View Full Version : M & G alternative
01-02-2004, 10:26 AM
As reported, the M & G to Bradburys was cancelled, and just as well. Webby reported to me that boats were washed ashore and damage to that area in the storm that hit on Friday night.
So, it was of to the Gold Coast for us.
Fellow Ausfishers, Reefmaster, Outsider, Sav, Craigie, Spike2 and others were found there doing their thing. Craigie and Sav having spent the night in the area donged some ripper Whiting up the river.
I hit the ramp at 5 and ventured w.o.t to Narrowneck Artificial reef where we found Yakka and Bonito on the chew. Plenty came aboard and even had a Quadruple hookup with Bonito on the bait jig. End of that jig. The water was not as clear as usual, probably due to rain ( ya think Phill ? ).
Spent until 9am there and went back to the Seaway to chack on the others. Nothing much doing, I drifted with livies and was tossing slugs etc, but none. I did see a young fella boat a nice jew, maybe 6kg from the middle of the Seaway Mouth.
The wind had started to rear it's head so I pulled the pin around 10 and went home. In all 48 Yakka, 1 Pike, 14 Bonito a Squire and a Tarwhine. We also had a visit from the Water Police doing the safety gear thing. I had to get in first Spike :P, I'll let Spike explain that one !
Also saw 1 boat get a ticket for NO Flares ( and he was offshore ), The Water Police told me the ticket ( fine ) will stand if the boat owner does not buy flares within 14 days. And saw another boat move over to meet the W.P and actually ramed the side of the boat. ::) How does he feel !
That wind that came in would have pounded us at Bradburys Beach on Straddie, so the decision to defer was good. That means that next week the M & G is still on at Straddie.
cya's then, Phill
jaybee
01-02-2004, 11:46 AM
so u having yakkas for tea then phil. ROFLMAO. seriously they are good eating eh. I've eaten me bait before. try sushimie yuummmmoooo.
Joe
Big_Kev
01-02-2004, 12:15 PM
I've eaten me bait before.
Yukk Joe.
Big_Kev
01-02-2004, 12:17 PM
The coming weekend sounds like the got to me Phil.
Hoping for the good weather. And the Big fish.
Cheers Kev.
01-02-2004, 01:20 PM
NO Joe, I won't be eating them.
I'll be using them on Sunday for fresh bait offshore the sunnie coast.
Phill :P ;D ;) 8)
jaybee
01-02-2004, 01:29 PM
phil if u r going off sunshine coast u can catch some fresh ones eh, eat ya bait, don't be shy, fillet them take out the pin bones, a bit of lemon n lime juice yuummmooo eh, ask sharkbait, u wuss
Joe
Outsider
01-02-2004, 01:36 PM
Reefy and I did a little better....
But not much.
Scored a flattie in the Seaway on a pillie, and Reefy nailed 2 of these small sharks and an "unknown" that headed for the open ocean at a great rate of knots once hooked and couldn't be stopped.
Did manage to come home with a livewell full of yakkas - should be nice and stinky by tomorrow - heading up to Bribie for a 4am launch.
My first trip to the Goldy and it wasn't too bad.
Outsider
01-02-2004, 01:37 PM
Scotish Prince sounder - Yakkas ahoy!
Outsider
01-02-2004, 01:38 PM
Seaway Flattie
Outsider
01-02-2004, 01:39 PM
Reefy's reef shark
01-02-2004, 01:44 PM
looks like a grey nurse ;D your in big trouble boys 8)
Gorilla_in_Manila
01-02-2004, 01:58 PM
Phil,
Go on, eat some of your bait.
Try this with a couple of your bonito:
2 Bonito - fillet and skin, remove all bones, and cut into 1cm x 2cm strips
1 big white onion - diced
2 cloves garlic - diced fine or crushed
1 Tablespoon fresh Ginger - finely diced
4 small red chillis - finely diced
2 teaspoons salt
black pepper to taste
White vinegar
Combine all except vinegar in bowl and mix. Pour vinegar over until all is covered by about 1cm of vinegar. Leave it for about 30minutes and it will be cured by the vinegar, stir it every 10 minutes or so to make sure all the fish gets exposed to the vinegar. No cooking required.
Remove all from vinegar and eat. (have a cold beer handy ;D)
Called Kinilaw if your interested.
Jeff
sharkbait
01-02-2004, 02:27 PM
jaybee - i dont mind sashimi but yakkas? speak for yourself! lol ;D
01-02-2004, 03:11 PM
My recipe fro Bonito goes something like this.
break backbone, place 3 x 10/0 VMC 9255p/s hooks along the top, troll at 6knots or slower off the sunnie coast, and hang on !
As for the Yakka.
Cut off tail, slice either side of backbone, remove back bone, place on 2 x 6/0 9255p/s VMC's and float them over Currimundi Reef. Butterflied Yakka, favourite food of XOS Grassies and Snapper.
<>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <><
Tommorow looks the grouse for a pre-dawn sortie guys, go to it !
Phill ( non-eater of uncooked fush )
jaybee
01-02-2004, 03:19 PM
kris yakkas taste like whiting in my opinion however u do em ;D phil is just a wus eh, needs to take his lycras off, take a deep breath n try some raw fish, he will never look back, what u reckon ROFLMAO
Joe
jaybee
01-02-2004, 03:22 PM
Hey phil how u do those pretty red fish ???
spike2
01-02-2004, 03:44 PM
yep fished today with luck phil and craigie had a top day weather was very good , craigie got his whiting and phil got heaps of bait , my mate and l caught a mixed bag of taylor , dart , bonito , small squire , but never got the big kingie or jewie we were targeting although we did see a guy pull in two good jew from the north wall of the gold coast seaway
have to give phil a special thanks for telling the water police l was wanted in three states , luck for me they thought you were jocking phil , any way got a few photos bring on next week ;D
ps stoped at new pub on way home at enterance to sanctuary cove got a six pack as a traveller and found them luke warm not happy jan >:(
cheerrs spike
spike2
01-02-2004, 03:45 PM
and another taylor on popper good fun
Hi guys
To add to the report, Craigie and I had no luck jigging for king fish or GT's in the seaway. Even had a shot at jigging plastics for flathead - no go.
As a first timer to the seaway, I can't imagine any fish wanting to get in there on a weekend with the thousand plus jet skies and 20+ footers roaring through.
I'll give it a go again during the week sometime.
The guy who caught the 2 jew got them on live herring so we'll take the cast net with us next time.
We did have a good night on Friday in the Nerang and caught some great whiting. The storm just missed us so was worth the trip.
Great to catch up with a few AusFishers.
See you next time
Sav
craigie
03-02-2004, 01:39 PM
Yes as Sav said, the storms of Friday night just avoided our Nerang River anchorage. The light show was full on and a bit of a concern with graphite rods on-board, but all we got was a couple of minutes of rain.
The Whiting Fishing were very slow but what we did catch was quality, included were two thumping 'Elbow Slappers' 40+ cm each :o :o :o (Sorry no pics, the film is still in the camera).
Craig.