View Full Version : What reel for macs/tuna in the bay
Y-Not
13-10-2006, 07:54 PM
I know this is a contentious issue but they are a species that I wont spend a lot of time chasing but would like to have a rod or 2 in the boat ready in case I encounter any CHOPS when on the water.
I have a 7'6" 12-15 kg rod and a 8' 10 kg rod or 2x 7' 10 kg rods at my disposal. I was thinking of an Okuma EFS-80 spin reel to throw slugs etc now that the old faithfull TSS-4 is a thing of the past. Even if a couple are still floating around I think I would prefer to have something a bit smoother in operation then they were.
So please give your honest opinion based on the fact that 95% of the time or more I will be trollling (M10 rods with TLD's) or bottom bashing when in the bay with bait or plastics. :) :)
PlasticFantastic
13-10-2006, 08:35 PM
If you want to stick with Shimano go for the Spheros they retail for around $180 and would handle any Tuna in the bay. They're a full metal reel with a waterproof drag large line roller etc and would last years longer than most Okuma's.
PlasticFantastic
SURF_SNIPER
13-10-2006, 08:57 PM
simple, shimano tss4, especially if your spinning
CHRIS_aka_GWH
14-10-2006, 09:16 AM
tss 4 is versatile enough to troll with in the bay too - they can get covered in spray & will keep on going - they are one of a select few spinning reels I believe handle the beach too. you can still get them if you look around.
On that topic - why would shimano shelve such a winner - it might not be the most balanced reel on earth but its bulletbroof. All of a sudden all those anglers who would have simply bought a Shimano TSS4 because of recommendation alone will start considering Okuma, Penn and Diawa etc and will actually put these other brands in their hands.
Was the TSS4 not shiny and girlie enough for the current trend in fishing ?
In my opinion Alvey were smart when they introduced the new vented graphite backed sidecasts - Alvey kept the old horses in their range (and incidently gave excellent after-sales follow up to a mate who didn't like the new style after using it and wanted to swap to the older style - they did it with a smile and the appropriate adjustment in price.
It just is annoying to know a good, cheap reel may not be available soon.
Kendall249
14-10-2006, 11:02 AM
My opinion is keep the TSS 4 a ledgendary reel with unbreakable status. I own 3 and one I've had for at least 13 yrs. The old one caught a 20lb sapnish last trip. I have caught barra, jacks, tuna, trevelly, queenfish and macksn them and at around $129 good value.
Chaos
14-10-2006, 11:45 AM
match with your 7' 10kg rod a 6500 baitrunner. so versatile, also i use this as a shotgun reel when fishing the 50's for marlin and in close. is a greater snapper outfit and can be use for switchbaiting still with a high enough ratio to be able to spin with. sure, if you want JUST a high speed spinnig reel, the tss4 will suffice but why not kill 2 birds with one stone and get something that can do the lot? the sphyros would even be better than the tss4 come to think of it if its just going to be a knock around rod to keep in the boat. will out last most of your gear with its tough construction.
NeilD
14-10-2006, 07:04 PM
I would stick to the TSS4 as they are bulletproof. Small boats chasing Tuna and Macs is a pretty wet game most days and the TSS4 eats this type of treatment
They are still in the Shimano 2007 cattle dog so I am hoping that the rumors of its demise have been greatly exaggerated
Sportfish_5
14-10-2006, 07:08 PM
They are still in the Shimano 2007 cattle dog so I am hoping that the rumors of its demise have been greatly exaggerated
Yeah good call Neil. There seems to be plenty around so I dont know what to make of that announcement they were killing them off :-? :-? :-? :-?
Kendall249
14-10-2006, 08:57 PM
I recently bought two more TSS4 just in case they are on there way out.
Hellmannn
14-10-2006, 09:56 PM
diawa emblem pro
or if you can afford it the stella 6000FA or Saltiga Z4500H
hellmannn ;D
marlinqld
16-10-2006, 06:47 AM
Mate, I know everyone says buy quality, but I use 2 penn combos i got from BCF.
Overhead reel (not overly big) and 5ft 6in ft Seaboy solid glass rods. $119.00 each.
I catch macs, squire, sweeties everything on them.
They work fine in the bay. Have both loaded up with 10kg paltypus pre test.
They are probably not classed as cheap sh(*t but they are probably not top shelf either. But they work, aand ctach fish, and thats what matters.
Personally i would like 2 combos for the bay to spin, 1 heavier outfit like a tss4 and a 8 foot LF which i have, and also a smaller outfit like a 4000 or 6000 sustain loaded with 20lb braid on a 7'6 spin stick for lighter lures etc. Most of the spotty macs in the bay can be easily done over with a 4000 size reel, just have to wind a bit faster .
basicly then u have 2 outfits, one for lures under 40g and one for lures between 40 and 80 grams.
Jas
G'day y-not,
I'll put my hand up and say i've got an efs - 80.. Three seasons old and hasn't been touched. Faster and smoother than a tss4 - tss's are still good reels though.
Drag knob never self adjusts (or falls off !!!), and still has the original same drag washers.
It's due for a service now - the anti reverse pawl is getting dicky. But that's about it. The reel gets very wet in the centre console, has chased barra up the cape, and has spent a good deal of time in the bullbar rod holder driving around fraser - good enough for the money I reckon.
C.J.
PlasticFantastic
16-10-2006, 04:30 PM
Go all out and buy a Daiwa Certate 3500HD it can be used for plastics, trolling, bait fishing and even jigging.
land-lubber
16-10-2006, 05:09 PM
The tss4 has not been shelved, it is in shimanos new catalogue and work has just got a new shipment. Apparenty they have fixed some of the casing problems that they were having with them and have re-introduced them. still the same reels and reasonably priced at around 130-160 dollers
cobiaman
16-10-2006, 05:55 PM
i use a efs 60 and it is great and holds heaps of 8kg line for longtails and macs in the bay
16-10-2006, 06:59 PM
Bit spoilt myself
Use a Certate 4000 matched up to a Samarui RCB008.
Does the goods
Steven
Y-Not
17-10-2006, 11:45 AM
I am glad to see some folks dont just bag the okuma's. Still need to look at all the other options suggested and while acknowlodging the reputation of the TSS4 My elbows (sports injuries) dont like the roughness when used for an extended period. I am looking for 2 reels one for my and one for the skipper (big mistake encouraging the wife to drive :'() so would prefer smoother operation even if a little more maintenance is required.