View Full Version : Mac Fever at Bruns
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:33 AM
Went to Bruns wednesday, too late in the arvo to venture out however we were on the suds at 5.45 am Thurs, back home at the van by 9 am with our bag limit (15). Friday was even better, had 9 in the boat within 40 mins and had to work hard, ;D 2 hrs for the last 6. back at the van fish cleaned by 10 am. Saturday, well i would rather forget Saturdaythe bar was not pretty, and the skipper said nup, there are some good breaks but we have to come in against the tide which only leaves and hour out there, and we have enough fish. Good call i thought. :-X Highlight of the trip was on day two, fish were chopping we cut the motor and drifted through them, froggies tried to hide under and around the motor while spots, spaniards, yellowfin, black king and sharks were feeding, and God knows what was under that lot, we managed two spots out of the frenzy and just watched for at least 40 mins. Took a mate with me that had never been on the ocean let alone over the bar or caught anything bigger then a whiting, he is chomping at the bit for more action and is now nicknamed Capt. Seaweed. Photos following.
Joe.
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:34 AM
day1 garrett pumping her up
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:35 AM
Gotcha ;D
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:39 AM
End of day
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:40 AM
Day 2
not a good shot hope u can see the fish.
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:41 AM
day 2 Garrett with the end result
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:42 AM
Day 3 on the bar
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:43 AM
down amongst it, :-/
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:44 AM
still not looking good, lets put the boat on the trailer and become a sand dune skipper.
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:46 AM
From above it doesnt look to bad until you realise the boats are between 18 and 48 ft. These boats are coming back in around an hour later
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:48 AM
Run out tide on the bruns, this is an hour into the runout.
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:49 AM
app 48 foot trawler coming home :o
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:49 AM
oh oh full reverse taking it over the stern check out the smoke stack these motors work hard
jaybee
19-04-2004, 07:51 AM
Just about in. phew. was a top 3 days tho.
Joe
Gorilla_in_Manila
19-04-2004, 08:12 AM
Top set of pics Joe.
Bar looks like its got heaps of sand out the front. Certainly deserving of respect.
Check out Sput's fishing report for Byron friday the 16th april. Pretty well lines up with your great couple of days.
=============================================
Byron Bay
Water gin-clear with heaps of mackerel, especially up at Brunswick. A lot of small pearl perch around Julian Rocks, with a few spotted mackerel to 4kg. Heaps of big tailor coming from everywhere, beach gutters, rocks and bommies. Broken Head to Suffolk Park for huge whiting and some dart to 570g.
David Keevers, Coastal Fishing Tackle 02 66 857 133
=============================================
Sounds like fishy heaven back there at the moment.
Jeff
jaybee
19-04-2004, 08:24 AM
it will be better over the next week down there jeff, the tide will make the bar more workable as long as the wind stays away from the north. Ended up with 31 photos for the 3 days, will put them all up on my web page eventually.
Joe
northsboy
19-04-2004, 08:47 AM
They are a top lot of fish mate!!!Great work!
Liam
cHiCo
19-04-2004, 09:35 AM
Nice Pics, ordinary weather though
jaybee
19-04-2004, 09:49 AM
Thanks Liam,
Chico ordinary doesnt cut it eh LOL
joe
northsboy
19-04-2004, 11:28 AM
Did u bleed them fish mate?? they look all curled up! They taste a bit different ive heard if you don't bleed them.
jaybee
19-04-2004, 11:29 AM
Nup none of them were bled, cut the blood line out of them later, they were all put on ice to firm the flesh up before cleaning just like the pros do.
Joe
northsboy
19-04-2004, 11:35 AM
Oh ok mate,have ya eaten them yet??
Cheers Liam
jaybee
19-04-2004, 12:11 PM
Liam have been eating them since thursday night just finished off a feed on the bbq. fanbloodytastic.
Joe
19-04-2004, 12:24 PM
Top stuff,
3 blokes in a boat & the fish going nuts would have had lines & hooks wizzing everywhere ;D ;D
hicksy
19-04-2004, 01:50 PM
Nice photo's the mackerel must be running all up the northern NSW coast. It was going off down at yamba as well.
Big_Kev
19-04-2004, 02:29 PM
:)Good going Joe.
That bar sure did look ugly from the pics so I can imagine what it was like to be there.
Cheers Kev. :)
jaybee
19-04-2004, 03:18 PM
heath ya gotta love it LOL. Long rods and light lines are a buzz when its like that in all only two tangles over two days not bad at all.
Hicksy its looking good for a thumper week down there the tides are all in our favour this week and i cant be there :'(
Kev it was better up on the rocks then being in it, the skipper called the right shots as far as i was concerned. Being a Sand Dune Skipper is good at times eh. Phew.
Joe
19-04-2004, 05:31 PM
good fishn joe, the pics said it all. where do you get names like sand dune skippers roflmao
jaybee
20-04-2004, 01:42 AM
Rob this was a name given to a couple of guys who stand on the wall watching all the boats going out in the morning, most have never been over the bar, and bag out on the guys that decide its too dangerous to venture out.