View Full Version : Wide caloundra

no_worries
26-04-2004, 11:29 AM
Hi all,i'm a new member but been around the offshore fishing scene for many years.
I know a few of you personally and have seen a lot of the boats offshore,my old boat was a 6.3 mt signature,burgundy,called no worries and i'm yet to buy a new one so i just boat ride with others at the moment,snappa,etc.
We fished wide caloundra sunday,conditions were excellent and starting at the bottom my first drop yielded a 7kg snapper and my partner scored a huge spottie but the fish shut down virtually straight away after that and we headed out to the 100 mt line but no big knobbies just average pearlies and piggies so up to the 2644 top line and the large fish were just not cooperating at all.
We motored west to 60 mts and there was no shortage of trailerboats around but the large fish still were not hungry.
620SF said the fish started biting around 5.00 pm,we headed off at 4.00 pm,that's fishing i know but we ended up with a good bag but not many big fish.
On the way home a large luxury cruiser about 70 feet was motoring out in the main shipping channel at bulwer end and i thought i would have to give way to him but his speed was incredible.
I turned and ran with him but i could only manage 30 knots in the conditions and he easily outpaced me,never seen anything like it,cheers all no worries

no_worries
26-04-2004, 11:44 AM
That should read SATURDAY not sunday,thank christ i can fish better ,cheers no worries

peewee
26-04-2004, 07:36 PM
Welcome to the site No Worries. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]...although its seems a little backward saying that to a "top-gun" like you. :)
By the way,,who did you fish with?
Les

no_worries
27-04-2004, 06:26 AM
Johnny wong les,cheers gary

27-04-2004, 07:15 AM
welcome to the site, and we all look forward to more reports, and pics.

Cheeers Phill

no_worries
27-04-2004, 03:24 PM
Sure no worries phill,i just have to get my kids to show me how to use the digital camera and put the results on the board,cheers

snappa
27-04-2004, 05:04 PM
gee gary

finally on after sitting back so long

large snappa good only one thats bad luck ::)
i fished d/i on the weekend with the club had a great time and conditions and the bar very good
great place and we have made plans to return in the near future
did a fair bit of travelling around but have gain some valuable info and some good looking grounds to fish. heading out wide on next trip. a trip to the tackle shop tomorrow to upgrade all my line and hooks. new drag washers for the 114 penn
gary plenty of un size reds what a shame????
was fishing away when a red about 54 floated passed ????
A THROW BACK
anyway the cats going next trip so i reckon you might think about crewing???
esky full of fillets at present so fishing will be put on hold for a while to pay for the f***^ speeding fine $250... >:(

no_worries
27-04-2004, 05:55 PM
Hi pete,yes,finally got off my backside and joined,speeding fine eh.
You can't have had too many fillets on board to be able to break the limit.
Should have kept the old (slow)cruiser,i'll be in touch,rdo tomorrow,i'll head down to the trawler tomorrow and get a feed of tigers,have fun at work,cheers

snappa
27-04-2004, 06:00 PM
play the stocks tomorrow for quick 250 ???? a pic of some snappa.

no_worries
28-04-2004, 03:01 PM
Bet you didn't get your 250 today pete unless you had ion.
Fishing news ,i talked to another fisho that fished up and down wide caloundra on saturday arvo and night and caught very little,
The fish put in a brief bite on dawn again and promptly went back down so they came home,620sf said they bit on dark at the cape but no go at wide.
Ernie grant told me that fish can go for up to a week without feeding properly ,as we have all experienced ourselves,cheers