View Full Version : Reel for Soft Plastics
hando1978
21-10-2006, 10:39 AM
G'Day,
I bought a Shimano Starlo Stix Light Spin Rod yesterday and am looking for advice on the type of reel that I should use on this rod for primarily Soft Plastic fishing? Edit: I would be looking at the $100 - $150 price bracket.
Any ideas would be much appreciated.
Geoff
nabs12
21-10-2006, 10:48 AM
Hey
Depends on your budget really.. For that rod I'd say maybe your looking at spending around under $200? There are a lot of reels that would fit in that price range, best would be a shimano stradic in either 1000 or 2500 size which are around the $200 mark..
Another nice reel would be the daiwa exceler.. this goes for around $130 and is very nice for its price.
There also is the shimano symtere which goes for around $130 aswel I think.
There are heaps of reels to use for SP fishing.. just depends on your budget.
NeilD
21-10-2006, 12:32 PM
The Penn Affinity is in your price bracket and pretty hard to go past. Lots of good gear around that price
Try the pflueger president great reels for around $90 how much did you pay for your rod
cheers Rob.
hando1978
21-10-2006, 01:50 PM
Paid $99, not sure if this is a good price or not.
TheSaint
21-10-2006, 05:05 PM
Shimano Symetre 1500 would do the job nicely on that rod..
hey mate u can get shimano stradics for $185 now at sun down marine. iv got one of those starlo sticks with my sustain on it and i recon ther unrel lil rods for the price
zach
alleycat
21-10-2006, 05:54 PM
I havew both the stradic 1000 and the symetre 1500 and to be honest if your going to have a go at squire as well the symetre has a bigger spool and the drag handles the bigger fish better, but i love my stradic for bream flathead ect.
T-roy
21-10-2006, 06:41 PM
Hey mate
I would go a Shimano Symeter 2500 which cost $109 i think
21-10-2006, 06:57 PM
I will put a vote in for the Daiwa Exceler in a 2500
steven
PlasticFantastic
21-10-2006, 07:03 PM
I'll second that vote on the Exceler
PlasticFantastic
clutter
21-10-2006, 10:21 PM
Sent you a PM.
ON-THE-CHEW
22-10-2006, 12:46 PM
The Diawa Exceler would have to be one of the best value for money reels on the market (if you shop around). I have seen them between $125 to $189. These have very similar components to the Daiwa Sol range (priced at $330) and also has six kilo's off drag, so if you do start looking to go after squire you will have a decent drag and a decent line capacity.
Just remember if you do decide on a Exceler shop around, for some reason there is a large variation in price.
84mick
22-10-2006, 02:52 PM
What about the daiwa ondine?? I got mine on special for $50 It was going for $150 at BCF. But just keep in mind that it is getting close to the end of the year so lots of specials will be on soon! ;)
aquarius
22-10-2006, 03:14 PM
Just one more thing to mention on comparing those reels in the above posts.
The SYMETRE has a 6 to 1 retrieve which can be handy when using chrome slugs etc when targeting a few pelagics.
The new for 2006 Diawa Exceler sounds like a top reel for chasing bay squire.
Cheers Brent
fisherman_dude2006
22-10-2006, 04:54 PM
how about the daiwa exist or shimano stella
;)
22-10-2006, 05:12 PM
For that price range there are quite a few reels out there.
The Shimano Sedona 1500 is a fantastic reel. The 2500 would also be. I have one of these, and it travels everywhere with me.
The Shimano Symmetre is an awesome reel. I have the 2 of the 1500's and they are the ducks nuts! I absolutely love them
After that you have the Stradic, and then it just goes WAY up after that. The Daiwa's I haven't had too much experience with, so will leave them to the people who know. Pflueger have had some good reports lately, and they seem to be doing pretty well.