View Full Version : Which baitcaster ?Calcutta or Luna or ????
ismail
16-10-2006, 01:31 PM
Hey Guys,
Am after a baitcaster but needs to be in the round profile as i will troll a bit with it as well. Am chasing Jacks/flathead/barra.
Which one is best suited and best value for money? Calcutta or the Luna's or what other brand might be good to look at?
thanks in advance.
Oh and i am going t match the new reel to a Shimano dam raider.
Barraholic
16-10-2006, 02:02 PM
I think the money is currently on the daiwa luna / millionaires. Do some searching on the site and you'll find plenty of info. Here's some to get you started:
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1133767102/12#12
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1143019264
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1111310536/3#3
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1143509723/13#13
Barraholic
T-roy
16-10-2006, 03:39 PM
Hey mate
I would probley go the calcutta because i own one and i think their a pretty good reel
T-roy
davez104
16-10-2006, 03:59 PM
Go the Luna. Much the same as the millionaires I think. I have a CVZ millionaire and cannot fault it.
hardb8
16-10-2006, 06:52 PM
Hi ismail,
I've owned and fished both,And I would personally recommend a Millionaire.
blue-mako
16-10-2006, 07:26 PM
I'd go a Luna. They have a stronger max. drag capacity. So you can swap lines between Jacks, Barra and Flathead.
Troy
rick_k
17-10-2006, 12:37 AM
Jacks, Barra and flathead. Trolling for same as well as casting.
Hmmmmmmm ::)
Flathead trolling. Get a cheap small overhead with a smooth drag. If you are going to fish with the rod in a holder, get one with a ratchet, and forget small. Get 4lb fireline (or maybe lighter) and 14lb mono leader. Also obtain a cheapish 6 foot slow action rod with a soft tip, and away you go. No need for a large capacity reel. so round or low, your call.
Completely different outfit to jack and barra, but you can catch both jack and barra on light gear.
Flathead casting. Small threadline. Braid or mono as suits you, but prefer light braid. Choice will affect rod action. Braid =slower taper rod with softish tip to minimise pulled hooks, but too slow will make it hard to work your lure.
Jacks. not yet my thing but I am working on it. Have caught heaps in NT and not many down here. all depends on cover. Consider a 'nice' 8-) threadline and rod to suit with a couple of spare spools to open up line class options or whatever suits your casting style if casting lures accurately.
Barra. like jacks, depends on how close to cover. In freshwater in the middle of nowhere, whatever you have will probably work. In the sticks, well, still learning here, but Daiwa hrf and Daiwa td AA661HRB with 30lb braid is my current learner's pick, but my K-mart chuck out bin 8 ball bearing 4000 size threadline pulls more drag than the HRF. Both pull my calcutta 200 backwards despite jack erskine drag in the C200.
So, I reckon more than one outfit.
17-10-2006, 04:56 PM
Love my Luna 203 but I am biased....I have never owned a Calcutta... ;)
Rod_Bender
19-10-2006, 09:47 AM
I've got a few types of bait casters on the market. Luna 203, calcutta 200b, abu toro's, spider casts etc. Without a doubt the luna would have to be the smoothest nicest reel i have got, but i doubt it is worth $400. I'd rather buy 2 calcuttas when there on special for that price. All my lure work is mainly on jacks or barra, flathead chasing is only done by me on the larger tides. Hope this helps. Also, i find the drag pressure equal in both the cal and luna.
phatty
19-10-2006, 11:46 AM
go the luna..
got a heap more drag washers than the Calcutta.. hense more smoothness in that area.
plus.. of you go for a cast on the luna's you can operate the cast control from the outside rather than pulling off the whole side plate like on the other millionaires.