View Full Version : Pin weekend
13-07-2004, 05:10 AM
Lot of weed around Kangaroo and Kalinga which made holding bottom difficult at times. Plenty of bream from the beach but still haven't had a Jew :-( Maybe next time [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
One drift from Short to the X marker on Sunday morning produced 3 keeepable Lizards and a Sandie till wind against current put a stop to drifting.
Pommie rellies thoroughly enjoyed themselves..........well they would do wouldn't they with 9 muddies in the pot :-)
Some miserable bugger bumped the boat in the night [smiley=zzz.gif] leaving a small dent which is fixable but buggered me detailing the full length of the boat [smiley=furious2.gif].........can't see how they managed it as I was anchored nose out and if they'd have hit me whilst motoring I'd have expected a clean knock and not one the full length of the boat [smiley=huh2.gif]
Ausfish member Michael G called into camp which makes it nice to be able to put a face to a name.
I've never caught a bream over 30cm.......this one went 34
13-07-2004, 05:22 AM
Pity the Pomms were too hung over to enjoy the sunrise :-)
MICHAELG
13-07-2004, 06:39 AM
Kev
Yes good to meet you. Still cant beleive how far u can throw those lines.
Certainly turned into a nice night sittin around a fire.
How the hell did hey hit your boat at camp, WTF not like you wouldn't be able to see it.
What side was it on, I presume it would be the Port as Ross's boat was to your right.
They must've been drifting up from short?
Michael
Kev, have you noticed that there seems to be a lot of muddies around at present.Where did you pick these up from?
David
13-07-2004, 10:15 AM
Kev
Yes good to meet you. Still cant beleive how far u can throw those lines.
Certainly turned into a nice night sittin around a fire.
How the hell did hey hit your boat at camp, WTF not like you wouldn't be able to see it.
What side was it on, I presume it would be the Port as Ross's boat was to your right.
They must've been drifting up from short?
Michael
Hi Michael,
Yeah, chucking the line that far makes me deckie wonder why I need a boat.......then again, I can't chuck it from where I do *unless* I have the boat. That's what I told her anyway when I said I wanted to "invest" in one :-)
Dunno how I got hit as it was on the starboard side.....although Ross did park further up that night. The boat was lying funny in the morning and I assumed that someone had picked up the anchor warp as has happened before. Didn't notice the damage till I got to the ramp. It happened between 11.30pm and 6 in the morning so perhaps somebody nodding off slipped anchor [smiley=sleeping.gif] [smiley=oops.gif]
13-07-2004, 10:21 AM
Kev, have you noticed that there seems to be a lot of muddies around at present.Where did you pick these up from?
David
Me crab pots, where else? [smiley=laugh.gif]
Seriously, we take a 10foot tinnie with us and get up some of the smaller creeks that other boats can't reach. I also leg it across the "dry" inside these creeks to reach other smaller creeks that even the 10 footer can't get up. Just invested in some chest waders to make the going easier and yes Dave, there's still quite a few muddies around. Reckon we had about 30 Jennies this weekend also.
Cloud_9
13-07-2004, 01:10 PM
i think it's pissed , ive seen people and animals lying down with empty tins before ;D ;D
Cheers Cloud 9
13-07-2004, 01:55 PM
i think it's pissed , ive seen people and animals lying down with empty tins before ;D ;D
Cheers Cloud 9
Yeah, but you can't get pissed on that stuff. Now if it'd been Tooheys Extra Dry I might agree with you :-)
skippa
13-07-2004, 03:44 PM
Steddy on Kev,
Nothin' wrong with the odd can or doz of the XXXX Goldies ;D BTW don't ya just love those sunrises
This was Straddie May this year
Tony 8)
gruntahunter
13-07-2004, 03:52 PM
gday m8..yeah i went to the cabooture river today..mainlt to try my new rig out ...but threw a couple of rods and pots in.....couple of whiting, a big sole and a huge brown barnacle muddie....not bad for not trying lol
skippa
13-07-2004, 03:53 PM
And another sunrise
SeaHunt
14-07-2004, 07:08 AM
Yep Tony, nothing like cracking open your first tinny for the day and watching the sunrise before getting stuck into the serious business of fishing.
Kev, that's the beauty of XXXX Goldies , you can drink em all day and not get pissed. On a trip to Fraser, the second thing that goes into the ute is a carton for every 2 days I'm going , plus a spare just in case. Too bloody dear to buy it up there. ???
14-07-2004, 03:28 PM
<snip>
Kev, that's the beauty of XXXX Goldies , you can drink em all day and not get pissed.
<snip>
I must be missing something????? [smiley=dunce.gif]............I thought the whole object of the exercise *was* to get pissed......perhaps that's just for the Old Farts ;-)
CHRIS_aka_GWH
14-07-2004, 03:47 PM
hey kev,
the Readers Digest (i'm a subscriber) is asking for photos for a picture publication called Your Australia.
You should send in either of those pics mate - that's my Australia - sunrise at the pin - flukein' excellent photos honest !!
if ya want the details to email say yay.
14-07-2004, 05:55 PM
hey kev,
the Readers Digest (i'm a subscriber) is asking for photos for a picture publication called Your Australia.
You should send in either of those pics mate - that's my Australia - sunrise at the pin - flukein' excellent photos honest !!
if ya want the details to email say yay.
Thanks for that compliment Chris but I know how mags work. They'll invariably choose the pic that is of a high resolution or is cliched (despite it saying *your* Australia) .......you know.......the kind of thing Oz is well renowned for overseas such as something with a kangaroo, koala or Aboriginal in it. If I can find the time (between cooking for these scrounging pomms :-) I'll try to pick something out. Got some goodies at Australia Zoo today like this one of me wayward boy :-)
14-07-2004, 06:04 PM
This just about sums up what Oz is all about for me though.
Burley_Boy
14-07-2004, 07:05 PM
on ya mate ;D
Every morning is a new gift! ;D