View Full Version : Fizzers
shayned
03-10-2006, 03:17 PM
Any recommendations on a fizzer for 30-60cm trevally. Couldn't find any at the mart with no name. Checked BCF down the road and found one type, a 3.5cm ciccada with one foward plastic spinner. Couldn't get excited by it.
backhoe
03-10-2006, 03:54 PM
Fizzers are great fun to use. Reidy's used to make a good one but don't seem to anymore. These ones look like they might be worth a shot
Kev
http://www.acecomp.com.au/lucindalures/catalogue_main.htm
fishsmith
03-10-2006, 04:04 PM
I use a Koolabung bony bream type fizzer and a Bills bug on barra up this way..I reckon they would work no probs on trevs as well..Definately an addictive fun way to fish...
shayned
03-10-2006, 05:21 PM
Those skinny boys look good but need them for sunday.
03-10-2006, 06:09 PM
Heddon Teeny Torpedo. There's also one that's slightly bigger as well. (Just a torpedo I think)
Get yourself down to a proper tackleshop and they'll sort you out. Captain Bligh's has heaps of lures, and it's on your way to Manly, so if you end up heading down there tomorrow, stop in on the way.
Otherwise you've got Tackleworld at Sandgate
hussy
03-10-2006, 08:26 PM
shayned where do you live? give me a pm if your still chasing fizzers as i have about 50 here. hubby
Rod_Bender
03-10-2006, 09:59 PM
Bills Bugs are the way to go but aren't the cheapest lure on the market these days. The hook up rate is minimum though. tease them up on the fizzer and then try a different lure like the former DK lures now Bandits (scud former Eyecon) and hook one up. Work a treat the other day at my local ck mouth while flogging a snag
hussy
04-10-2006, 06:41 PM
here is my fizzer collection. hubby
backhoe
04-10-2006, 06:52 PM
Great collection!! :o
Have you got any Reidy's ones in that collection Hubby?
hussy
04-10-2006, 07:12 PM
yeah there are a few reidys.hubby
snipe
04-10-2006, 08:17 PM
Fizzers are great fish attractors but I seem to have a poor hook-up rate on them . I would like to see lure makers make the blades smaller, as I've got a bit of a theory the bigger blades effect the hookup rate ie get in the way of the hooks when something comes up from below - just a theory - they are all a bit different and some have good hook exposure, but if you visualise a fish coming from below and trying to eat the back half of the lure the first thing that can get in the way as the fish pulls backwards are the props and might effect hooking ability. I reckon fizzers are best worked subtly/slowly anyway so small props would be adequate & perhaps big propped lures can be a hinder - although they sound great and make certain fish go ape.
Interested to what you guys think, esp Hubby who is a fizzer freak, and any tips on increasing hookup rates with these great lures.
backhoe
04-10-2006, 08:49 PM
Went to PNG s few years ago black bass fishing and they climbed all over the top of Reidys fizzers when things were right. Was pretty intense stuff having a 10-30lb black bass climbing over a fizzer and then having another one trying to pull it out of its gob.
shayned
05-10-2006, 09:18 AM
Cheers Hubby,
Aparently sundown has a reasonable stock and I'm going past them today but what agreat collection. I've never used them before so it should be interesting having a muck around with them. Whats your favourite retreive style when using them. Where we will be using them has to be shallow water retreive as the bottom there takes lures and doesn't give many of them back.
BrandonH
05-10-2006, 11:31 AM
Looking forward to trying some of these Fizzers mate ;) I have never had anything bigger than a small chopper jump on a popper of any sort so should be interesting :) might have to take 2 rods each? one setup with a fizzer and the other with a shallow diver or standard style of popper??
High tide at Mooloolaba is at 8:34am and a high of 1.83mtrs
don't know the difference to where we will be going but shouldn't be too different... Brisbane is running high at 10:09am
Brandon...
shayned
05-10-2006, 12:29 PM
You beauty, picked up an ALM Chopper from Sundown to try out, it's got 2 blades so it should work twice as well!!! ;D
BrandonH
05-10-2006, 02:02 PM
LOL good on ya Shayne, had to go and get something better than what i got ::)
well maybe i need to go out and get 2 of them now :P Lol.. or make one of my cheap surecatch fizzers a twin blade ;D ;D ;D ;D
looking forward to this trip you have me all worked up now!!!!!!!!!!
Tight Lines
Brandon...
shayned
05-10-2006, 05:49 PM
Going to be damn unhappy if this doesn't work, still there's always plan B for the afternoon. ::)