View Full Version : Moreton Bay Millpond

Outsider
19-01-2004, 02:15 PM
To all those who stayed at home this morning - Thank you so very, very much.

An absolutely perfect day on the bay with only TWO other boats seen until 10am - I sh*t you not!

Left Bribie at 4.30am and headed out to my favourite beacon in the bay.

1st drop of a pillie and my father, who was out with me for the first time, hooks up to something fairly sizable.

Doesn't fight like a Mack so I'm thinking some Mr Sharky action but low and behold if it wasn't a Cobe - bastard!

After I finished cursing God and my Father for playing this "great" joke on me - I'm still waiting to bag my 1st Cobe - we drop again.

It's Mack time now at the Beacons! No spotties but lots of schoolies.

Livies were hard to get - and to get whole - jigged up a procession of Slimey Mackeral Heads with several bait jiggs destroyed. Gave that up as a bad joke.

Started drifting past the beacon - on one drift about 50m off it, I was looking into the water and what do you think I saw?

Not just 1 Cobe - there were 6 of the little pranksters! Madly berlied up and dropped pillies amongst them for 2 strikes - both lost at the boat.

Spent quite some time swearing and beating my father with my 15-24kg live Fibre - felt a little better.

Cobes were hanging round but wouldn't take baits - was watching water and was suprised to see a big white Cobe about 9ft long swim straight towards my floating pillie - this Cobe had obviously had an accident when it was young and run into something cause its head was all flat and looked sorta like a hammer...

Oh crap.

Mr Big Nasty Hammerhead swam around the boat for about 5 mins and scared off Cobes, Macks and fishermen.

Couple more macks boated after his departure.

I can't stress enough how fantastic the conditions were - definately one of my best and most productive trips so far - and I swear, I will not rest until I have landed myself a Cobe (work and wife permitting).

Outsider
19-01-2004, 02:17 PM
Don't ever take anyone out with you - ever!

jeffo
19-01-2004, 02:32 PM
your old mans cobia woulda made top bait whole for that hammer!!!! ;) just dont let him see you putting a big hook through it. looks like you guys had a blast, maybe rob and i shoulda fished the bay!? >:(

19-01-2004, 02:33 PM
Jus goes to show, never , ever, trust the weather man.

Did you log onto the BoM for an update before you went out, or did you take the punt ?

Outsider
19-01-2004, 02:34 PM
One of those days I'll talk about for a while...

snappa
19-01-2004, 04:10 PM
sat nite i looked at the weather
10/15 in morning incrasing to 30
so i decided to mow the yard ..
when i got up and looked outside :o
F******************* >:( >:(
whats the weather man on because i need some
then brownie comes on the radio and reports the wind has droped out... every one good afterwwards :-/
:'( :'( :'( :'(

Outsider
19-01-2004, 04:23 PM
Normally brownie and the BOM gang up on me with false reports of "perfect" weather when in fact it's 30kn+ on a 2m swell - good to get one back on them...

Although 1 of the guys on the only other boat we saw looked alot like Ken....

snappa
19-01-2004, 05:05 PM
outsider

do you know ken (pba ken) ???

geeee your old man looks younger than you ;D ::)

the oldies can out fish the youngsters :o
NO WORRIES :-X

nofrills
19-01-2004, 05:40 PM
good on ya outsider

its a big call gettin geared up and staying sober the night before on the off chance the weatherman has stuffed up again.and for anyone who puts in the effort i reccon you deserve some good fish.
cheers scott

Outsider
20-01-2004, 02:26 PM
Thanx Scott...

Although I'm starting to think Brownie and the BOM have something going on.....saying the good days will be crap to keep the fish to themselves...

From now on I'm doing exactly what they tell me not to...dodgy so and so's.

Cloud_9
21-01-2004, 02:23 PM
did the same as snappa stayed in bed only to be rung at 10am by mate to see how i went fish this morning, seeing it was sutch a nice day >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
bastard.

Cloud 9

Outsider
22-01-2004, 04:21 PM
This weekend's looking a bit less blowy but the N/NEers are a bit of a worry!

Thunderbird
23-01-2004, 01:54 PM
G'day brook Next time I'm out that way I'll keep an eye out for "MOBYCOBES" the great white cobes. I hear he looks that way because of the mirror on his head. ;D Read the weather well mate, Have to get you to plan a couple of trips 4 me.
cheers Dr Roota

Outsider
23-01-2004, 02:59 PM
Just go when Greg says not too! :-X