View Full Version : How do you store your rods?
mattdan
28-08-2006, 08:21 AM
Hi gang,
I purchased a few new rod and reel combo's at the Sydney boat show.
Currently they are sitting in the dining room and the wife has expressed her disapproval of their current resting place. :-/
Just wanted to know how people store their rod when not in use. Do you store them with reels on or off? Do you have rod holders set up in the garage etc?
I have a decent garage with heaps of crap, just don't want to shove them in the corner and possibly be damaged.
I was thinking of getting a length of pvc tubing with the twist caps like you see on tradies utes, to store the rods and get one of those storage boxes from Bunnings for the reels.
But some of you may have fang dangled storage setups to protect your gear.
Ideas?
28-08-2006, 09:36 AM
Simple but functional
28-08-2006, 09:37 AM
Just a batten with clips
28-08-2006, 09:39 AM
Make sure you position the clips where they won't meet with the eyes on the rods ........a wider batten allows you more leeway in positioning the clips so that there is less likelihood of them interering with the rod eyes.
28-08-2006, 09:54 AM
Like ya bricks Kev
Got my rods stored in a simular way to Kev's but with loose plastic clips. Also leave my reels on and pull them off sometimes to clean the reel seats.
28-08-2006, 10:21 AM
Like ya bricks Kev
The deckie's choice. There was 2 pallets over when they built the house and she argued with the builder that they must've been costed in so they better not uplift 'em. Me, I just wanted the place cleared out and was sick to death of seeing these bricks sat in the yard when we moved in. Went fishing one day.......came back........and just look what my clever little deckie had done ;D She even ordered the crusher dust herself..........I'm redundant I tell you! ;D
28-08-2006, 11:08 AM
I use a vertical rod rack also. Give them a good clean after use, back the drags off and leave the reels on the rods, but take all the terminal tackle except snap clips off.
Built a timber wall mounted rack myself. Pretty standard and simple design.
ShaneJ
28-08-2006, 02:46 PM
I'm lazy so I just bought a Wilson rod rack like you see in the shops ;)
fish2eat
28-08-2006, 03:21 PM
recently made a rack like the store ones, best thing ever, except it only hold half the collection, so I'm about to make another one.
matt-181
28-08-2006, 04:35 PM
Yehh i just use the ones from the stores there good and function. and store well
hardb8
28-08-2006, 04:58 PM
Hi Matt,
Mine have reels removed,And after being washed and dried are placed in rod bags,Then go into the setup you have mentioned being a lenght of 90mm sewer pipe. (Like the tradies have)
If ya make one,Measure the rod lenght and allow for some type of foam to be cut and siliconed to the bottom glue on cap and to the screw on cap at the other end.In 90mm pipe you'll fit three rods in bags comfortably.These can then be stored verticaly in the corner of ya garage or behind ya bedroom door.I've also made a 100mm one that takes about five rods.They are also excellent to take camping to ensure ya rods arrive safely and in one piece.
Regards hardb8 ;)
Bushbasher
28-08-2006, 07:15 PM
I have a custom 14 rod wooden holder along side my bed that's full and holds most of the spinners and baitcasters on their rods ready to go. Also every reel is in a reel bag or neoprene cover to keep the dust and fluff off. Then there's a 6 rod plastic molded and foam filled rack screwed to the wall in the spare room that holds the cheapy kids combos and old combos kept for ham fisted visitors who don't deserve the good gear. The surf rods are residing laid on the top edge of an old double bed leaned against the wall in the spare room at the moment till the new house is built and we get out of the rental we're in. Not the best place for them but right now there's nowhere else with enough room that's secure enough.
manchild
28-08-2006, 07:47 PM
I just slide them under the patioroof in fashionly order ,this way they out of the way ,and still handy to reach importantly out of the reach of the piglets
George
hussy
28-08-2006, 09:16 PM
matt if you want some rod bags and are close to bribie give us a pm and i will give you some . hubby
aussiebasser
28-08-2006, 09:21 PM
A bit agricultural, but there's about 30 rods there from 1kg baitcaster through 15' Surf rod to 130lb Fenwick Game Rod. Keeps them off the floor and stops anything falling on them or walking in to them
Kevin_B
29-08-2006, 02:21 PM
After washing and drying the rods with mums finest tea towels ;D, i put them in their storage bags and keep them on the carpet behind the 13' long lounge in the family room that never gets used. Out of the sun, out of the way and zero chance of being trodden on. I treat them like my babys.
Jonli
29-08-2006, 02:51 PM
;)
Inside PVC tubes , each rod has it's own cloth rod bag .
Jon . 8-)
29-08-2006, 06:52 PM
back the drags off
Ahh,
at least someone else out there said something that you SHOULD do
Mine are stored horizontal from the roof
Steven
Fishing_Widow
31-08-2006, 09:46 AM
Ian and I came to a compromise......................well sort of...............
He won't store fishing gear in every room of the house if I gave up a room for his fishing gear and computer. ;D The only problem was that we had to organise the rest of the house around where he was going to store his fishing gear. ;D ;D
Works for us. The only problem is that it is in what should be the dining room so everytime I walk past I see it. At least he keeps it tidier than he did up north. Still miss the old house when we were in Brissie - his fishing room I could slide the doors on and not look at it.
He has rod racks (bought - plastic type) and a set of built in shelves to keep all the smaller stuff.
Outside the house.............. never........... I wouldn't allow it. I need to be able to see what he has so I can make sure he hasn't slipped anything new in. ;D ;D
Nomes :)
Fishing_Widow
31-08-2006, 09:49 AM
Sorry. Double posted so I took out what I wrote.
Nomes :)
Great_White
01-09-2006, 12:08 PM
Store ours vertical in a wooden rod rack with the rubber type holders, back off the drags and make sure that no bend in the tip ;)
Peter :)
gunna
01-09-2006, 02:07 PM
In my previous house I had built a "mezzanine " set of shelves suspended from the garage ceiling. I put hooks in the underside and stored the rods there.
Can't do that in this house so I just built some racks on the wall. I'm no tradesmen so don't look for faults ;D. Pretty simple though - just pine and dowel.
ScottB
03-09-2006, 06:47 PM
I made this up for the big stuff. I put it on castors so that I can take the rods straight out of the boat into the rack then clean them down and once dry just wheel them inside. Works really well and really cuts down on the scratches etc.
Grand_Marlin
04-09-2006, 11:48 AM
[smiley=smitten.gif] Tiagras 8-)
04-09-2006, 12:29 PM
I make these up.
They only sit out from the hallway wall by 120mm and hold lots of rods. The middle spaces are farther apart to fit rods with reels on.
Yes fellas, the cook lets me store fishing rods in the hallway. She's a treasure she is :)
Fishing_Widow
04-09-2006, 12:35 PM
Finga,
She probably only lets you store them there so she can keep an eye on them to make sure they don't mulitply. (Just like I do with Ian) ;D ;D
You know how left alone rods and fishing tackle multiply on their own ;D ;D
Nomes
Mine are stored horizontal from the roof
04-09-2006, 03:27 PM
Finga,
She probably only lets you store them there so she can keep an eye on them to make sure they don't mulitply. (Just like I do with Ian) ;D ;D
You know how left alone rods and fishing tackle multiply on their own ;D ;D
Nomes
Aaah, the jigs up.
I'll just have to build another rack for the workshop then ;)
Thanks for the inside info on that one Nomes :)
hillys13
06-09-2006, 03:56 PM
just put them in pvc with foam
marlinqld
06-09-2006, 04:11 PM
Standing up in the corner of the back room.......... then the bedroom, then all other rooms as the wife says...."can you put those bl***y rods away............. ;) ;D :o ::) ;)
snapperm8
06-09-2006, 05:11 PM
i just store em laying or stading on the best thing that looks around after i get bak from fishing and just put the alveys in a box after surf fishing ;)
snapperm8
06-09-2006, 05:15 PM
scott mate i like ur taste in reels ;D ;D
fisha_4_lyf_1989
07-09-2006, 04:53 PM
i got a couple of rod holers bolted vertically on my wall in my room
best idea ive had in awhile i rekon ;)
rick_k
08-09-2006, 12:24 AM
keep them away from the light.
Was talking to rod building mate today re rebinding a much loved oldy; short version is they are much easier to rebind after a healthy dose of uv, as it breaks down the epoxy on the bindings; he was talking about sunlight through a window.