View Full Version : 1770

RobK
13-07-2004, 04:10 AM
Back at the desk this morning after a fortnight in 1770. Was able to fish offshore for 8 days of the 13 available. After hearing reports of others who have been blown out up there I was pretty happy with the weather. The team managed some really good fish up there including a 10 and 12 kg red, 6kg trout, rosy jobfish and snapper to 7 kg out at the shelf, cod to 13kg, maori wrasse to 5kg. To top it of two of the boys managed to boat marlin that were working around the baitgrounds. I hooked one on a baitjig which lasted at least 10 seconds.

The place really has the lot in terms of fishing. Tony from Agnes bait and tackle was his usual helpful self and gave us some starting points. I would like to thank him for his help and advice during the week. We were most succesful in catching fish when we put in the time and fiound "new" ground.

We had an amazing overnighter to Fitzroy that included so,e gret fishing and snorkelling with a school of Manta rays outside the reef.

The whole region is well worth a visit. I would encourage any one keen on their fishing to visit.

jeffo
13-07-2004, 04:32 AM
how wide were the beakies? were they blacks? and how big?

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 06:55 AM
Hey Jeffo
The marlin, (small blacks) all around about 15-45kg, were hanging about one mile-ish off the headland. They were around for about 2 weeks, balling up schools of yakka and sauri's. Apart from Rob K's I heard of 2 others brought to the back of the boat on bait jigs before busting off. One was landed by a visiting ladie and her husband. Peter Stevens of Sportfish charters hit em two days in a row, for 11 hits the first afternoon and 9 hits the following arvo! Another fella landed two for 7 hits. Out of season, but damn good fun on light tackle.

PS It was good to see you again Rob, and great to see that you managed a few good trips out and some damn fine fish.
Next time we will have to get together for a run out!

Regards, Tony

jeffo
13-07-2004, 07:41 AM
:o :o :o :o :o
next time one of these hot bites is going on hit that Private message botton and let me know... ill be there ASAP! how often is the bait pretty thick up there? looks like ill be making a few trips that way when the water starts to warm up again.

craigie
13-07-2004, 08:01 AM
RobK,

Are you aware that Maori Wrasse is a "No Take species" :o :o :o

Better check your regs for next time :-[ !!

Craigie.

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:02 AM
Jeffo
The bait is around that area most of the time.
Mack mauler, Maria and berly boy came up on the weekend, but I dont think they brought the marlin gear with them! BUMMER!
Should get a report from them when they get back.
No worries J effo, Will let you know next time!
They may still be there, if I hear I'll give you a yell

Regards, Tony

RobK
13-07-2004, 09:50 AM
Cragie, yes I am aware. It was not a wrasse but a cod. Thanks for picking up the error.

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:20 PM
Bump- For Smithy