View Full Version : Fantastic Plastic

SteveCan
19-01-2004, 06:58 AM
Well, we missed the opportunity to go outside due to staying a litle late last night at a mate's bbq [smiley=balloon2.gif] We surfaced around nine and went to throw some plastics in the lake at Burleigh. When we got there I threw quick lazy cast to test the water and Bang! Breambo. Second cast Bang! on again. Another couple of casts and on again. Three fish before we even put the Canoe in the water.

What followed was our best plastic session by Far. In one hour we boated 24 Fish. 22 Bream and 2 Flathead. Only three of the bream went over 30 cm, but all were over 25. Catch of the Day was Lindy's Flathead at 54cm. Because the wind was down we didn't troll like we usually do, all fish were caught casting to the shadows and drains near the banks. We were constantly on. The floor of the canoe was strewn with the shards of demolished palstics and it didn't seem to matter what we were using. We did use Berkely Powerbait 2" motor oil tails, 3" watermelon dropshot bass minnow and 2 colours of Atomic 2" tails. They all produced.

This was also my first go with my new 6' Live Fibre 2-4kg carbon Bream rod and it really did the business, accounting for 18 of the fish caught. I even lent it to Lindy for a while and it still outperformed our old gear. I had been told how important the rod was going to be for plastics - but I don't need any more proof than what I had today to realise just how important. (Linda will be getting her new rod within the week she tells me ;))

I guess the fresh water probably had a lot to do with the bite today - but it was an absolute cracker of a session and it nearly made up for not getting out there to chase some Macs on the reef. All fish were released.

Bring on the Bream! ;D

Steve.

19-01-2004, 07:24 AM
[]it was an absolute cracker of a session and it nearly made up for not getting out there to chase some Macs on the reef. All fish were released.()

yep catching lots of bream is almost as good as chasing mackerel even when you can't catch any mackerel ;D

See jeffo, we had a top day ;D ;D

jeffo
19-01-2004, 09:00 AM
yeh my frigate made the trip rob ;D lol. sunshine coast and fish just dont mix! we will have to go and make up for it with some bills and a few mahi mahi off straddie huh?
i think i might follow your lead this arvo steve and go throw some frangers about. sounds like you guys had a top day.

Zeeke
19-01-2004, 04:54 PM
Nice work Boss, good to see your using them plastics ;) especially those deadly dropshots that bass to bream cant resist

SteveCan
19-01-2004, 09:03 PM
It was a bonus session - we had to get it in quick before leaving for the Cricket. If we hadn't had to catch that train we would have been out there for three hours - not one...

Yeah Tim - that new rod is almost identical to the one you lent me up at BP. I just couldn't go on with my old gear after using it. Now I know why ;)

Pity about the outcome of the game - but It's an awesome human experience the Cricket. Best mob I saw tonight was 20 dudes dressed up as Steve Irwin - complete with Babies! ;D ;D I'll have to post a photo later..

Steve.

craigie
20-01-2004, 01:48 PM
G'day Steve,

Great Fishing session mate !! Between you and Spike no Gold Coast fish is safe from plastics.

What makes the Live Fibre Rod so good, sounds like I need to buy another Rod ::) ;D

I was at the Cricket last night as well, saw the 'Steve Irwin' imposters and the baby and the 6 foot Croc. It was a very humerous sight ;D ;D ;D ;D
'Matt the Bat' almost saved the day for the Aussies.
Might go to tomorrows game and cheer for Zimbabway ::) :-/ ;D

Craigie.

SteveCan
20-01-2004, 04:03 PM
Hi Craigie,

Mate - the Live Fribre is good just because it is a carbon blank designed for catching bream on plastics. You get soooo much more sensitivity to the bites and you can get a really subtle action onto the lure with it. When I tried to use my old fiberglass powerstick it felt really dead and had no 'feel'.

There are many people here who have far more experience with the right type of rod for bream - People Like Spike who has been telling me to get a decent rod for ages. All I can say is that it is bloody good advice! ;)

Here is the few Steve Irwin's that I could get to stand still after the match for a brief Photo ::) It was a much more impressive sight seeing all 20 or so of them screaming their heads off!

Steve.