first thing that came to mind was,Are they made for left or right handers?This made me wonder if this was true or are they just not taking the time to put em on the bone?

John Thomas1,
If the Pinnpoint suits your buget,Buy it,I was shown these rods have the tip to deliver the goods,And the low down grunt to deal with the abuse of Barra,All at a more than reasonable price.

What a great thread this is.Don't just read it,Write down your thoughts.

Regards hardb8 ;)

Jeremy87
15-06-2006, 09:34 PM
It's a tough call. To spend 400 plus bucks on a rod that could be snapped by the next fish when you could quite comfortably catch exactly the same fish on a rod that costs 100-200 bucks. In my opinion there is a big enough market for for bream, barra and bass rods that you really shouldn't have trouble finding something to suit your needs for much more than $200. More specilised forms of luring may require a greater investment but for an iconic species like barra you should be able to buy an off the shelf rod. IMO for baitcasting outfits on a budget get yourself a half decent rod then use the money saved to get a better reel. I think alot of loomis purists would be surprised of the of rods avaiable and alot of the componetry is just as good aswell. And who's to say that a chinese bloke getting $200 a month can't make a half decent rod blank. He probably makes a fair few each day and he's probably getting quite good at it by now. I don't have a problem with top shelf gear. i am a firm believer that having confidence in your gear and your ability is integral to catching fish and having good gear is part of that. But don't be fooled into thinking that your catch more fish on an Egrell or loomis than a shimano raider.

SundownMarine
16-06-2006, 10:30 AM
Jeremy87,

I must disagree with your comment on the cheaper rods catching the same fish as the more expensive rods.
If you are trolling lures around the basin in Awoonga then your comment is not too far from the mark.However once you consider casting lures into timber then the equation changes completely.We sell as many Raiders as any store in QLD for barra because that rod fits into the guys heading up once a years budget and for that purpose they are a great fishing rod.
We have proven the difference in the Egrell range (B8-5 in particular)when casting lures into the timber in Faust,Awoonga and Monduran.
The ability to stop a meter fish in it's tracks and then turn it on it's self so that it jumps and then with the same rod belt a lure into the wind with little effort is something that no other rod (Loomis included) can do.

We stand by the comment we have previously said,nothing on the market can do what an Egrell B8-5 can when casting lures at impoundment barra in the sticks.This is because Eric designs the blanks (not just where to put the guides on a blank he knows nothing about like other "rod designers") and he makes them for the purpose of chasing barra in Australia ,this is why they are so good and worth the money spent if you are serious about stopping the big girls with a rod you can cast with.

Sundown Marine.

stuart
16-06-2006, 12:18 PM
Jeremy,

Basing the rods performance solely on its price is the wrong way to look at it. This is the biggest miss conception out their at the moment it’s simply scary. I have lost count the amount of times I have heard people say that a $100 rod will catch as many or as big a fish as a $400 rod, what does this statement mean, how do you clarify this? I have been a professional rod builder for what seems for ever and a day and I’m still lost as to how people still judge the quality and performance of a rod based on price. I could name many rods on the market that are way over priced, does this mean they are better quality? No way mate. I have also seen many cheap rods that are quite good considering where they were made. You simply can’t judge a rods quality and performance until it’s in your hand.

Stuart

JohnThomas1
16-06-2006, 07:50 PM
hardb8 - Yes it really has turned into a great topic. I must admit i have been quite enthralled whilst reading opinions from virtually both ends of the rod spectrum. I have read about some top of the range and then some rods in here that i never even knew existed. I have read about effective mid range rods and i have even read about some effective lower range rods. There is something for everyone, from the lower end user to the creme de la creme. Now we have some supreme rod builders/sellers coming in with even more expansion on the topic, and it's all friendly :)

banshee
16-06-2006, 08:43 PM
I'm with Jeremy,I think the value is with your Dropshots, Pinpoints, Raiders etc,I'd be more inclined to sink most of my budget into a reel as well.Your top shelf/custom rods are going to have an edge for sure but considering most are going to be four times as much I very much doubt they would be four times better.

wheezer
16-06-2006, 10:38 PM
regarding earlier post re loomis not building their rods to the backbone. it really doesn't matter! when casting, you never cast with the rod aligned a particular way all the time, in fact you generally cast with your wrist rolled sideways for more strength! so backbone is irrelevant. also, try this experiment, load the rod up with line through the guides, and it won't matter where the backbone is, the rod will always want to rotate until the guides are below the blank. again, backbone is irrelevant. making sure the the rod is built to the bone is completely overrated......

Jeremy87
16-06-2006, 11:59 PM
I am not disputing that alot of custom rods will perform better. Taking that into consideration i am not answering the question that is the topic of this thread "What are the finest barra rods". I am questioning whether you can justify the price difference with the number of extra fish caught.

Jeremy,

Basing the rods performance solely on its price is the wrong way to look at it. This is the biggest miss conception out their at the moment it’s simply scary. I have lost count the amount of times I have heard people say that a $100 rod will catch as many or as big a fish as a $400 rod, what does this statement mean, how do you clarify this? I have been a professional rod builder for what seems for ever and a day and I’m still lost as to how people still judge the quality and performance of a rod based on price. I could name many rods on the market that are way over priced, does this mean they are better quality? No way mate. I have also seen many cheap rods that are quite good considering where they were made. You simply can’t judge a rods quality and performance until it’s in your hand.

Stuart

What i mean by this statement is while a $400 is probably more pleasurable to use but in the long run the additional refinement is probably no the factor that will catch you the fish. what i am saying is that, are these to rods going to be able to cast, hookset and fight well enough to land the same fish? I would say a significant amount of time yes. Taking into considerating that i'm only a jockeyweight i also find it hard to believe that you can fight a fish properly at a drag setting greater than what i have run over my raider without pulling hooks or being thrown off balance.

Jeremy87,

I must disagree with your comment on the cheaper rods catching the same fish as the more expensive rods.
If you are trolling lures around the basin in Awoonga then your comment is not too far from the mark.However once you consider casting lures into timber then the equation changes completely.We sell as many Raiders as any store in QLD for barra because that rod fits into the guys heading up once a years budget and for that purpose they are a great fishing rod.
We have proven the difference in the Egrell range (B8-5 in particular)when casting lures into the timber in Faust,Awoonga and Monduran.
The ability to stop a meter fish in it's tracks and then turn it on it's self so that it jumps and then with the same rod belt a lure into the wind with little effort is something that no other rod (Loomis included) can do.

We stand by the comment we have previously said,nothing on the market can do what an Egrell B8-5 can when casting lures at impoundment barra in the sticks.This is because Eric designs the blanks (not just where to put the guides on a blank he knows nothing about like other "rod designers") and he makes them for the purpose of chasing barra in Australia ,this is why they are so good and worth the money spent if you are serious about stopping the big girls with a rod you can cast with.

Sundown Marine.

I am not disputing that custom rods will perform better than your run of the mill mid shelf items. But as banshee so eloquently put it, does a four hundred dollar rod perform four times better than a 100 dollar rod? On my last trip to awoonga my fishing partner Mick turned a 93cm barra against its weight in heavy timber in a similar fashion to which was described with my $30 back up rod after he he snapped his texalium on a snag (texaliums are a classic example of rods not matching their price tag). I will admit that this rod did not cast as well as described but how far do you really need to cast. Though my experience in impoundment barra fishing is limited I have caught many bass from heavy timber and I would suggest that products such as a bow mount electric motor, a good reel with a quality anti backlash system coupled with a half decent rod and good braid would be the major contributors in catching fish.

17-06-2006, 01:53 PM
Good read and some interesting points.

Now for my two cents worth.

I would suggest the Team Daiwa Model Number TD-AA661HRB. Its a 6 foot 6 inch one piece heavy action with a regular taper rated to 12-25 lb line.

Good value at 200 dollars and has Fuji alconite guides. The guides are of good size to take heavy leaders and associated knots. Real beefy rod.

Have a look at one next time you come across it and get them to load it up for you. I would say you will walk out with it or be looking for a low profile reel to put on it.

Steven

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
18-06-2006, 11:24 AM
Quoted from an above post.........."I have lost count the amount of times I have heard people say that a $100 rod will catch as many or as big a fish as a $400 rod, what does this statement mean, how do you clarify this?"

I reply as such with my thoughts on clarifying this-
A rod is a tool, as a chisel is a tool. A more expensive chisel may hold its edge longer, or may be easier to use or grip. But most forms of angling, barra fishing especially can be bought back to basics. You can make fishing as scientific as you want it to be, or in the same sentence, bring it back down to its rawest form. A simple chiseling job can be performed with the simplest of chisels, a sharpened, ground file will produce the same result if it is all you have in your posession.
That $100 off the shelf rod that carries the necessary requirements that make it acceptable as a fishing tool for casting, hooking and landing barra will land the same numbers and quality barra as a top shelf well made rod. The top shelf rod matched to your reel will not automatically turn you into a whizz angler, nor will it make every strike stick, nor will it stop a hard running fish from pulling line from your reel. Successful angling goes beyond the tools at hand!
I'll happily barra fish with my choice of $100 rod beside any angler with a top shelf rod for equal results!
But yes, it is nice to drive a flash car on the freeway, much nicer than my old ute, but either way, both cars make it to their final destination.
Johnny M

Jonli
18-06-2006, 12:12 PM
:D

I was hoping a comparison to golf sticks rather than car . ::)

JonLi . 8-)

18-06-2006, 12:27 PM
Johnny M,

With you all the way.

I tend to choose the middle of the road type gear that feels better than the cheaper stuff and usually better quality. I can not justify the high dollar type of gear. The Mark up margin may be the same but the end dollar value tends to be alot more.

Steven

stuart
18-06-2006, 01:04 PM
Certainly some good points made above. Tools are always my pointy of explaining the differences on this topic. How many of us have purchased Chinees made “copied” tools that have snapped or broken with in 2 weeks of purchase? Then you go out and by the good quality tools because you have more faith in them. The cheap tools are more than likely cast and won’t last the test of time, however the good quality tools are normally cold forged and it’s these differences that you will finally pay for. It comes down to what you don’t see in a tool that makes it good or bad, most all anglers don’t see or even know what has gone into that expensive rod blank, design hours and so on. I know of many companies that have had many blanks shipped to China to be copied “not many of their own” may I add. Just because you have purchased a Barra rod for $100 doesn’t mean you are at a less advantage than the nut job standing next to you with a $1000 bait caster.

If the nut job can’t use his tool to its full potential then he is only as good as his own ability lets him be. On the other hand, the guy with the $100 rod that has been catching these fish for years is at a far greater advantage than that of the nut with the $1000 rod. However, give the $1000 rod to the guru and watch out, no one will go near him. Again, it’s what you don’t see in the wall of the blank that counts, yes there are some unscrupulous dealers out their that should be run out of this country for selling rods as one thing but in fact they are some thing completely different. Unfortunately Fisherman have been feed bullshit for so long in this country that when the real deal comes along they compare the great to the cheap. It happens all too often, at the end of the day you sit back and ask your self; is it worth the headaches, is it worth having to justify to every customer that your product is in fact better quality than that made in China. Apparently Australian designed and made doesn’t stand for much these days, the mighty dollar rules above all else. Just my thoughts.

Stuart

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
18-06-2006, 07:19 PM
The guru with the $1000 rod will still not catch anymore fish than he would if using his $100 rod. The point of this whole conversation is that there are suitable cheaper rods on the market that are strong, sensitive enough and have the attributes or characteristics that can and do bring the same results as highly priced rods. Sensitivity may be increased with a top notch rod, weight may be reduced with a top notch rod. At the end of the day, how much sensitivity is required to 'feel' what goes on underwater, and any weight difference between rods of varying price tags is not detrimental to being able to cast, work lures, hook fish and land barra. The guru with the $100 rod is equal to himself as when using a $1000 version, as is it equal to a beginner in the same situation.
'Fine barra rods' exist at both ends of the spectrum, but again it all comes back down to ability and knowledge of the game of angling, plus incorporating personal tastes as to what one wishes to own. The same fish get caught on all types of rods.
Johnny

Redhead
18-06-2006, 07:37 PM
There's some great rods around but at the moment i can't go past the Daiwa Battler "Flanker". 7ft long, weighs 125 grams, Fuji Titanium Sic guides and power to burn. This might be a big call but i firmly believe that they are the best value for money rods.

Warning: do not put a Daiwa Battler Flanker in your hand because you will walk out with it ;) as i did. Best $300 i have spent on tackle by far. Good luck with your shopping mate :)

Redhead