View Full Version : Mullet Mayhem (I was bored ok)

Reefmaster
27-12-2003, 03:04 PM
Gday
After our Offshore Double Island Point trip has been blown out and i was bored out of my brain,a mate and i decided to head down to fresh water creek this afternoon behind my place at Alexhills Brisbane which joins up to hillards creek. With a bucket full of alcoholic drinks ;D and bread we headed down to get our selfs some big mullet. After a little berly(bread) we were soon catching big mullet. (i cant beleive i am doing a report on bloody mullet, how bad is that. But hey we killed sometime and had a ball ::)) We caught about 12 big mullet and several poddys as well. I got busted off twice by someting big and fast which i would say was Catfish. So if you or your kids want to fish and you dont want to worry about the weather blowing, go and try a fresh or saltwater creek and get some mullet for bait or fun. And it wont break the budget either. Method was a float with 20cm of trace, small long shank hook and only small amounts of bread as they will tend to swallow small bits and only suck the bigger bits
Cheers Greg

Reefmaster
27-12-2003, 03:07 PM
and heres some more

27-12-2003, 03:08 PM
Greg that is a great mullet, all you need is a bit more hair out the back and you will be the kingmullet 8) keep them for shark bait, another good way to pass a boring day :D

Reefmaster
27-12-2003, 03:11 PM
and some more

Reefmaster
27-12-2003, 03:13 PM
thanks rob i put the post on for you mate ;D

Reefmaster
27-12-2003, 03:15 PM
This one is for you phill and webby
Roota with his biggest yet

damons33
27-12-2003, 03:19 PM
hey greg,that looks like a stonka! i would love to have a shot at it on 1kg/2kg they pull like trucks river mullet it looks over a 1kg easy! well done i will have to look it up on the refedex, happy new year! damon

jeffo
27-12-2003, 03:23 PM
ahhhhhhhhhh ahahaha. i cant see any burbon cans in those pics greg ;D wheres the one you said you'd get on plastics ;D

27-12-2003, 03:50 PM
Bit below your class mate, some people do get desperate to have a fish.
Forget the mullet next time just drink the cans, make the bread into soggy dough and throw it at roota, that would have been more exciting.
theres a old saying when the womans away the "Mullet" will play ;D
And you even had the gall to take photos of you catch, they'll look good in next months write up. ;D
You could have came out here and chased guppies in the dam.
Whats on the agenda tomorrow catfish and eels ;D

27-12-2003, 03:56 PM
Mullet, Mullet everywhere.

Mullet, Mullet in my hair !

A bad days fishing beats .........etc etc

jewies
27-12-2003, 04:05 PM
i wouldnt mind catching a few of them and sticking an 8/0 through the nose supended under a balloon with a wire trace

River whalers here i come :)

snappa
27-12-2003, 05:07 PM
maybe the bait for reds at d/i

Cloud_9
30-12-2003, 01:57 PM
i can remember going to local creek in beenleigh and catching spangled perch on worms i dug from garden great fun on 2lb line
and catching the same fish 2 and 3 times , mans gota doo what a mans gota doo [smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=gossip.gif]

Daintreeboy
30-12-2003, 02:39 PM
I'm pretty keen on giving that a go. I've been thinking about it for years now. It looks cool!! They taste good too.

jewies
30-12-2003, 04:27 PM
the fish look in very good conditions

01-01-2004, 06:36 AM
Hey Reefmaster,

thanks for the tip. I went down there with Damon yesterday for a look and a fish. Don't know whether we found the same spot you were fishing - pretty tight on the bank and the creek wasn't as wide as we thought it might have been.

Anyway we were fishing 1 kg line for fun. Damon got a couple of smaller mullet and got rubbed off in the weed by a larger fish. I managed one of 0.75 kg which was alot of fun but didn't fight as hard as I expected. Not quite an ANSA masters fish - maybe next time.

jeffo
01-01-2004, 11:42 AM
mullet have a fighting factor of 1 dont they>? from memory.

imnotoriginal
02-01-2004, 06:36 AM
It's the fight of what you can catch when you use them as bait that's more important ;)
Joel

jeffo
02-01-2004, 06:43 AM
joel-not when you have 9 masters fish and need one more to get your masters. a 1kg mullet on 1kg line is worth its weight in gold! ;D would my masters fish still stand if i was to re join a sportfishing club>? i had 8 when i left.

damons33
02-01-2004, 12:44 PM
hell yeah jeffo! and the mullet did put on a show its' just jeremy hooked a odd fish what ran out of pucker in about 5minutes althought it did get caught up in weed(this could of caused a case of oxygen deprivation!) but broke free with the line still intacked!
you have those fish recorded in your old club so i cant see anybody knocking it back
damon

Sean
02-01-2004, 09:21 PM
I don't see the problem with going out and catching mullet for a bit of fun on light line, after all isn't that why we fish, I remember a time when I was casting at schools of bonito and we had caught too many to count, all I wanted to get was a tailor, they don't fight as hard but just getting something different was good..... or is everyone here just Mackeral, mackeral, ohh......lets see ah. mackeral and tomorow we will catch...mackeral.just my opinion :)

jeffo
03-01-2004, 03:56 AM
every one here just after mackeral>? :-/ me thinks not!! ;D they are top fun to catch and gret to eat so what better to chase when they are around, but they are not the be all and end all of the site and i am not quite sure where you got that idea from :-/. i have spent countless hours on the rockwalls here chasing bonito and tailor. fishin is fishin! :D

Reefmaster
04-01-2004, 11:53 AM
Gday
Jeremy/Damon good to see you went and gave it a go. What part of the creek did you fish? Was it in the park on the northern side of the main road or the other side.
Some spots have weed that extends out for some way which makes things hard. Fishing in the afternoon will see alot more fish caught most times. I just came back from a week at Fraser Is and didnt even wet aline due to a good 25 knots and over wind that blew all week i should have stayed and made a Mullet Mayhem 2 ;D ::)
I reckon webby will pay to come catch these great specimens ;D hey Brian ;)

06-01-2004, 03:34 AM
Reefmaster,

I'll have to check my refidex and get back to you on that.

07-01-2004, 03:34 AM
I parked in Grosvenor Drive and walked through a park to get to the creek. It was only around 10 m wide there. Is this where you fish Greg?

Captian_Zero
07-01-2004, 03:46 PM
I'm thinking about trying one of the local creeks where I have seen the mullet jumping.

What size hooks do you use?

CZ

08-01-2004, 03:10 AM
I used about size 10 hooks, and I prefer suecide or beak to long shank. Too small a hook and you will just keep pulling it out of their mouths. Would suggest using a very small float so the mullet do not feel any resistance.

fisherman_charles
08-01-2004, 05:14 AM
it looks like you had tons of fun,how heavy was your trace

jeffo
08-01-2004, 07:30 AM
hey guys, if you havent allready done so try the mustad "sneck" hooks. they work really well when a small hook is required! charles i am not sure on these guys but the lightest trace possible (in all fishing situations) if you can get away with 1kg then use it!

Reefmaster
08-01-2004, 05:25 PM
Jeremy im not sure about that park you fished in but the map i have posted is the spot. anywhere around the shown creek area is good.

Captain Zero i tend to only use small long shank hooks for mullet as i found the hook up rate to be far better then other hooks
Cheers Greg

landy1
08-01-2004, 05:28 PM
Your a mad bunch, map didnt work, if its the park im thinking off you must get some strange looks. Take a standup rig nextime for a few laughs. Even better if youve got a mate pulling furiously on the other end.

Reefmaster
08-01-2004, 05:28 PM
can not get the map on here but its off sturgeon st ormiston Fellmonger park i think :-/

09-01-2004, 03:22 AM
Thanks Greg. I'll probably have another look next time it is blowing - shouldn't be too long!! LOL!

fisherman_charles
09-01-2004, 04:50 AM
how long where you fishen for?? :)

09-01-2004, 07:29 AM
Charlie,

if your query is directed at me, I was there for just over an hour.

fisherman_charles
09-01-2004, 08:17 AM
cool are they easy to get

Reefmaster
09-01-2004, 01:23 PM
Charles i normaly fish in the afternoon for around 2 hours. The afternoon normally sees them being more active. The big mullet are easily caught but the small ones can just suck the bait and make fishing frustrating
Cheers Greg

Captian_Zero
09-01-2004, 03:45 PM
Thanks Greg

I bought some size 10 long shank hooks. Was going to give the creek a go this afternoon/evening but the weather closed in. I won't tell you which creek until after i have given it a go, but if sucessful I will let you all know. if I don't post anything you know I have failed.

CZ

Captian_Zero
09-01-2004, 03:49 PM

Is this where you mean?(I hope the picture works otherwise have a look here:

http://www.whereis.com.au/search/result.jhtml;$sessionid$PTJ4PQ4B4NI2NS0Z2WKSDTA?_D ARGS=%2Fsearch%2Fsearch.jhtml.2

Reefmaster
09-01-2004, 05:02 PM
Thats it mate ;)

Thunderbird
09-01-2004, 06:32 PM
Minced mullet great to eat
Minced mullet tastes so sweet
Mincing mullet is so much fun
Minced mullet for everyone

Turn the handle to & fro
Minced mullet down they go

Head, scales, guts the lot
Throw it all in one big pot

That's the secret of mullet stew
Guaranteed to make you spew
:)

damons33
11-01-2004, 05:23 AM
hahaaaa :D

golfer69
28-01-2004, 06:06 AM
Reefy,

Many many thanks for the tip mate.
I took the young fella down there on Monday arvo about 4:00 and had great fun for a couple of hours. We parken in the park and walked down near that wooden bridge. Every cast had interest, and the young bloke pulled in a pretty decent mullet. Couldn't get the smile off his face. We're rank amateurs so even though its only a mullet, we had a fun couple of hours.
Will certainly be keeping an eye out for other mullet mayhem spots down the Gold Coast.

G69