View Full Version : Offshore Tweed Mon.
Hagar
27-04-2004, 10:40 AM
Hit the nine mile early today prospecting for blues and wahoo . Was not confident with the northerly last 36 hours but you never know if you never go . Plenty of macs there - Mac tuna that is - big sods too . Could not keep them off the lures so had to give it away after six . Tried some swim baits in closer for zip . Difficult sea conditions for towing solo crew . Saw Willo out there - I reckon it was him anyway . Gave his balloons a wide berth .
Hagar
27-04-2004, 10:42 AM
Changed to gold halco - they like them too
Hagar
27-04-2004, 10:43 AM
Qantas laser pro - same result
Hagar
27-04-2004, 10:45 AM
Was that you Willo ? Notice no landmarks in pic .
northsboy
27-04-2004, 10:52 AM
Did you keep the mac's mate?? I've caught them but have never tasted them! Looks like a pretty good day!! We need some of that weather up here.....apparently there are mackeral everywhere up here at the moment but its always raining and windy :'( :'( :'(
Cheers Mate
Liam
Hagar
27-04-2004, 11:06 AM
G'day Liam
Only kept one for some snapper bait later on . Released the rest as I do not eat them . They are good done island style in lime I am told .
Willo
27-04-2004, 11:09 AM
Yeah Hagar
It was me out there tryin for some Blues ,and doin it tough.
Couldn't get any lives at the pumping Jetty not even a nibble :(,so had to flog down around to the Kirra Bait reef to get some lives.plenty there ,Yakkas and Slimmies.
Anchored up at spot X to find there was no current and the water was green :o.Water temp kept dropping while I was there to 22.2. Ths SE kicked in earlier than expected and I new I was in for a lean day
Never got any hits at all .Pulled the Pin at 8.30 am and headed for home .
Heath and Garry made the right call and went out wide to the 50's and got some Pearlies.
Willo
27-04-2004, 11:22 AM
Yeah Hagar
What Boat were ya in, ??? was it the Fiberglass White with yellow top. and thanks for givin the ballons a wide pass, some boats buzz the ballons really close which can become annoying to say the least >:(
Cheers Willo
Hagar
27-04-2004, 11:39 AM
G'day Willo
I was in the haines 17L white hull orange deck flashes . I was slow towing a couple of horsies in your area and fast towing out wider where I got the fish in the pics . Just missed you at the ramp - was going to say g'day. Would not like to have been out at the 50's in anything less comfortable than Heath's outsider today .
Willo
27-04-2004, 12:10 PM
Yeah Mate know what boat ya got now [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]