View Full Version : Plastics Problem

Shitty_Master
09-01-2007, 04:42 PM
I just started getting into the soft plastics and today for the first time I got a lit of bites from a few small whiting I believe. I didn't catch any fish though, I was using a gulp backworm and the only place the fish would bite is the tail where there is no hook. As soon as I put a hook on the tail I wouldn't get any bites. What can I do to start catching fish? Is the where I would use a jighead?

For_Steve
09-01-2007, 05:25 PM
I've only had limited success catching whiting on plastics (6" Saltwater Gulp Sandworms) but I'll gladly share what I've learnt so far. I tend to normally target flathead, trevally and bream using other plastics.

Were you using the "turtle back worms" or "sandworms"?
Were your bites biting off the tail?

Cheers, Brad.

alleycat
09-01-2007, 05:59 PM
S-master why not keep it simple until you know what your doing? look for estuary fish just use a 1/8 tt jighead ( heavier if your not using braid) in no2 hook and pair this with a 3 inch berkley minnow in smelt scales, from the rod tip pointing at cast head give 3 nudges till rod vertical and then lower rod and take up line as you do, pause then repeat, keep it close to bottom if your in flathead country and you should do well, try the worms in 12 months ok.

Shitty_Master
09-01-2007, 06:07 PM
Thanks for the advice alleycat, I really do have to get some 3inch minnows.

And Steve I was using the turtle back worms. And yes the bites were taking pieces out of the tail.

For_Steve
09-01-2007, 06:16 PM
No worries mate.

IMO, if they were biting just the tails off, chances are that they were toadfish, especially if your plastics are pumpkinseed colour.

NeilD
09-01-2007, 08:39 PM
I have caught plenty of whiting on a Gulp 6"sandworm cut in half on a small jig head

Roo
11-01-2007, 04:09 PM
I got a whiting at Mud island the other day on a 3" Fry pumpkinseed ;). I reckon alleycat has the good oil for you there. keep it simple until you get some confidence with what your doing, that way you will build on skills and not get too disheartened if if doesn't pay off immediately. Flathead are the species to target when your starting out. someone once said "if you can't catch a flathead on plastics, then it's time to take up darts" :D

keep at it.

cheers, roo.