View Full Version : Spew-Free Sunday - Codzilla Returns

Outsider
04-02-2004, 01:54 PM
Left Bribie at 4.30am and headed out with Reefy on board.

Westerly blowing about 5-10kn as we headed across to my fav beacon right on high tide. No-one else in sight when we pulled up which was unfortunate as they missed seeing Reefy pull in our only Spottie for the day... on a Bait Jig!!!

Not many livies around but the yakkas we got were huge.

Gave up and had a bite to eat. As we drifted along I finished my sandwich and threw a piece of crust over the side. Watching it drift gently away and what should happen...school of about 8-10 cobes all fighting over it.

Action stations - 2 pillies rigged and dropped for a double hook up. We're both pissing ourselves laughing as 2 just undersized cobes come aboard.

Headed out to Reefy's spot and scored a Morwong each and another monster cod - 119cm long. All were released and swam away due to the shallow depth of wter they were caught in.

Fish went off the bight about 11am so we headed out to Hutchies for a troll around. Got 1 Mac Tuna for our trouble.

Heaps of gameboats about 2kms SE of the Cape doing laps but didn't appear to be getting anything.

All up a fantastic looking day with some decent fish boated.

And most importantly...I kept all my insides from getting ouside!

Outsider
04-02-2004, 01:57 PM
Morwong

Outsider
04-02-2004, 02:02 PM
Monster Cod

Outsider
04-02-2004, 02:03 PM
Mac Tuna

Reefmaster
04-02-2004, 02:45 PM
great weather but the macs woudnt play the game after throwing slugs, pillies and live bait around i caught one on a frigging bait jig. i jagged him in the tail and i thought i had a whale on my light gear ;D. The biggest cobe went 73cm unfortunatly but still good fun. Another big cod came aboard but unfortunatly i received a gash on my pinkie as you can see in the pics which has resulted in 2 days of pain and half of today at the doctors opening my finger up to clean the infection and any unwanted bits that could have been in there. Silly me said not to worry about anaesthetic and i nearly drop dead with pain. :( got X-rays and i was on my way. Bloody cod got his revenge ;D Good to see outsider didnt get sick this trip and if he did i reckon a good kick out the back of his boat was in order as the conditions were unreal. ;D
Cheers Greg

Ps The morwong did go back into the water. Good fighter but crap eating as most would know

04-02-2004, 02:49 PM
Don't kow about that Morwong Theory , Greg, JayBee eats Yakka !

Phill ;D ;) ??? ::)

Reefmaster
04-02-2004, 02:53 PM
well i reckon you would have to pretty hard up for a feed of fish to eat either ;D
Cheers Greg

vertico
04-02-2004, 03:27 PM
wouldnt mind getting onto a few of those big cod and morwong for fun
any help on locations aroudn the northern moreton would be appreciated
thanks

snappa
04-02-2004, 03:42 PM
hi reefy

when i get cuts or spikes i usually rub vicks vapour rub into them after opening them up with a needle
well its my theory and it WORKS ::)

Reefmaster
05-02-2004, 03:52 AM
Gday Vertico
yeah there top fun to catch when fishing is slow else where. Its hard to give you the area of this spot as its about the size of a house and in very shallow water. The spot is surrounded by sand for miles which makes me think it could be a wreck or maybe its just a rock formation in a strange spot. As most know the cod and morwong hang around overhangs/caves so the best i can do for you is to keep a very close eye on the sounder and any decent structure you see go and drop a live bait down and you maybe surprised. As you can understand i cant give you a location as everyone would soon find it as its in a very high boat traffic area.

Snappa usaully after a decent fishing trip i put my hands in bleach and that kills the infection quickly. I might have to try the vicks vapour rub but. Or maybe i mite be less stubbon and take a little more care when a fish is on board but to me thats wasting time and i just want to get the line down asap ;D
Cheers Greg

Daintreeboy
05-02-2004, 06:05 AM
metholated spirits also works to kill any nastys. :)

vertico
05-02-2004, 04:40 PM
thanks reefmaster , I know for a fact that good spots should be kept to ones self