View Full Version : Finally did it!

05-05-2004, 01:22 PM
Finally got offshore (Sunday) and caught my first pelagic. The spotties were fired up and my mate and I filled our qouta. Everybody buggered off just as we got there so I'm guessing that they all filled there's as well.

We've nicknamed the place the "Polyesterene Palais".......all those little white thingymys bobbing around :-) You can guess where we were.

My little 'un was promised a trip for his birthday and he pulled a spangled emperor of about two kilos on the bait jig and his 12 buck rod. He had fun bringing that in :-)

Strange thing though? We got a visit from the fisheries whilst we were there..........the only boat for miles around and they came all the way out just for us. Never saw 'em earlier when the place was heaving with boats.

Saw one guy on a paddle board with two rods out, being pulled backwards and shortly after we were visited by a 6ft whaler which circled the boat a while.........that guy must have some guts!

A fantastic, (for someone who's never had a pelagic) if frustrating day at times with a blank spell at slack water when the spotties were just circling the boat and even coming up to nudge the floats but showing no interest in anything thrown at them, till they came back on the feed.

I just love Queensland. See you all out there some time

philip_thomson
05-05-2004, 01:32 PM
well done on getting out
those are some nice fish. i made my debut offshore trip back at christmas 2001 got sea sick and caught a few fish but since then i have been adicted. went out 2 weeks ago and am going insane cause i can;t get out there.
the people on the paddle boards are very gutsy. i tried to go out on mine into laguna bay at noosa at easter i fell off from a wave and quickly got back to shore and haven't tried it again. if i saw a shark while i was out there i would probably have a heart attack. glad you had a great time chasing pelagics. good luck
philip

SeaHunt
05-05-2004, 01:33 PM
Good job Kev , Yes Sunday was the pick alright, I was over at Mud myself and at lunchtime it was as smooth as duckpiss, seen more ripples in a wading pool. If only the fishing was as good , spent 6 hours there and caught didley squat.. I couldn't even lose bait , not even a pillie I had floating out the back the whole time. Not even sharks or catfish, go figure. ???
Quote....
"Polyesterene Palais".......all those little white thingymys bobbing around You can guess where we were.

Well actually I can't Kev , but I wish I was there.. :P BTW what were you using for bait..

northsboy
05-05-2004, 01:40 PM
Top effort mate......there some good fish!!!! Great work...bet ya the young fella had a ball!![smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Cheers mate
Liam

sharkbait
05-05-2004, 01:52 PM
I'll have a stab, palm beach. nice fish kev .whereabouts did you head out from?

05-05-2004, 01:59 PM
Palmy still firing ?

6 - 8kg stuff off Caloundra in the last few weeks.

Biggest the pro has seen in many a year. :o Why ? I don't know and nor does he .

05-05-2004, 02:03 PM
well done on getting out
those are some nice fish. i made my debut offshore trip back at christmas 2001 got sea sick and caught a few fish but since then i have been adicted. went out 2 weeks ago and am going insane cause i can;t get out there.
the people on the paddle boards are very gutsy. i tried to go out on mine into laguna bay at noosa at easter i fell off from a wave and quickly got back to shore and haven't tried it again. if i saw a shark while i was out there i would probably have a heart attack. glad you had a great time chasing pelagics. good luck
philip

Thanks for that Philip. I've always been a "Bay man" but now I'm hooked on offshore. I've never had a blank day whilst sharking in the bay. My worst day produced only a four footer and the teeth on that were bad enough. It boggles my mind just to see guys with their feet in the water, let alone paddling boards:-) ..........and seeing those spotties go off when I drop 'em in the esky......snapping like rabid dogs......how do they get 'em onto the paddle boards!?

05-05-2004, 02:13 PM
Good job Kev , Yes Sunday was the pick alright, I was over at Mud myself and at lunchtime it was as smooth as duckpiss, seen more ripples in a wading pool. If only the fishing was as good , spent 6 hours there and caught didley squat.. I couldn't even lose bait , not even a pillie I had floating out the back the whole time. Not even sharks or catfish, go figure. ???
Quote....
"Polyesterene Palais".......all those little white thingymys bobbing around You can guess where we were.

Well actually I can't Kev , but I wish I was there.. :P BTW what were you using for bait..

I was at Palm mate. Tried Diamond Reef first, but not a nibble. Missed the best part by the time we scooted over to Palm. Was using full pilly at first but we saw that they were going more for half or small pilly so we switched to that.....and yes.....it's that busy there you can see the bait being used in the next boat. Got smashed quite a few times on live Yakka as well.

philip_thomson
05-05-2004, 02:14 PM
yeah i am keen on taking some friends out into the bay one day (when my dad gets a day off) and chase sharks it would be so awsome, totally change my opinion about swiming. i have been told that when people get snapper, spotted, spanish mackeral on there paddle boards they sit down and get towed around for a while and wait for the fish to get tired. once they are tired they get them alongside and pull them on board. there is one guy at noosa who regularly heads out on his paddle board and comes back with nice big fish.
philip

05-05-2004, 02:16 PM
Top effort mate......there some good fish!!!! Great work...bet ya the young fella had a ball!![smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Cheers mate
Liam

Cheers Liam.

The other kids weren't too happy at being left behind but it was my first trip offshore and I wanted to "focus" and test the furuno that'd just been repaired. I'll give 'em a go next weekend if the weather's right.

05-05-2004, 02:17 PM
I'll have a stab, palm beach. nice fish kev .whereabouts did you head out from?

Went from the seaway mate. Just half an hour run.

05-05-2004, 02:19 PM
[quote author=Lucky_Phill link=board=Reports;num=1083662546;start=0#5 date=05/04/04 at 17:58:49]Palmy still firing ?

Must be if I can catch 'em Phil :-)

The big one went 51/2 but the *really* big buggers were just cruising around and not feeding.

brad_watts
05-05-2004, 02:55 PM
i was reading on the last page about ppl on paddle boards and i thought it was pretty interesting. There was a bloke on the news tonight who caught a whle heap of pish at palmy i see him out there all the time and thought what a grea idea but never thought about bringing them in or what if you get something huge. It would be cool to hear some stories about this.

jaybee
05-05-2004, 03:53 PM
can remember quite a few years ago, the spots were going off left n centre on palm, with the odd shark, the water was full off chomped up bait pieces, when out of no where this guy comes up on a surf ski, sugar sack full of spotties oozing blood into the water, and he asks for a light as his matches got wet, bugger. :o he just hung onto the side of the boat, both legs in the water puffing away on a ciggie before paddling back in.
Joe