View Full Version : Saturday on Moreton Bay
skippa
18-07-2004, 05:17 PM
Well, from the outset, it was going to be a great day on the water.
Hit the Reddie Bay ramp before sunup, just love those early starts. Why don't I feel this good when I have to get up for work? Arrived at Peel with almost glassed out seas and nobody in my favourite spot. Plenty of fish, only they are waay to small, where's big mamma? Watched another great sunrise over Straddie before we head to Myora. This time I remember the Digi for nice pic.
Did the drift for more under size squire and plenty of sweep, oh well, keeps us entertained as the bay really glasses out now. Run up the rainbow takes us eventually to a drift along the Amity rockwall. The live chopper takes a crunch not long after arriving and with a screeching reel, 30 seconds of excitment ends with a Twang; bugger 11kg braid. Probably a bloke in a grey suit, although I was quietly dreaming of a big nobbie; ur allowed to dream right? :D
Shot over to Harrys, don't bother to turn on the gps, now just aiming for all the boats! Like Queen st Mall. Drifted 'the edge' for a while scoring more under size squire, but not any worse than anyone else I could see. The bay still glassed out and I'm now thinkin why didn't I bring the big rod and go outside?
Ended up back at Peel on the way home, ya gotta use all ur bait, right. Didn't improve on the earlier results, except for another bust off on the last cast, oh well, that's fishin'.
No keepers this time and I hope this trend doesn't continue, but a great day on the bay anyway.
Tony 8)
18-07-2004, 05:25 PM
SOUNDS THE NORM OF THE DAY. HASN'T ANYBODY CAUGHT BIG RED TODAY
19-07-2004, 04:28 AM
Hi Tony Well you werent the only one, we went to mud friday to some of my good spots, could only raise some rubbish, then it was out to the measured mile, neilsen, curtain, bulwer you name it we couldnt find a fish, and the bay friday nite was like glass.
The bay was full of phospherous that night, as you planed along the water was like a neon light under the boat.
We even found big big schools of bait and they even wouldnt take a jig.
To make it worse we had the big gunns on board, reefy, roota and even ben collins, so looks like thats then end of my B & B reports. ;D, and we didnt get back to 4.30am saturday.
Im not looking for excuses, but has anyone even seen phospherous in the bay like it is at present.
Oh sorry ben caught a bream in 10m of watrer and it was legal ;D
19-07-2004, 04:51 AM
webby you dont need excuses, the fish were having a public holiday, didnt
you get the email from them
wishey
19-07-2004, 05:55 AM
Hey Webby
Your right about the phospherous, its even glowing up as far as Breakky Creek reach of the Brizzy River.
We need (RAIN) and quite a bit of it.
Ben loves catchn bream now! :D :D
19-07-2004, 06:08 AM
Tony, I am not sure which is better,, being busy all day with undersize, or have not much activity but jag a couple. Being busy has a lot going for it I think.
Last few trips out to Mud I have had very little fish show up on the sounder. Apart from a heap of those little stripey fish, have not even pulled may undersize.
Luckily I have been able to pick up a couple of keepers each time though. Went out yeasterday, wrong time between 8.00am and 2.00pm, but just wanted to get out before the wind. So was pretty happy to come home with 1 just legal sweetlip and a 45cm flattie.
Did anyone else go to Mud yesterday? Was really odd that there was about 6 boats on the east side and about 30 on the west side. I checked out the east but nothing on my sounder at all so went back to the west. Not much there either. Anyone know why the change for sides for everyone?
agnes_jack
19-07-2004, 06:12 AM
Gday Skippa!
Well written report there mate, sounds like the going was pretty tough for everyone.
When are we gunna see you back up this way?
Regards, Tony
rakinray
19-07-2004, 06:20 AM
G/ day fellas i too went to mud on frid nite managed to pick up two small squire for all our troubles both around 39 cm nice quality fish, as brian said it was very quite we never got any grinners, rays, or even a shark but whos complaining ;D Hey brian you guys didnt seem to worried about no fish with all the laughing comin from rootas rig ;) must of been that black bait you had in the esky !
CHEERS RAY ;D
SNAFU
19-07-2004, 09:52 AM
hi all, went out to green in my usual spot for a quick fish about 4-30 am with thaughts of a trip to harries or small ships after sun up.was met by 10knots+s/w-s.as soon as bait hit water it was shot to pieces by small squire and small bream.did that till sun up waiting for some better quality fishto show up but no luck.landed 2* 25 cm squire,1 *25cm tailor and 3 *20cm bream and was bit of once, possibly by a mackie.left for home about 8am.couldn't be botherd going further as i thaught wind might get me.it was a good day for rest of day on bay after that apparently.if wind drops off i recon wed/thurs dawn and dusk will be better show as tides comming good again for shallow reef fish. will try again next weekend.
SNAFU.
aquarius
19-07-2004, 04:04 PM
Gee gang now i don,t feel so bad.......Went back to the spot i caught small snapper last weekend and could not even get a bite.....Tried drifting plastics and using fresh baits......New moon,slow tidal run,calm winds....what is going on.......better start doing a rain dance ...lol
As they say drought on the land drought in the sea......maybe its true.
Oh well still have plenty of baits for the next trip.
Cheers Brent.
19-07-2004, 04:13 PM
I stayed at home this weekend and caught as much as the rest of you ferets !
;) ;D ::) :P :P :P :-X 8)
did I know about the fish holiday ? :-X
skippa
19-07-2004, 04:19 PM
G'Day Brian,
Well I'm glad I'm not the only one. Geez if u guys struggled I had no hope. Actually popped out myself Thursday nite/Friday morn too; slipped over to Myora, after a quick talk to Duncan from Reddie Bay Tackle and tried the new sp's I bought from him. Picked up some undersize (story of my life) Squire and Sweeties before something big took off and headed north up the Rainbow; now I only have 2 new jigs. U guys still heading out this weekend?
G'Day Cheech,
Mate, not sure myself. Buddy I fish with gets the s...s with undersize in the bay (as u do). His usual haunt is the 9 mile where he always scores a feed.
G'Day Tone,
Just need to save up the pennys. I'd like to say some time this year, as I usually go to HB for a week in winter to fish with a mate. He'd be easy to talk into a trip to 1770. I'll sure let u know. BTW that's one nice lookin' rig you have. How are you going to power it?
Tony 8)
agnes_jack
20-07-2004, 12:24 PM
Gday Tony
Still tossing up between 2 outboards or going with a Volvo diesel.
(next time I have a lazy 30 grand :-/ :-/ :'( )
Regards, Tony