View Full Version : Bay today
DaneCross
23-01-2004, 04:10 PM
Absolutely beautiful day out on the water today, glassy conditions all morning and through until around 2pm. After a reasonably late start (8am), blasted straight across the bay to the area just south of the 4 beacons in hope of finding some feeding mackerel schools. Unfortunately only found hundreds of mack tuna, after bagging one and keeping it for bait we anchored up next to one of the 4 beacons for only one run from a shark on our whole mack tuna bait.
With no fish in the esky we decided to chase flocks of birds all over the bay, trying to find a school of mackerel - but to no avail. With the wind starting to pick up from the north, the decision was made to head home. On the way home we finally found the macks working half way between Mud and Moreton. We bagged three and dropped two at the boat (+ another mack tuna). They seemed exceptionally flighty, only feeding on the surface for a few seconds at a time. There were plenty around though. All-in-all, the macks in the esky were a welcome sight at 3pm after a long hard day spent searching for them.
DC & JB
DaneCross
23-01-2004, 04:13 PM
The catch...
Good to see that Mac didn't go to waste and you had one run with the sharks! [smiley=bobby.gif]
DaneCross
23-01-2004, 04:21 PM
Good to see the 'Boys in Blue' out there keepin an eye on us young fellas too ;)
Sparks
23-01-2004, 04:45 PM
Still, beats working!!!!!!!!!!
Brissyguy
24-01-2004, 04:28 AM
Well done DC and JB. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
One day Ima gonna meet you out there Dane !!!
Rich.
NICE CATCH DC, I SPENT ALL MORNING RUNNING AROUND MUD AND NEAR MORETON DIDN;T SIGHT A THING , ALL I GOT WAS 3 SHOVEL NOSE SHARKS. I SPOTTED THE BOYS IN BLUE STOPPED AT MUD ,I THINK THEY MUST HAVE BEEN GETTING READY FOR A FISH OR PARTY THERE WERE MORE CREW THAN NORM. ON BOARD ANYWAY WE CLEANED OUT THE COBWEBS ON THE GEAR [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
DaneCross
24-01-2004, 06:14 AM
Yeh Rich you definitly sold that boat just a couple of weekends too early. Not to worry though, I'm sure a bloody perfect day will come around again :P ;)
Hi Merv, yeh the morning session was very frustrating - we'd spot a flock of birds working, tear over only to find small mack tuna or bonito >:( We had a few tense moments when we couldn't find our flares for the police - safety plus I know ::) :-/, took a few minutes to sift through the life jackets and cob webs before we found the goods [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
YES DC I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN ABOUT LOOKING FOR ALL THAT SAFETY GEAR, I JUST PURCHASED A RFD WATER PROOF CONTAINER FOR $14.00 HOLDS FLARES, EBIRB, V SHEET,PLUS MIRROR AND CIGY LIGHTER.I JUST KEEP IT UNDER THE BOW, SO NOW I KNOW WHERE TO FIND IT ,BETTER STILL SO DOES THE CREW.
DaneCross
24-01-2004, 07:49 AM
Hi Merv,
Yeh, the time taken to find my gear yesterday definitly got me thinking of better ways - your container being the best. Where'd you pick it up from? I'll grab one this arvo before tomoro's off-shore run. A first-aid kit would be good too.
Dane
GOT MINE FROM SUNDOWN MARINE AT REDCLIFFE BUT I WAS TALKING TO CUNNINGHAMS MARINE ,THE GUY THERE TOLD ME THEY SELL THERES FOR $10.00 BUT HE WAS OUT OF STOCK THAT WAS ON TUESDAY HE SAID THEY WOULD HAVE MORE IN BY FRIDAY (TODAY)PH32842342.HOPE THIS HELPS. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
brad_watts
24-01-2004, 11:41 AM
They should have locked you up and thrown away the key dc thats not good enough mate hehehe looking forward to tomorrow what time will you be there, if you want a container i can get one for ya at dougs this arvo if you tell me what you want?
DaneCross
24-01-2004, 12:09 PM
Nah its cool mate, I'll grab one. Thanks anyway ;) We'll be out around 7am tomoro, bring your camera ;D
24-01-2004, 01:02 PM
that tip of the spotties east of mud was appreciated DC, put a couple on ice on the way home today, weather was even better than yesterday if thats possible :o
craigie
24-01-2004, 01:10 PM
Yes, that tip may help me out tomorrow. All I need is the phone call tonight to say I'm on board :-/
Wish my new boat would hurry up and be delivered, I'm itching to start spilling Mackerel blood all over it ;D
How good does the weather look for the next 3 days ;D ;D ;D ;D.
xxxxhornet
24-01-2004, 02:07 PM
Hey all,
We chased macks all over the top part of the bay today between bribie and cowan cowan - quite a few large schools in the shipping channels withing 100mt of any of the beacons, but very flighty. Couldnt get a touch.....got a massive grinner though!
Beautiful day - flattened out after the change in tide in the morning with hardly a breath of wind. working till 1am now tonight, but who cares - rather be tired than not fishin!! ;)
DaneCross
24-01-2004, 02:10 PM
Glad to be of service fellas :D Now all I need is for someone to return the favour and tell me where I can get onto them tomorrow off the Gold Coast :P
xxxxhornet
24-01-2004, 02:13 PM
G'day DC,
Havent been down there, but here occasionally on the grapevine that Palm Beach reef is worth a shot,