View Full Version : bribie 16th may- late report

dazza
21-05-2004, 12:21 AM
a bit of a late report.
headed out on sunday to chase a cobia or two, and to have a general look around out the front of bribie. the weather was perfect, it glassed out as the day progressed.
there was heaps of yakkas around with a few bigger fish hanging off of them. with a tank full of livies, decided to do a drift around the bait school. scored a 25kg cobia on the first drift. a few more drifts produced grassy sweetlip to 7kg and 6 kg. the grinners were in plague proportions. nothing worse than a big jucy yakka getting mauled by a bloody grinner.

dazza
21-05-2004, 12:23 AM
cobia in the boat. one very tired fisho

dazza
21-05-2004, 12:24 AM
tim (glind) with a nice grassy sweetlip

dazza
21-05-2004, 12:26 AM
tim with another sweety.
ended up with a nice feed. check out tha ocean in the background.
dazza

mabo
21-05-2004, 01:20 AM
hi dazza, were there any tuna around?

cheers john. ;D

dazza
21-05-2004, 01:46 AM
hi john,
we did't see a tuna all day. bit unusual considering there was a gentle westerly blowing in the morning. there was heaps of yakkas and a few pillies on the bait jig, so they will be around somewhere
dazza

jeffo
21-05-2004, 02:15 AM
geeez mate they are bloody top fish. were the lippers on the livies as well? how do you rig the livies to fish the bottom? on mono with a double hook rig?

dazza
21-05-2004, 02:28 AM
hi jeffo,
yeah they love livies. got a few pillies on the bait jig and sent them straight back down- geez they are popular live ;D ;D
have got them this time of year for a couple of years in a row now. they pull like there is no tomorrow.
can either rig them with a single hook through the nose or a snelled double hook rig. 40lb mono leader on the bottom and hang on.
dazza

Double_Whammy
21-05-2004, 02:49 AM
nice fish mate :)

and yes there was tuna there, witchdoctor and I got a dozen on fly (no longies though) >:(

JB
21-05-2004, 04:39 AM
nothin like a water shot dazza, looks awesome. Good job, thats about 3 times the size of a cobe i got the other week so i can imagine how much fun it would have been ;)

JB

nofrills
21-05-2004, 05:12 PM
bygees dazza they musta been thick if timmy got some :-X

dazza
21-05-2004, 09:28 PM
lol scotty,
i won't say anything. i kept the grinners busy, while he caught a few.
dazza

flytime
22-05-2004, 08:21 AM
The tuna (longtails) were further north close to the beach between 3rd logoon and the gun bunker at north bribe
Steve :)

bazzaman
22-05-2004, 03:11 PM
was that bribie or moreton in the photo background???If its bribie gee i didnt know that there was a reef of some sort that ran that close to bribie ......especially holding good sweeties like that one!!!Caught plenty of cobes that big and bigger but they are one heck of a sweety nice catch!!! WELL DONE!!!

nofrills
22-05-2004, 06:03 PM
was that cobe taken on the patch i fish :o,or am i dreaming,

dazza
23-05-2004, 05:25 AM
your dreaming ;D ;D
got some bait off of there, then moved a little bit east and did a drift. didn't have a fish there. saw mark there but wasn't talking to him.

bazzman,
that is moreton in the distant background. we werent far off of bribie though. the photo is taken looking east, as the sun was in the west.
there is plenty of country around, just need to be patient and have a look around
dazza