View Full Version : northern bay
01-03-2004, 02:12 PM
What a ripper of a day [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] headed out with mick and billo to the cape and ran into countless tuna, after a couple of hours of action, 6 mortally wounded were in the esky and another 11 had been released, they were between 3 and 6 kilos.
headed up to the trench for the tide change and some marlin fishing but we ran into the spotties :o it was the sort of day you couldnt miss ;D, the 15 spottie limit was reached so we started letting them go, triple hookups were the norm and it was just one of those rare days on the bay when you lose count :o ;D
jeffo
01-03-2004, 02:23 PM
must have found the only school robbo... >:( i searched from here to half way down bribie... saw a couple get caught at hamiltons patches but they were few and far between so i opted to bash a few reefies, theyll go well on the pan this evening 8)
DaneCross
01-03-2004, 03:00 PM
UGGGHH! Couldn't find a spottie to save us today :'( Awesome day on the water though [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
aquarius
01-03-2004, 03:02 PM
Hi Rob.......passed you this morning on our way to Manly.....think you were on your way home.......mate you sure know how to find those macks....(Will have to come and see how its done Mr Mackmauler style..lol)
There,s nothing better than a day out on Moreton Bay when the conditions are perfect......even better when you get a bag limit of macks.
Cheers Brent
01-03-2004, 03:08 PM
DC, what area were you fishn? Brent, we would of been picking up Mick, launched at bribie, pulled the lines in about 3pm and caught fish all day long, it was in the end enough action to pull up the keenest..cheers rob
Sportfish_5
01-03-2004, 03:12 PM
Mack - Saw you out near the M1 and 2 early this morning. As you said it was a great day. Spent 4-5 hrs just chasing one huge school of spotties/tuna. On the boil everywhere and not boat shy at all.
What a ball. The boat is a freakin mess - blood every where ;D
01-03-2004, 03:18 PM
Yep I saw some nice boats around there and the beacons didnt fire up when we were there, there must of been plenty of fish around as there were no boats in site when we found our motherload, top fun aint it ;D
DaneCross
01-03-2004, 03:19 PM
We headed out from Manly and headed for Tangalooma for a snorkel, the rods were on board but not the primary purpose. Came across a heap of small tuna/bonito boiling, just off tangas, didn't see any spots though :( Spose, we didn't really go out of our way to find them either :-/ Seems like further north was the place to be.
01-03-2004, 03:22 PM
trying to get the flyline out from under the feet LMAO, fish everwhere!
Brissyguy
01-03-2004, 03:47 PM
Congrats Rob,
Like they say mate... Some days are diamonds...
Rich.
sharkbait
01-03-2004, 09:33 PM
??? BS!! fly on the ss_mackmauler its not you rob but still...??? good to see you guys got into them, sounds like the report we got wasnt quite spot on, bit north than expected?
02-03-2004, 09:28 AM
we used my slugs most of the time ;D dont have anything against the fly. it is hard work to get the fish though and there are easier and less painless ways to get body piercings :o top report that, just in time as well, ;D
craigie
02-03-2004, 09:54 AM
Well done Rob, might have to follow you next time ::) ;D How far from the cape did you encounter the Spot's ? Did you find the smaller slugs worked the best or did they just eat everything ?
I was out both days searching the bay for mack's. Mainly worked the area between the sand hills and Tangas. Plenty of Tuna were sighted but only one was hooked( and lost within 10 sec :'()
I went as far north as Combie Point bashing beacons and chasing schools, sounds like I should have kept going a bit further.
Towed a big 'Haines' to the beach near Tangas, bloke said he could smell his engine burning :o ??? Hope he got home o.k ???
Awesome day on the water yesterday, did about 100 k's running around the bay.
Cheers Craig.
DaneCross
02-03-2004, 10:08 AM
Gday Craig,
I thought I saw a red flash out there off tangas heading north yesterday ;) I thought about chasing after you to say hi and to ask if you'd found any but knew we'd never catch the Cyclone ;D
Those tuna were super hard to get y'day, the bait they were feeding on was too tiny, couldn't find a lure to match :-/ Man I hate those frustrating buggers.
02-03-2004, 12:26 PM
Hi Craig, you must of been keen to go out saturday ::) sunday was a stunner, did u get the hammer down once or twice ;D the bite was better in the rougher water just west of the trench about 15k north, we had some good swells roll through a few times :o the spotties were scattered in amongst the mactuna as well, youd of thought a few would of been on down south ??? the standard slug was on the menu with gold and silver both producing, interesting the fish around the algae patches were less keen to bite.
ps, had to start making more
02-03-2004, 12:29 PM
slug from yesterday
DaneCross
02-03-2004, 01:16 PM
Re-stocking for this weekends sale hey Rob ;D ;) That one you used yesterday looks thrashed :o Looks like you were pretty much throwing a flat sinker through them!
sharkbait
02-03-2004, 01:59 PM
Rob I cant figure out how you are getting them so uniform in size, most of mine still have a slight 'coffin' shape. do you file them down once you bash em? I've found that the less you hit them the better, ie if you hammer them for too long they go soft and out of shape. mine are working but theres no doubt the perfect rectangle ones swim the best.
adriancorrea
02-03-2004, 02:01 PM
Well done Rob
Should have said Id come up that way when you told me you were heading up north.
Anyway there were definately no action down the southern part of the bay, Just a glorious day out in the bay.
Fished wello from 3am til about 7:30am and then headed across to harrys and finished there for a total catch of 4 sweetlip biggest 39cms and 2 mosses perch.
A few sharks down at wello lots of fun.
Couldnt believe how glassed out the bay was.
Tight Lines
Adrian
02-03-2004, 02:01 PM
yeah DC it was the lucky slug, around 6 are MIA, if you get 10 macks out of a slug your doing well, can always repaint it though the teeth marks make it a convincing choice for next time ;)
Kris, nup dont file em, will have a chat to you and sort it out.
craigie
02-03-2004, 02:59 PM
DC,
I was keeping my eye's open for all the Ausfish boys, with a magnificent flat Bay I was sure we would all be out there somewhere, sorry I missed seeing you. Saw a fair bit of Tuna activity between the 4 Beacons and Tangas, even saw a guy land a nice Longtail just north of Tangas, not sure what method he was using.
Just got the word from a few mates that were anchored at the measured mile that the 'Schoolies' were on the job. landed 6 but lost twice as many to bite-off's etc. All caught on pillies.
G'day Rob,
Saturday was a short day, bloody uncomfortable going over to the Sandhills.
The morning south wester slopped the bay up. Was ploughing my way to the Beacons until I went down into the gully of two steep ones and 'Torpedoed' my way through the second wave. A big wall of 'Green Liquid' launched over the bow and jammed us back in our seats, reckon I could have body surfed it back over the transom, ya gotta love scuppers ;D ;D Headed straight for the ramp after that.
How good was Sunday, got the hammer down a couple of times, 5700 revs equates to about 40 knots in the Cyclone, I'm happy with that 8) 8).
You've done it again Rob, no one else found a spottie yet you guys were 'polling' them, have you ever thought of setting up a charter buisness.
Would I be right in saying you caught the fish, North of Combie Point and North West of 'Hutchies' ???
Craig.
02-03-2004, 04:17 PM
Hi Craig, lol thats a fair dinkum boat test ;D We werent the only ones to find em sportfish was into them too, Kris helped out with a report and the crew had good eyes to spot em so wasnt all my doing, would set up a charter tomorrow but to much bad weather here :( think west of hutchies and youd be close.
MICHAELG
02-03-2004, 04:25 PM
how long does it take you run out there in yours from bribie?
I went over to Tanga's with my son, actually did not try that hard, decided to sit on beach & have a beer, watch the world go by, that sort of day
michael
02-03-2004, 04:37 PM
Gday Michael, rarely ever gone straight to the trench, to many fish on the way ;D it would be at least an hour on a (bad) ::) day.
Billo
03-03-2004, 08:51 AM
Finally got my password / login name soughted ...and back on the boards !!!
Yes ...top day ! Pitty we really couldn't get them close enough to flick a fly down the throat ...maybe next time ....just too much and too small a bait fish around .
Still a hell of a lot of fun on the spin ! ;D
DaneCross
03-03-2004, 04:05 PM
:o Craigie, sounds crazy! I can imagine it too after seeing you launch a couple of times the Sunday before last, a well timed dive into a trench and I can imagine the green wall coming over the bow ;D
Billo
03-03-2004, 05:26 PM
Hey Sharkbait ...i just saw your reply about the fly gear ....and i know what your saying :o ???
It isn't too wasy to work with ...especially with 3 in the boat ...I feel a bit iffy using it as i don't want to be piercing the other lads but luckily not yet .
Not the first time with Rob on the fly either ...
We were doing quite darn well with the dollies on the fly gear early season .....
The intention is for a nice Bluefin on fly before this seasons out ! 8)
I try not to use it too much because it impares their casting ability.....i normally wait till everyone has had some good fish first !
But.,.....the fish keep coming in hey Rob ;D ALL GOOD
sharkbait
03-03-2004, 05:44 PM
yeah go the fly billo, just thought mackmauler wasnt into it . One day I will give it a go (when I can afford to) plenty of times we have said "...gee i reckon a fly would make all the difference here"
03-03-2004, 06:08 PM
Its hard enough catching fish with the standard method hey Kris! ;D fly just holds no interest for me but its great to check out different methods, always learning as they say..hope you get your goal billo thats what its about.
michael_Brewer
03-03-2004, 06:33 PM
hey there,
Boys what an awesome trip once again. I have never seen schools so jam packed together in my life, the were just squashin eachother..... amazing how in all that rawkus....... we still couldn't get a hit.... didn't even jag one of the bastards. But By far MY BEST days fishin. An unbeleivable outcome! thanks rob and billo i had a great time.
not lookin to shiite hot for the weekend rob.... 35 to 45kts on friday???????????? speaks for itself!!!!!
cheers again boys