View Full Version : Surfing the Bay Saturday morning 20th March
aquarius
21-03-2004, 11:40 AM
Hi guys......Took fisherman02 for a sortie to Harry's for some bottom bashing with reef jigs.......Swell was 1 metre plus which made Jack think about what he just ate for breaky....lol
15 to 20 knots made the fishing very tough.......We gave up and headed back to Wello surfing most of the way..lol
Anchored up there and started to burley......not a bite.....strong S/E and wind against tide...bugger!!!.
Both of us watched as a red boat headed out across the bay........That thing was airbourne at one stage.......Jack and i looked at each other and said (hey thats Craige in his cyclone)sure enough after waving out to him he came over for a chat.......Craige you should get a pair of wings for that beast.......i reckon you could just about fly..lol
We left Craige at Wello and motored off for some deep water jigging around Green......Jack scores a small squire and that was about it for the morning apart from a couple of shovel nose........Pity the water was so choppy as we intended to hit the 4 beacons.......but as they say always next time.
It took us 30 minutes to get from Harry,s to Wello........Lucky we had side covers to keep us dry!!!!!!!could have done with windscreen wipers..lol.
Cheers Brent :D
jeffo
21-03-2004, 12:24 PM
when you say "deep water jigging" how deep are we talking?
aquarius
21-03-2004, 01:47 PM
Hi Jeffo.........Some area's around Harry,s the depth is 20 metres +........Green around 7 metres.
Was trying out some new Black Magic jigs i bought while on holidays in NZ last week.
Will have to wait for better weather conditions to give them a proper workout.
Cheers Brent
jeffo
21-03-2004, 02:11 PM
sounds great brent. i have often thought about trying the jigs when the squire are about... but its hard to change tactics when your onto a good thing.. ill have to try them this winter once my bag limit is up. also want to try some soft plasctics on them as well.
aquarius
21-03-2004, 02:35 PM
Jeffo these handmade jigs produce good catches of snapper so i was told by the NZ fishos.
To sweeten them up a bit add a small piece of bait.
Cheers Brent
bazzaman
21-03-2004, 03:57 PM
Gday Brent!
Mate not a very good forecast for today unfortunately for you! Sorry bout last nites phone call was havn a few drinks with a mate and chasn women ::) ::) :P :o :o at indro hotel! Was very loud and couldnt hear very well as you found out! We ve gotta tee a trip up real soon two boats always better than one! Next Sunday might be a goer but ill keep in touch for a trip!!
aquarius
21-03-2004, 05:16 PM
No problem Shane........catch up with ya soon mate for that trip to the beacons.......gotta get a good forecast sooner or latter.
Cheers Brent ;) :D ;D
adriancorrea
21-03-2004, 06:12 PM
Hi Brent
What time where you at wello?
I was there from 4am till about 11am.
Total catch for the day was 16 fish, 1 shark, 2 shovel nose and 1 stingray.
Not one of the fish were keepers :( >:(
But had a great time just being out.
And dont worry Jack, Dave and I felt abit green during the morning.
Was going to head for harrys but I knew the trip home was going to be rough, wasnt to bad at 4am but worse as the day got on.
Shame I missed you guys.
Tight Lines
Adrian
aquarius
22-03-2004, 03:50 AM
Hi Adrian.......We arrived at Wello around 9am.......didn't see many boats in that vacinity at all.
I know your boat well but you must have been either in close or way up towards Ormiston reef.
Sorry we missed you mate......Gee 16 fish wasn't bad.....must have kept you interested for awhile hoping for the big one to come along........I never have luck at Wello when conditions are rough.
I had promised Jack a trip out so even though we had no keepers to take home i think he was happy to just be out on the water.
Cheers Brent ;D :) ;)
adriancorrea
22-03-2004, 06:47 PM
Thats it Brent being out there is the bonus.
Yeh I was down the other end at about 9am and about then was when we moved over to half way between wello and green.
And yes your right thats what kept us there.
Tight Lines
Adrian
craigie
23-03-2004, 01:02 PM
Brent,
Very ordinary morning to be out in the bay eh !!
I think your boat handled the chop better than mine, your hull and bow may have a bit more weight in it to power through waves. My boat is light in the bow and just wants to launch skywards off the top of each wave :o :o, or am I just trying to go too fast ??? :-/. Would have enjoyed the comfort of your cabin and clears ;D ;D.
I headed back to manly boat harbour not long after you and Jack went to green Is. Spent a couple of leisurely hrs idling around the harbour, looking for a boat to retire aboard.
Think I saw you guys cruise past about 11.00am ???
No Fish for me !!!!
Craig.
aquarius
23-03-2004, 04:19 PM
Yes Craig sure was an ordinary day alright.......We thought you may have headed back in.......Some of those waves over between Green and St Helena would have been great for the surfers..lol.
Hey you could always put a couple of bags of sand up the bow to keep that rocket from getting airbourne..lol
You are spot on in that the haines has some weight throughout......Still got a battering coming back from Harry's..lol........Think i will leave it to the 6metre plus boats on a forecast of 15 to 20 knots in the future.
Cheers Brent