View Full Version : Getting started on SP..needing advice.

crobinso1
13-11-2006, 03:49 PM
Hey fishos,
I'm looking at getting involved in the SP revolution which is taking the world by storm ;D..As I said, I'm only getting started and I'm looking for a cheap-ish rod & reel combo that you think would be a suitable starter.
Dad is buying it for me for christmas, and doesn't really want to spend over $100. I know this isn't very much money for a rod & reel but surely you guys had to start off with something relatively cheap at some point..
Any help would be much appreciated..
Cameron

P.S. I'm not looking at catching anything big..Just the usual estuary types (bream, flathead and anything else stupid enough to jump on ;D.)

maat
13-11-2006, 03:57 PM
A mate brought a abu garcia combo that comes with a berkley softplastics pack containing a variety of plaitics jig heads and instuctional dvd only for $100, you can probly find them at most takle shops but i know some amart stores stock them. I personally dont spend under $300 on my plastics outfits, however me mate says his is great.

cheers mat

marlinqld
13-11-2006, 04:11 PM
we all started with the cheaper combos mate. I still have mine. ;D ;)

Go for it, another innocent to be lured to the dark side... ;D ;D

Where are you T1, scalem, poodroo....... another victim for the darkside awaits his doom LOL ;) ;) ;D ::) :o :P

Pitsta
13-11-2006, 04:47 PM
Hey Cameron , my rod, reel & braid cost . $60 IMX 7'' / $24 SHIMANO HYPER LOOP 4000 / $ 22 BERKELY BRAID 10 lb ...... Do'es the job & not expencive . Shop around mate there's plenty out there !!!!

TheSaint
15-11-2006, 07:57 AM
Shimano have their summer deals out at the moment & you can pick a Catana 702 - 7ft rod matched to Sienna 2500 Reel for $99.99 @ most tackle stores..

It would be a perfect setup to start your SP career..

plus with 10 year warrenty it's hassle free fishing!

Red_Nut
15-11-2006, 08:40 AM
I reckon the Saint is on the right track there. :)

I have a Shimano Sienna 4000 spin reel matched to a Shimano Taipan 6ft, 1 piece rod which is sweet. It is brilliant for what you are intending. I use it for SP's as well as bait fishing. This combo has taken some good size fish without any dramas at all, the largest being a 60cm Black Jew. ;D ;D

I just bought a combo for my wife's Chrissy present. It is a Shimano Sienna 4000 matched to a Shimano Taipan Extreme 662 3-4kg Spin rod (6'6" 2-piece). This combo was $100 at the local tackle shop.

Rod:
http://www.shimanofish.com.au/catalog/fish/products/group_detail.jsp?JSESSIONID=FhDNvnk8gNhf0y0YFGxmXH y5vnh7G1y0MyTTxh1z4QvHKB2MT9J9!1535051488&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302045314&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181655&bmUID=1163543501502

Reel:
http://www.shimanofish.com.au/catalog/fish/products/group_detail.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=25343743020 45244&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181655&bmUID=1163543980014

If you shop around and compare prices there are some good solid deals out there. ::)

cheers.

Ed.

15-11-2006, 10:05 AM
as said above, the 99 buck outfit is gold!, but a word of advice DON'T DO IT!!!!! it'll cost ya plenty down the track!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D

TheSaint
15-11-2006, 03:32 PM
Also i owe 2500 Sienna reel & i have landed some big fish with it with no problems with 6lb fireline so i can say it will do the job with no problems..

crobinso1
15-11-2006, 03:35 PM
Thanks guys

Your help and advice is very much appreciated :)..I might have to get Dad reading this thread now. :D :P

plasticking700
16-11-2006, 10:29 PM
try bcf they have strudwick sic stiks for $75 and i saw a pretty good looking reel there for $35 i forget wat it was called i also own my own strudwick sic stik and they handle anything so give it a go
good fishing Plasticking700

britto
18-11-2006, 09:55 AM
Check out the Egrell range of rods - not at the cheaper end, but the quality and performance is worth it - it makes a huge difference fishing with SPs

mylestom
18-11-2006, 10:12 AM
You might have a look at the new Mo Tackle website, lots of choice and good prices.

Trev

18-11-2006, 04:56 PM
I have spent roughly the economy of a small third world nation on gear to try and catch fish on plastics..all to no avail. I think there is a conspiracy that all you people that say you catch fish on them are in the employ of some huge multi national plastic company. I am buggered if i can get a fish interested when I use the horrid smelly things.

Looks like I will have bait smelling hands forever.

TheSaint
18-11-2006, 05:28 PM
I think there is a conspiracy that all you people that say you catch fish on them are in the employ of some huge multi national plastic company..

I WISH!! :o

JasonT
21-11-2006, 11:50 AM
My sentiments exactly Pinhead!
I had decided to never try them again, but one day ran out of bait, wasn't ready to leave.. Gave them one more try...

Caught a real nice flatty...
And continued to catch flatty on subsequent trips.... Had way more success with the SP's than bait!

Finally, I managed to get a couple of squire on some powerbaits just recently.

It has been (and continues to be) a steep learning curve, but it is getting easier!

I'm sold on sp's now and know that they work.

I think that's the main problem people have - confidence in the placcies and in themselves. If you don't have that you won't do as well.

Have you ever had days where you just know you're going to catch heaps and you do? Or conversely had days where the excitement and confidence just weren't there and as it turns out neither were the fish?

For me the turning point was that first fish. Suddenly I KNEW placcies worked. It was just a matter of getting the technique right for different species. When I didn't catch anything I knew it was because of variables other than the wether or not placcies work. The biggest variable was me. My cast. My retrieve. My choice of location.
Generally on poor days, it wasn't the placcies fault, but my stuffing up one of the other variables!

Cameron, persevere mate and you won't regret it!

To jumpstart your knowledge, do a search for sp's in general and tackle sections!