View Full Version : baitcaster rod n reel
rowdycowdy
17-10-2006, 04:47 PM
just got my bonus from work and have discussed with the misses that I can spend $250 each on what we want. What I want is a good Bait caster combo for casting lures 2-4 kg in this price range
all suggestions will be gratefully appreciated
cammac
18-10-2006, 02:26 PM
Hey Rowdy,
LUCKY U! :) I reckon a GL2 Loomis wont be more than $250 hard to beat!? . As for the reels - might leave u a little short on a good Diawa as theyre closer to $300 mark . Team Diawa advantage or the Coastal inshore maybe??
cheers Cam
PS. love your table boat or is it a boat table ! does it handle the chop well? ;D ;D ;D
banshee
18-10-2006, 02:36 PM
For that money I'd look at a Pfluger Echelon and put it on a Wilson livefiber lightning should come in around $220 which will leave you a bit for some braid.
cammac
18-10-2006, 03:42 PM
Hey Banshee
He may have $500 bucks total to spend - how muchis the Pfluger?? im interested!
Cam
rowdycowdy
18-10-2006, 04:39 PM
Only $250 to spend >:( >:( >:( but it will be my first baitcaster to learn on as I know you can't just pick one up and cast just like a spinning reel.
I had a feeling the Pfluger Echelon would be the choice in this range so thanks banshee for reinforcing my thoughts. I believe this is the way to go!!
thanks for the posts
rowdy
Grab the MO tackle catalogue. they have two combos using the echelon reel. one with a echelon rod for $125 all up.....not sure on its rating as i'venever seen it but who knows. The other combo has a pfleugar trion rod, 6'6" 4-7kg for $150. I have the 7' 4-7 kg trion rod and I think they are good value. They have a nice light tip but plenty in the butt. I used mine recently @ monduran casting 20 - 25gm lures for barra all day long with no worries. caught one fish 87cm and it performed well with 50lb braid and max drag over it. It may be a little stiff for really small lures like those for bream, but most bass lures are a little bigger than that.
cheers, roo.
cammac
18-10-2006, 06:21 PM
Hi Rowdy sri to hear that :( oh well shud get not abad outfit still
how about a abu 4500- 6500c with some rod - Im looking for a reasonably priced baitcaster too but smaller size for bass
hey mate i seen a calcutta 200b at nerange disposels with a rod for $200 about a month ago u rod was pritty crappy but still for the combo its good and there got bantiams and rods there pritty cheap to
zach
rowdycowdy
19-10-2006, 07:03 PM
For that money I'd look at a Pfluger Echelon and put it on a Wilson livefiber lightning should come in around $220 which will leave you a bit for some braid.
I am looking this way
Thanks all for your input
rowdy