View Full Version : Good Mackerel reel
We are looking at buying a couple of Okuma EFS80's for the summer mackerel season, anyone got any experience with these, or can suggest better?
03-11-2006, 10:20 AM
Nice to see you back on ausfish Jugs!
I owned an Okuma that I was not happy with. There have been a few threads on Okuma in the tackle section in the past and opinion is divided on whether these are as good and reliable as Shimano.
Personally, I would go the Shimano TSS4. I believe you can still get them.
hey mate i would go the tss4 or a tica foucus spin
zach
Far_Canal
03-11-2006, 11:45 AM
I have seen so many problems with those high speed Okumas its not funny, i wont ever buy one.
Go a tss4
Cruiser
03-11-2006, 11:47 AM
Despite earlier rumours that it was to be discontinued, the TSS4 is in the 2007 Shimano catalogue.
Chris.
Far_Canal
03-11-2006, 11:49 AM
bcf has like 20 of em at their gold coast store, they are everywhere, always come on special aswell, these days if you buy at the right time u can pick one up for like 130.
03-11-2006, 12:57 PM
Yep, can't go past the TSS4. I love mine but also just added a Certate 3500 HD custom to the stable for offshore plastics and mack spinning work. Depends on who your loyalties lie with or whether that is not an issue.
bg1000
03-11-2006, 03:16 PM
I owned one but also was unhappy with after only a couple of months. Now have a tss4 again.
DazSamFishing
03-11-2006, 04:04 PM
I have an epix efs20 40 and 60...
I haven't had an issue with either... and have owned them over 18months...
I also have the shimano tss4... and it works too...
Like always... just take care of the gear and make sure they get serviced once in a while.
krazyfisher
03-11-2006, 04:15 PM
if you are happy to replace reel offen than go with the epix they are nicer to use but dont last I had one and have gone back to the tss4
saw the TSS4 $129 at that mart today @ underwood..
cobiaman
03-11-2006, 05:26 PM
mate, get an efs 60, we have caught lontails up to 15kg on them and still had plenty of line on the spool left. ive owned one for nearly 2 years now and i think its heaps better than the tss4 and it has a higher gear ratio as well :)
DazSamFishing
03-11-2006, 06:52 PM
Finally... some positive feedback for the okuma epix...
Thanks cobiaman...
cobiaman
03-11-2006, 07:01 PM
i liked it that much i bought an eb80 for my next rod and 4 guys i fish with all went and bought 1 after they saw mine ;)
Excuse my ignorance, but does anyone know if either the Shimano or the Okuma has a graphite body? We have a couple of smaller spinning reels (Daiwa) that flex in the shaft if you get anything bigger than a tiddler on >:(
Is this a case of long time favourite vs the new kid on the block?
Our local fishing shop said the TSS4 are bulletproof, but old technology. They say the Okuma run smoother but dont have the longevity of the Shimano.
I am personally wondering, for me (being female and all ::)) - if the smoother action of the Okuma would be a better choice when I am hauling in that 10kg mackeral (from the bay ;)) ????
manangatang
03-11-2006, 08:44 PM
i have 2 efs 80 seem to be made cheap ,china i think ,price got me in 50 % off sale ect,handle been loose from the word go ,would not have one again ,thinking of tss4 myself or if moneys no issue diawa emblem ,cheers
cobiaman
03-11-2006, 08:51 PM
gee... not many people like okuma on here, personally i will buy another when the time comes :)
03-11-2006, 09:02 PM
I have an epix 80. Is that the same or similar as the efs? Anyway, I also have a tss4. I like them both. Though there is a definate noticable difference with the 80 compared to Shimano. Use the 80 for offshore and the tss4 for spinning, though if I had to settle for one to do both, I would probably go the 80 even though I am Shimano first. If I mostly did high speed spinning, then I would go the old tss4.
Don't suppost that helps at all.
cobiaman
03-11-2006, 09:11 PM
there is 2 types of epix. efs is the spinning reel and eb is the baitrunner.
andy009
03-11-2006, 09:30 PM
tss4 spools get worped to easy :o get your self a spinfisher or something with a metal spool. and the tss4s line roler doesnt last long when you hook big fish like blues
Far_Canal
03-11-2006, 09:31 PM
in my time iv seen busted handles, busted bail arm, cracked body, all the annodising come off the reel after like 6 months even when taken good care of, the cap on the other side of the handle dunno what its called, popped out while fishing, reel arm snap.
all pretty basic things.
04-11-2006, 08:40 AM
if your budjet allows, try a shimano stradic in the 6000-8000 size, you'll be impressed! ratio for 6000 stradic is 5.7:1. a tss4 is 5.8:1. so there is bugger all difference in there relative speeds.
hope this helped
stonecold
04-11-2006, 09:38 AM
Still can't get use to the body flex in my efs Okuma's. I have 2 the 80 and a 60. Dont get me wrong they are smooth but I get the feeling they are not going to be long serving a reels.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
04-11-2006, 10:11 AM
tss4 spools get worped to easy :o get your self a spinfisher or something with a metal spool. and the tss4s line roler doesnt last long when you hook big fish like blues
I'd gladly buy an Okuma if they were as good at lasting.
i've had my TSS4 for 4 years catching macs every summer and casting chromes on the beach between summers without event. The reel gets drenched in saltwater and peppered with sand.
A mate over straddie had an Ok an couple of years back that he was using for trolling and it ended up siezing from taking in salt-spray - he cleans his reels just the same as me - a quick flush with fresh - i've also had a mate have a penn seize from the same. The TSS4 is not a perfect peice of engineering but is tough and well sealed.
And juggs, my wife who is not a champion arm-wrester handles it easily.
The whole spool warping thing is EAO (error at operator) any reel that has retrieved a big fish needs one last cast or drop and retreive to release the tension in the line - if a metal spool handles the tension better then its the line that suffers.
I fish 22lb Berkley Trilene on the TSS4. Casts an absolute mile - would be even further if they'd taper the spool more.
04-11-2006, 10:52 AM
Interesting point re graphite body flex, I sometimes use an old Silstar BT80 for 8kg beach work.
Flexes like mad with a decent fish over a couple of kgs, yet I landed a 30kg bull shark with it, and it continues to perform without drama.
Apart from the light weight, the thing I personally like about graphite is the fact it won't corrode.
spinner
04-11-2006, 10:58 AM
juggs
have a look at the daiwa emblem pro, costs a bit more, but if you want smooth, longevity and speed, way to go.
mr shimano
how about an upgraded model of the tss4. doesn`t need much.
just a metal spool and dyna balanced rotor. could ask for a carbon drag and bigger line roller too, but they would bump the price up too much and present ones are ok.
Reggy
cammac
04-11-2006, 12:44 PM
I dono Guys
Cant u get Penns around the ?200 buck mark - dont think ur gonna have these flexing probs with them - maybe its worth paying the extra dough to get the longer go!! ;D ;D :o are over heads in the too hard basket??? they are s..t loads stronger than eggbeaters!!
Cam
count_baysea
04-11-2006, 01:03 PM
ive had an efs80 used twice and then siezed, i look after my reels as well, okuma gave me my money back. I also have a tss4 that i have used over 20 trips still going strong. My next will be a emblem pro or twin power. Save the $ for a stradic or the diawa and you will not go back to cheaper reels.
imo The okumas are ok for the $ but dont get them wet as they are an asprin.
andy009
04-11-2006, 02:36 PM
chris i wasnt sayin i like the okuma egg beaters i agree they corode easily i had an okuma that coroded. i hooked a large longtail about 19 kgs and my tss4 was so hot i couldnt touch the spool and every time i wound the spool hit. so what u got to say to that. if the tss4 had a metal spool it would be the best real out there.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
04-11-2006, 03:39 PM
andy,
it was the warping too easy thing that attracted attention - a 19kg longie is a bloody good fish - did you boat it ? What pound line were you running?
04-11-2006, 04:12 PM
chris i wasnt sayin i like the okuma egg beaters i agree they corode easily i had an okuma that coroded. i hooked a large longtail about 19 kgs and my tss4 was so hot i couldnt touch the spool and every time i wound the spool hit. so what u got to say to that. if the tss4 had a metal spool it would be the best real out there.
I got a TSS4 & TSS3 with a metal spool ;) :-X
04-11-2006, 04:21 PM
if your budjet allows, try a shimano stradic in the 6000-8000 size, you'll be impressed! ratio for 6000 stradic is 5.7:1. a tss4 is 5.8:1. so there is bugger all difference in there relative speeds.
hope this helped
Yeah, but 20cm per crank makes a big difference when chasing macs.
04-11-2006, 04:21 PM
I have a couple of TSS4's , they cop plenty of ruff treatment and get the TLC a good reel deserves. Never been let down by one yet. Several of the locals went the okuma's a couple of years ago, a few went into the bin after one season.
04-11-2006, 05:01 PM
hope this helped
yeah, but so does boat postion, lure selection. how fast does one wind a reel?????
Adamy
04-11-2006, 05:06 PM
I have 2 tss4s that Ive had for 10 or more years - they are both still running fine - and have caught bucket loads of good pelagics off the rocks.. but compared to some of the newer reels they are old technology and are rather clunky and the drag isnt as smooth either... I once hooked a jetskier going at full tilt - smoke was coming off the drag and melted the top screw thing... but it still goes and catches good fish - so I would highly recommend the Tss4 even tho it is old technology - back when I bought mine they were $165 on special... now you can pick them up for $130 or less. So very affordable.
I also have an Okuma epix efs80 and the 60 model they are also nice reels and havent had a problem with them yet - much smoother than the tss4s but I'm still in my first season - so time will tell. the larger spool on the efs 80 means that I get extra casting distance (and holds more line) - which is always handy and the whole reel is as smooth as silk... However they are also larger and heavier than the Tss4 so you need a rod to match - whereas Tss4 will fit on smaller rods - Efs 80 wont. Just some things to consider.
This is a good thread - keep it up. :D
Adam
04-11-2006, 05:33 PM
hope this helped
yeah, but so does boat postion, lure selection. how fast does one wind a reel?????
If using a TSS4, a fair bit slower than a Stradic 8-)
PlasticFantastic
04-11-2006, 08:26 PM
I saw an episode of escape with E.T. a while ago and I think he was in Fiji or somewhere in the Pacific and noted that he had what looked like a TSS4 with a BTR 6500 spool on it. Was I seeing things and if I wasn't wouldn't this give you the option of a metal spool on the TSS4 and a better drag.
PlasticFantastic
04-11-2006, 08:54 PM
Spot on Plastic Fantastic ;)
04-11-2006, 09:35 PM
can btr 6500 spools be bought as an aftermarket accessory? that would be an awesome combination with the tss4. whilst on the tss4, is it true that the older models were jap made, hence better quality, rather than the $129 dollar versions now. does it make a difference,between the two???????
spinner
05-11-2006, 07:40 AM
i bought one only about 12 months ago and it is made in japan
$140.00 but i think the latest ones would be better as they have the ARB bearings, or so the 2006 catalogue says.
mine might even have the ARB `s, i havent checked it out.
Reggy
andy009
05-11-2006, 02:39 PM
chris,
Unfortunatel i was fishing my local pier and we get longtails in the worst weather and the gaff hit the line and snapped it off. i was using 8kg lo streatch i still got my tss4
OK. Bowed to peer group pressure, went to that mart and got 2 TSS4's. Didnt like the wobble in the wind, but I guess we'll get used to it! (NO ONE MENTIONED THAT HAPPENING!) We also got 20lb Platypus platinum. I was tempted to go for the platypus pink (yes I really am that dityzy!! [smiley=gorgeous.gif][smiley=dizzy.gif]) to match the pink bionic braid on my TLD20!!!! For those who are unsure, yes they are made in Japan. The dude at the shop also told us that Shimano have discontinued them and once these are gone, they're GOOONE!!!!
Next question??? When do we start chasin"? [smiley=huh2.gif] [smiley=book2.gif]
05-11-2006, 04:28 PM
Soon Jugs.. Soon ;)
You wony be dissqapointed with the TSS4's.
OK Heath, where do we get a BTR 6500 spool, how much are they and are they worth the spend??
Jugs
CHRIS_aka_GWH
05-11-2006, 07:59 PM
OK Heath, where do we get a BTR 6500 spool, how much are they and are they worth the spend??
Jugs
and do they come in an anodised pink or should you try to highlight the line with a vivid azure blue spool ::) ;)
WHATEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D
05-11-2006, 09:41 PM
Any tackle shop will be able to get you one. ;) Are they worth it?...... well.... all depends on how you enjoy your fishing. They have a bigger drag system, so them days when your lines burning off the reel at a hundred miles an hour you will be thankfull..... but see how they go before splashing out on a btr6500 spool.
cammac
05-11-2006, 10:32 PM
Whatever spool you put on them your still going to get that famous or infamous shimano spool woble as quoted previously -2006 and they cant even get that rite - typical shimano quality !!! :( ;D ;D not impressed :o
CHRIS_aka_GWH
06-11-2006, 06:51 AM
like me,
at least a wobble means its still moving ! :-?
06-11-2006, 07:58 AM
I have a BTR6500 with TSS4 gears ;D ;D. I get the high speed and also the baitrunner feature for bait fishing ;D
DazSamFishing
06-11-2006, 10:10 PM
I have a BTR6500 with TSS4 gears . I get the high speed and also the baitrunner feature for bait fishing
Now thats a good combination...
Jeremy... how can you arrange that sort of tackle and what does the price tag look like?
06-11-2006, 10:34 PM
It's a custom mod Daz.
I also tried it with one of my baitrunners and it works a treat. However you need the older Tritons or "A" model to complete the mod.
You also loose the auto trip feature when turning the handle as well, unless you put some pins in the top of the TSS4 gear.
07-11-2006, 06:30 AM
Heath is right, you need the BTR6500A to do this. I had this done for me in a tackle shop at Lutwiche and I don't know exactly what they did, but I still have the auto-trip feature with the baitrunner.
Bit heavy for an ideal lurecasting reel, but as a multipurpose reel it is great!
07-11-2006, 06:34 AM
Jeremy,
Would be good if you could whip the side off the reel & take a pic ;) So we could see what they did so the auto trip feature is still present. :)
spinner
07-11-2006, 07:46 AM
with both these modified reels, you are still going to get either a reel with an unbalanced rotor or a reel that is a bit heavy for spinning.
nobody has mentioned cost yet. is it really worth the bother when there are reels like the emblem pro out there?
Reggy
07-11-2006, 08:03 AM
Jeremy,
Would be good if you could whip the side off the reel & take a pic ;) So we could see what they did so the auto trip feature is still present. :)
I know you just mean to remove the side plate, but I am scared :o something else will come loose and I won't be able to get it back where it came from [smiley=stupid.gif] and then it will cost me $ to get it fixed :-[ :-[
yellahunter
07-11-2006, 10:14 AM
i too am after a reel for chasing macs, tuna, snapper etc.
I was thinking more along the lines of a BTR6500,
all this talk of the TSS reels has got me thinking.
why are you guys suggesting the Tss4 over the BTR6500 in teh first place, isnt teh baitrunner a much better reel???
also what about an abu7500C or something like that, how would it compare, i know its an overhead but would it be just as suitable,
I did have a 6500C and was pretty impressed it got hell and worked well for years
any tips for me
PlasticFantastic
07-11-2006, 12:09 PM
They're suggesting the TSS4 because of its higher gear ratio which is more suitable for throwing metal at Tuna, Macks etc.
Another point to mention throw plastics at schools of feeding fish and you don't have to wind it at warp speed to catch them, making the higher gear ratio of no value.
PlasticFantastic
SO what plastic would I be throwing at them in lieu of a slug?
Pitsta
07-11-2006, 07:19 PM
The wife got a 5 kg Mac tuna on a 4'' swirl tail shad . tsunami , No more than 20 feet from the boat , Andy 009 can vouch for that .
Pitsta
07-11-2006, 07:29 PM
By the way guy's . ( andy009 ) Is only a young fella & spends as much time fishing a week as I do at work , He's caught some huge pelagics of that pier & knows a little bit about fishing . So go easy on him !!!!
craftycarp
08-11-2006, 07:11 AM
I am with Reggy, yes the tss4 WAS a great reel but compared to some of the reels out there its is quite frankly crap. A mate of mine has even done a home balance job on his tss4 so it wobbles a little less but after playing around with my daiwa emblem pro his tss4 is now relegated to the cupboard and he has bought himself the emblem. I am not rich by any means but I will spend the 170 dollars for an emblem pro over the tss4 anyday. Yes the tss4 high retrieve ratio but the daiwa actually gets more line on the reel per crank. It has a way better drag and has stopped 25kg kingies. I know the tss4 has a big following (i used to be a member) and yes they where way ahead of their time, but we are in 2006 now no point using 80's technology.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
08-11-2006, 07:21 AM
..., but we are in 2006 now no point using 80's technology.
wadda about if its tuff and can be abused and neglected in ways the modern stuff can't because the modern stuff uses thinner moulds and tighter tolerances etc ....
BTW i have never used an emblem pro - how do they go on repeated beach / wet boat work
::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)
craftycarp
08-11-2006, 11:52 AM
Chris yeah I do get your point, like I said I used to be a tss4 man and I still have 2, I just can't use the wobbly buggers anymore. I also have okumas 4 of them, after 3 years of abuse 2 dead, 2 good.. interestingly the 2 that are dead are the ones I let a reel "expert" service. The okumas were great considering how much abuse I gave them, but now I am addicted to my daiwa emblem pro.
The emblem pro is a year old and mostly used for surf casting/spinning although I do take it on the boat when I go. It has been dropped in the briney once, has been dumped on the sand alot of times, been to fraser 4 times, moreton twice, straddie once and regular all nighters for tailor down at main beach. it is still as smooth as the day I got it. Of course it may die tommorrow you never know these things (incidentally 1 of my tss4's died within 2 years but it was replaced free).
Look for those who love their tss4 I can understand why I guess.. but me I am definitely over them.
yasplayer06
08-11-2006, 01:19 PM
Mate you cant beat the shimano TSS4 such a solid reel and for the price... Why choose anything else, one again shimano owning the competition in terms of pricing for product quality...
cammac
08-11-2006, 01:28 PM
These Shimano guys just wont give up ::) !! if they could get a 6.1 alvey it would be their ultimate reel! ;D ;D >:( they probably like series 1 landrovers too ;D:o - rough as guts and the body the ali bits that is last forever , now the motor thats another story !!! ;D ;D ;D :o :-?
A few of those 25kg Kingies will sort the good reels from the bad eh!!! :) ;) :'(
Cam
Deiter
09-11-2006, 04:57 AM
Why can't we get a factory built baitrunner with high speed and good balance???
Seems a no-brainer really - i would buy at least two tomorrow if they exist,... anybody??
Anyway, one thing that has only had a small mention so far is that it is not only the ratio that makes a reel fast. The other factor is spool diameter. bigger spools mean less winding, and i think that the penn ss series has just about the biggest. (correct me if i am wrong, woops, scrap that, Kerry prolly doesnt read the saltwater forum ;))
anyway, a big spool size and a FULL spool of line makes a big difference. something else to consider.
Damo
09-11-2006, 09:04 PM
good onya heath............ya just cost me another $129. i gotta get another rod, line, and the btr6500 spool i ordered now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! more bucks ::) ::) i tell ya now mate.... if the missus catches more than me with the stradic, over my tss4, your in trouble!!!!!! :D :D :D in all seriousness, what would you recomend, rod wise, i'm a huge fan of gary howard rods, but would sure like to know of some other, quality custom rods.
09-11-2006, 09:59 PM
Lippa,
For off the shelf rods, I reckon the Wilson Livefibre RLF20 or for a custom job maybe something in the Loomis blanks. They make some kick ass blue water spin blanks.
The BTR6500 spool you will have to slightly modify. You will have to file out the 2 outside metal drag washers ever so slightly so it will fit on the TSS4 shaft. About a 10 min job.