View Full Version : Boyne Tannum wrap up

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:22 PM
Departed Brisbane at 11.30 Thursday with Chris, his new boat and Nathan who kindly towed our rig some 600 odd kms north for the Boyne Tannum hoookup.

Had just goten over the bridge and the showers started.
BEER + RAIN = Two stops before Gympie.
After another short stop at Childers to stretch the legs we were getting close and everyone was getting excited.
Arrived at Pyro's place at Boyne Island at around 7.00pm, prepped the boats, got a weather forecast and had had a few drinks with the boys before hitting the sack for the 4.30 start the next morning.

Launched the boat and headed out of the river with a 10-15 knot forecast, the plan was to head to Tulerook 50km out.
Picked up a few quality sweeties and parrot there before Bob's line took off and after a 5 min fight, this thing took to the to the surface and we were all wondering if this was going to be a cobes.
Not to be, was a dirty old hammerhead that was eventualy cut free.
This rod bending and splashing drew boats in closer and closer to us. After hearing a fellow on the radio report that another boat hit him on the drift, it was time to move.

Bladerunner [smiley=bandana.gif](The local boy)was reported to be doing very well with the sweeties. And Chris was puting a few on the boat too as well as a couple of good quality scarlets.

Moved to Rock Cod Shoals and found iodine bream in plague proportions as well as trevalley. Had been told that there were a lot of squid on the shoals and it wasn't long before they moved in, some were a good 2 foot long and were smart enough to stay out of the way of the net.
Fished there until 5 and with a forecast for the next day not looking good we headed for home.

Awoke Saturday to a deadstill morning and thinking it was going to be another great day for fishing, the 12 mile was to be our destination.
After leaving the river we were met head on with a stiff 20-25knots. Stone on Whitelightning was already out there
in the smaller of the boats, 4.75 centre console, so we pushed out with Chris close behind us. Upon arival at the 12mile it was impossible to sound around so we anchored up on a point saved in our gps not far from Whitelightning.
The conditions were harsh and the anchor soon straightened out causing us to drift slowly.
Chris tried to anchor but when a wave jumped in the boat he decided enough was enough and headed in.
We persisted with the conditions for about 2 hours but the only fish that were coming aboard were big triggers, parrot and whiptails. With the conditions not getting any better, me about to spew and the boys on Whitelightning drenched, the decision to move to Jenny Lind banks was a welcome one.

Jenny Lind banks area has a fantastic bottom with good bommies among the gravel and plenty of fish showing on the sounder, but a lot of small stuff due to the water depth.
We managed to find a trout and a couple of small mackeral and squire while the boys on Whitelightning got some quality nannigay and squire.
Got back to the ramp about 4.30ish washed the boat and headed down the road to the weigh in where I caught up with the Ausfish boys Streaker, Bladerunner [smiley=bandana.gif] and Stone. After a couple of drinks a bet was on who'd catch the bigest parrot the next day. $20 a boat with 3 boats in the comp it was going to be a $60 fish.
It was just the thing to keep us all keen. Everyone had hopes of going to the shoals the next day in search of the big fish.

Sunday was much the same as Saturday with strong winds and high seas. Streaker headed out to the shoals, but we weren't going through the same thing as the day before so we went to Jenny Lind again along with Blade, Chris and Whitelightning.

The fishing was very slow with nothing happening except for whiptails a small parrot and a couple of sweeties. After all boats moving around the banks and catching bugger all, Chris's crew and ourselves headed to a beacon to get rid of the bait, throw a few slugs and wait for the tide to rise so we could back up the river to the ramp.
Every second cast resulted in a hookup and as long as the pilly cubes were tossed over, the fish stayed around. Small mackeral and slimy's with the odd yakka in amongst them which were put out live, no takers though.
Must have been another rough day out wide again, a boat while trolling copped one over the back that shut the engine down, but luckily was able to get started again and get home to change his undies.
Headed for the river a little too soon and ended up having to get out and push the old girl across the banks at the mouth. We were taking it nice and easy up the river due to water depth when a ###### on a jetski thought it would be alright to come past us within a couple of mtrs at full noise (He must of been concerned about our health, put all cigarettes out and copped a facefull of water) Would just like to say thanks you tool!! >:(
Got to the ramp and were about 10mtrs short so got the car and trailer and headed up to Bray park where it was just chaos. Got the boat on washed up and headed to the weigh in for the last big nite.
There were some quality fish weighed in and people everywhere which made it a top atmosphere.
The one fish that stood out from the rest was the 31.?kg monster spanish.
Bear onboard with Streaker took out the bet we had going with his parrot and Blade's closely behind.

You hear about a race that stops a nation, well this is a fishing comp that stops a town. Had a great time up there, met top people from Ausfish and can't wait till next year.

Roota

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:25 PM
Stop at Childers

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:26 PM
Bob's sweetie

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:27 PM
Bob on the tools

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:29 PM
Bob the builder's hammer

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:30 PM
Hussarrrrr

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:31 PM
Sweeties

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:33 PM
Mixed bag

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:34 PM
Low tide at the ramp

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:36 PM
Pisston Broke fishing team

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:36 PM
The weigh in

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:37 PM
Bear with the big one

DaneCross
16-06-2004, 01:38 PM
How many competitors? That's a huge crowd at the weigh in :o

philip_thomson
16-06-2004, 01:42 PM
that sounds like an awsome trip some nice fish there also. love the picture of the boat ramp quite a useful ramp hey ;D
some of those sweetlips are very nice sized.
cheers philip

Thunderbird
16-06-2004, 01:44 PM
was about halfway down the hill D.C there was the same behind me as well.
Major prise was a cruisecraft 5.75

jethro6641
16-06-2004, 02:44 PM
Hi Thunderbird,

Heard you guys out over the weekend and was keen to catch up but unfortunately I did not get the chance to committing to having a beer.

For me the Hook up went fairly similar to you. The crew of "NOT ON CALL" and I headed out of the Boyne in almost perfect conditions at 0530am for an excellent run out to Masthead Island arriving at just before 7 am. We went straight to the mark and pulled on board a couple of nice red throat before the pilly floater out the back began to take off and shortly after a nice 10 kg Spaniard was in the bin. After a few more red throat and parrott we decided to move a little further out to the cabbage patch which saw a couple more red throat and a 12 kg shark mackerel on another pilly floater. Con't to fish around Cabbage Patch, Masthead and Polmaise before heading back for a short stop at rock cod shaols. No much happening there so pointed the nose home and put the throttle down for a perfect run home.

Saturday was crap as you said. Started heading towards the 12mile but half way out I gave that away as a bad joke and headed into Colloseum Inlet. Landed a 5 kg Mother In Law fish an my brother in law landed a nice little spotted mackerel. He had snagged up earlier with 2 ganged hooks and a purple soft plastic squid skirt and a strip of flesh. He eventually got busted off when we pulled anchor and when I was retreieving my pilly I pulled in the snagged line. Well with the current floating us back he was able to get off the snag and was able to handline a piece of coral up with his line. As he was getting his hooks he dropped the coral causing it to shatter on the edge of the boat and his line dropped back into the water. When he was hand retrieving his line he said he was on and started leaning over the side of the boat. As usual I thought he was mucking around until be pulled the spotty over the side. More a#@e than class.

Rest of saturday was out as my week old boy was a bit crook and the wife needed me back on land to take him to the doctor. All OK now.

Sunday I would rather forget. Left at 0600am and was fronted by a good 20 - 25 Knot S/SE again the GPS was pointing us to the 12 mile but once again gave that away as a bad joke and followed everyone else to Jenny Lind. Got a couple average lipper b4 heading home to sit in the hot spa and drink for the arvo b4 heading over to the draw.

Well thats fishing. Had a great weekend anyway and I was extemely disappointed I did not get a chane to catch up with you all of you Ausfish blokes who made the effort to come up. Maybe next time.

Bladrunner as you are a local mate will have to catch up for a beer real soon.

Jamie ;D :D ;) :)

Needmorerum
16-06-2004, 06:27 PM
Hey DC, the bidding for competitors was capped at 2800. They hit this two Thursdays before cast off. Reckont hey will have to increase this next year.
Bit silly to cap it, meant I missed out. Then again, too many already on the water. Bit Sh!tty I missed out on catching up with some other Ausfish members. Sounds like there are a few around the CQ area.

Corry

Streaker
17-06-2004, 04:10 AM
We arrived in Gladstone on Thursday lunchtime 3 boats in all Streaker, B&B and Scam. Launched thursday arvo to plot a course through the North Entrance, for those that have never been out this entrance at night it's a good idea to plot it during daylight hours. Friday morn up and away early through the entrance at 5am and headed towards some marks of Cape Capricorn about 45klms. A slow start that turned good at low tide with the reds coming on we caught 4 in 5 mins one of my crew got a double on them, only 1 keeper about 62cm. Moved over to Leachies Shoal and first drop I was nailed by a 4.3kg spangled emperor then some nice lipper and huge parrot. Pulled the pin at about 4pm. We had a day off on Saturday due to bad weather but we did go out on Sunday. through the entrance at about 5.30am into a 20knt S/easter we punched our way out to the Rock cod shoals this would have to be the worst conditions I have have my boat in the winds were now a solid 25knts about 2mtr seas with 1.5mtr on top. I have never had a wave jump in the back with me before not the greatest of feelings. we decided to move in a bit closer for some slow trolling for mackie was the plan, about 10min later the other boat with me radios that he's taken a wave over the back and it has knocked out the motor. A quick U-Turn and one of my crew starts making up a sling to tow a boat in these conditions. The pulse was racing now. As we circled to throw a line B&B's motor kicks into life and eventually he comes in under his own power. Down to the weigh in on Sunday night the side bet is on the biggest Parrot for the day (now to be ran yearly) $20 per boat after seeing Bladerunners we knew their wasn't much to beat but Bear's monster of about 36cm was enouigh to take out the honours. It was great to put some faces to names so thanks to Bladerunner,Thunder bird, Stone and any others that I may have forgot great to catch up. See YA's next year.
Wayne

17-06-2004, 04:18 AM
Hey Roota,

Pyro wouldn't happen to be Pyro Pete would he. Old crusty fisherman with a big grey beard and greyish hair that lives up at Gladstone.

If so - I've taken him fishing before.

If not - I'm off the mark.

Bugman

BladeRunner
17-06-2004, 07:46 AM
Ausfish Boys &Thuindrbird
Thanks for the rap up Roota on the Hookup. It just about sums it up the weather and amount of fish caught.Me, I had a ball the atmosphere was static.The crowd was huge.I have been in 8 of the hookup comps and each year you park your car further & further away from the action might take the old BladeRunner down next time (boat).

Well we have all started somthing with this big parrot fish and U Ausfish boys are more than welcome to come up and take the challenge next year in the 10th annual HookUp
Streaker is the main judge. We could change species have to ask the judge & Roota.
Nice Pics Roota. This is my catch on the first day Friday .

Jethro will do catch up.
Still recoopin [smiley=drunk.gif]
BladeRunner [smiley=bandana.gif]

BladeRunner
17-06-2004, 07:49 AM
Try again

Thunderbird
17-06-2004, 08:52 AM
Thanks for filling in the gaps everyone.
sounds like you did well out there on friday streaker and jamie, had the weather not played up on saturday the way it did, you might have seen us out at polmaise as well. Just goes to show how much local knowledge comes into play.
Pyros the bloke in centre of shot with his fist closed Bugman i hope there's not two of them up there!

17-06-2004, 10:01 AM
I think I can safely say that's not the same Pyro I know mate ;)

The one I know was famous for burning down his house to stop his missus getting it - hence the nickname.

Two Pyros in Gladston - is the place big enough !!!

Sounds like you guys did it tough but still had a ball.

Bugman

BladeRunner
18-06-2004, 09:33 AM
Persistance Payed off Roota-------------------- Thank you Steve Brown
Fish caught on the Friday At the Hook Up.
By the BladeRunner crew [smiley=bandana.gif] [smiley=gorgeous.gif] [smiley=ears.gif]

18-06-2004, 09:48 AM
Bladerunner - take out the & symbol and you'll be fine

Bugman

BladeRunner
18-06-2004, 12:54 PM
Bugman
If Ausfish get the s---s with all these post soon I shall have a spell

BladeRunner
18-06-2004, 02:26 PM
BladeRunner Crew [smiley=bandana.gif] [smiley=gorgeous.gif] [smiley=ears.gif]
Hook Up Weekend
Blade [smiley=bandana.gif]

Maria
18-06-2004, 02:36 PM
Birdy,

Did you hook up with Glenny at all mate?

Thunderbird
18-06-2004, 02:51 PM
Yeah but that sucker is pussywhiped big time he had the chance twice.
1st time he blamed it on his phone.
2nd time, it was i got to pack 4 the corse i got on in brissy in two days time!!!

Maria
18-06-2004, 03:10 PM
Hahahaha, fair enough mate. So he didn't fish with you?

Thunderbird
18-06-2004, 03:44 PM
No Ben.
Saw him briefiy on Sat nite at the weigh in.
called him Friday nite for a fish Saturday NO GO
saw him Saturday nite for a fish on Sunday NO GO

Maria
18-06-2004, 04:09 PM
Hahahaha....poor poor Glen eh. Lol, he's a busy boy by the sounds of things. Hope he's doin' alright up there and havin' fun.