View Full Version : my rod storage - pics at last
CHRIS_aka_GWH
04-11-2006, 02:49 PM
i remember a post - that I couldn't find using the search - asking how people stored their rods - now that I've entered the digital age I thought I'd show you mine
CHRIS_aka_GWH
04-11-2006, 02:49 PM
its 100mm clear pine with holesaw cut holes and jigsawed 45degree cuts. A eye-screw in the top to hang it on the wall on a hook
bearclaw
04-11-2006, 04:29 PM
Nice tip, we should all take a page out of your book on rod care.
Myles
Kiktz
04-11-2006, 05:41 PM
Chris Oh G Mate thanks heaps, bit early for chrissy though.
Can you send me a pm on when I can come over and pick them up.
Looks Bloody beautiful, All I need is to find the room to bolt the racks on.
Good job Aj
Kendall249
06-11-2006, 12:59 AM
Good set up chris, I use vertical rod holders screwed to the wall. Dosen't look as good as yours though
07-11-2006, 05:33 PM
Looks nice, but there is a problem, There's no more room for some more rods.aaaarrrrhhhhh. ;D ;D ;D.
yasplayer06
08-11-2006, 01:29 PM
Nice Job Mate thay look fantastic, hey you should go anbout designing a vaertical one now... I can neevr find a nice one I would spend the money on buying...
09-11-2006, 06:34 AM
Here are a couple of photos of my rod rack.
09-11-2006, 06:35 AM
another showing profile
09-11-2006, 07:32 AM
wow...makes my pile on the garage floor look pathetic
staddie_local
09-11-2006, 09:06 AM
mine lay on a wall of brackerts.
les ;)
Reef_fisher
09-11-2006, 10:00 AM
Mine are stored in racks on the boat. ;) ;) Less handling. I don't do many different types of fishing.
fishing_mik
09-11-2006, 06:19 PM
heres a photo of mine a bit of carpet glued to the timber rafter sweet as (missus wont let them in the house)
mik
09-11-2006, 11:49 PM
CHRIS aka GWH - that is fantastic! Well done! :)
Mine sit on metal wall hooks horizontally like that but not as classy. I have been thinking about updating the arrangement. You have inspired me to do the same.
Now that yours are up and working, what would you recommend as the spacing between the rods - ie the holes, please?
10-11-2006, 06:37 AM
upright storage is better for the rods if you have the height. They will ultimately warp if there is any uneven pressure on them horizontally.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
10-11-2006, 06:41 AM
thanks for the kind comments guys.
Here are a couple of photos of my rod rack.
thats got class!
BTW where'd you buy all those beautiful sheilds from Jeremy - I must get me a few too ;)
CHRIS aka GWH - that is fantastic! Well done! :)
.... I have been thinking about updating the arrangement. You have inspired me to do the same.
Now that yours are up and working, what would you recommend as the spacing between the rods - ie the holes, please?
just measured it properly
its 70mm x 19mm clear pine with 50mm holes drilled every 100mm along a line 25mm in from the edge.
Pretty easy stuff, from go to whoa the longest period of time is spent eating hotdogs at Bunnings :D
The spacing was designed to fit my surf rods on ONE wall because my surf boards are on the other. The surf rods use three of the racks as support.
if you've got the dollars a set in Kwila (the outdoor furniture wood) would look special.
In retrospect, the ideal situation would be a spacing between holes to suit the reel on each rod so the reel above doesn't lie on the handle below - i didn't have space to accomodate this.
thehoodedwarriors
12-11-2006, 02:51 PM
Hey fishing milk --- my other halfs prized posessions are in their own spot it the dining room in a movable rack like to ones in tackle shops - will take some photos and post them up I love fishing almost more than he does so there is no other place they should be.. like trophies on the mantle piece.