View Full Version : 'Gold Bomber' - king of kings?

fisho
04-10-2006, 07:37 PM

Almost everyone I speak to about catching barra on lure says, "Gold Bomber's are the best!" I know that Gold Bombers catch barra regularly, but are they the best? I would appreciate member's opinions on this. Do you have a barra lure that can compare to the awesome reputation of the GB?

Also, I have seen Gold Bombers for $13.99 - anywhere have them cheaper?

fisho ;)

Reef_fisher
04-10-2006, 08:11 PM
don't do much barra fishing but have used gold bomber then lost lure and replaced with cheap copy. both seem to fish the same. wonder if it is the lure or the colour. :-/ have found the same with other lures and even found a barra lure that is better catching tuna than barra. :-? maybe we should start a chat on quality lure v cheap copies. bet that would be hotly discussed. ;D ;D

2fishy
04-10-2006, 09:53 PM
i have seen bombers for $9.99 at a place in cairns (near palm cove)

BobbyJ123
05-10-2006, 05:55 AM
G'day mate, tried the bomber but no luck. The lures that are successful are the Predatek Viper in silver and the Killalure barra bait in elton john colour and gold/black 12+ and 20+ as you can see in the pic. The barra went 1.14 m :)

Big_unit
05-10-2006, 06:18 AM
Thats another fine fish from the BobbyJ stable of Barra.

Ive got some Bombers arriving, hopefully in this mornings mail. I reckon they will be a solid performer.

Best lures Ive used so far are Manns deep and on the surface are various poppers only when the water is very warm though.

James

backhoe
05-10-2006, 06:44 AM
It's horses for courses
There wouldn't be too many good barra fisherman who wouldn't put it up there with their favourite.
Kev

S.S.
05-10-2006, 12:56 PM
The Bombers are certainly one of the classic barramundi lures. You'll also find that the Halco Scorpion and Classic Barra range are up there as well with barra captures.

jim_farrell
05-10-2006, 06:26 PM
Gold bomber and a couple of different coloured spearheads for me. May be a little old school. When the session is quiet, usually one of these 2 breaks the drought for me.

luress
05-10-2006, 07:44 PM
Fisho,
There are plenty of barra lures the same shape as the bomber that work,but the big thing that the bomber has over most is its bouyancy.It is a very bouyent lure there for it walks the dog better than most.Not a lure that is used for snag fishing much but is used for drain and flats fishing.But one rule of thumb if you drop anything in front of a hungry barra they will eat it
regards gary :o

TinarooTriumph
05-10-2006, 08:10 PM
G'day mate, tried the bomber but no luck. The lures that are successful are the Predatek Viper in silver and the Killalure barra bait in elton john colour and gold/black 12+ and 20+ as you can see in the pic. The barra went 1.14 m :)

I wouldn't say Bomber's are the best, but they do pull some nice fish out of the water, particuarly at night with a full moon. Got to agree with Bobby though, Im a Predatek fan and those Viper's are the top lure if you ask me. They consistently pull the big fish out of the water, Fresh or salt, cast or troll. www.predatek.com . Tinaroo Barra and Viper's - they go hand in hand - check out the Image gallery. Had some success with them myself.

You can pick those Bomber's up at Big-W mate, $10.00 each or some of the Tackle Shops do deals like 10 for $90. No need to replace the rings or trebles on them, they are fitted with VMC's (If I can remember...).

fishsmith
08-10-2006, 03:34 AM
Bransfords tackle shop at Cifton Beach cairns is doing 10 bombers vmc hooks ready to go for $90 bucks or for 9.95 each and yes they do mail order....

Rod_Bender
08-10-2006, 08:59 AM
Bombers are ok but floats up way too fast which results in barra's missing the lure on many occassions. Since this lure being introduced into Aust years ago, formly DK lures designed a similar more effective lure - Eyecon. It since has had a brand change and i have seen it located in K Mart stores for around $10. Get the gold and black model

luress
09-10-2006, 07:32 PM
Rod bender thats the good thing about the bomber you fish them on the surface popping them with short sharp retrieves.The DK is a little slow on the rise to fish for barra on the flats
regards gary

davo
10-10-2006, 06:42 AM
I prefer the River 2 Sea's and B52's over the bomber because of the two hook arangement and the better suspending and casting capabilities.

marlinqld
10-10-2006, 07:41 AM
BibbyJ...elton john colour??????????????????? Please explain......or a pic...... does Elton know hes had a lure colour named after him???? :o ::)

geoff72
10-10-2006, 08:02 AM
got this little beauty on a gold bomber, and plenty more hits after to. they can catch a range of fish tese bombers.

davez104
10-10-2006, 09:21 AM
Elton John is famous for his, um, how do you put it, colourful dress sense, so the Elton John lure colour is sort of like a rainbow colour scheme. Most makers have one in their range.

I agree with most sentiments here on the gold bomber. It is a great lure, and its bouyancy is not a negative as has been suggested. It just means that it excells at the really shallow end of things. I really like them if there is a bit of timber lying in 3-6 feet of water as you can float them over the snags. And yes they must be gold. My reasoning is all big barra are females and we all know how females feel about gold ;)

borisdog
10-10-2006, 11:13 AM
They ARE a great Barra lure - BUT for a very specific set of conditions. There are plenty of lures that will catch Barra, and plenty I'd put in my tackle box before Gold Bombers. The best thing about a Gold Bomber is when it gets eaten it's usually pretty visible. They cast poorly compared to many other lures and often have to have their hooks/rings upgraded "off the shelf" - although many you see nowadays have the right terminals.
They're not the be all and end all but they do work.

Geoff_Atkinson
10-10-2006, 01:13 PM
i have seen bombers for $9.99 at a place in cairns (near palm cove)

Thats at Bransford's Tackle, Clifton Beach not Palm Cove

Geoff

geoff72
10-10-2006, 01:20 PM
this one on a gold bomber today

TinarooTriumph
10-10-2006, 04:26 PM
Marlin Mike,

The 'Elton' colour scheme is on the chart below (03). Fair few other brands have that colouration and call it 'Elton', not just Classic. Good coloured lure to use in clear water for Barra in Impoundments.

Sea Raider - Not much diff between Clifton Beach and Palm Cove mate ;D .

marlinqld
10-10-2006, 04:42 PM
Cheers TT, clears up my query ;D

I am not into fresh water fishing...more a salty myself.....

eugah
12-10-2006, 09:53 AM
Up until this year I had only caught one Barra. 2nd Feb set my baitcaster up with braid & a gold bomber & caught 4 in 2 days.
I think they are the best Barra lure because they worked for me.

Always see them cheap at K-Mart.

Adrian

darylive
13-10-2006, 02:10 PM
M.Mike
There are quite a few lures now referred to as elton john colours. They are generally multi coloured clown looking things :D.

As for Gun Barra Lures the Lively Lure Arafura is right up there with 'em.