View Full Version : 1770-Recent fish!

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 11:58 AM
Seeing as I have been off line for a while, here are some more recent photo's of various species.
No-1
FUGU!

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 11:59 AM
No-2
A nice Snub nose dart!

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:01 PM
No-3
Grassie sweetlip

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:03 PM
No-4
Trouts

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:04 PM
No-5
Even the young fellas get em round here!

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:07 PM
No-6
A nice 12kg spanish caught off the rocks at the "Catwalk"

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:10 PM
No-7
A 15kg spanish off the rocks at the 'Catwalk'

cHiCo
17-07-2004, 12:11 PM
some bloody nice fish there tony, good work

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:12 PM
No-8
GT off the rocks at- you guessed it! The "Catwalk"

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:14 PM
No-9
A nice feed from offshore by local "Glenn"

17-07-2004, 12:14 PM
What about reports of Marlin lately? How many Sails or Blacks have actually come off the rocks?

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 12:18 PM
Gday Smithy
Haven't heard of any sails or marlin off the rocks lately, There has been a stack of small blacks on the bait grounds about 1-2mile off the headland lately though! See Rob K's report- 1770

Regards, Tony

18-07-2004, 04:55 PM
Glad to see ya back with us Tony

agnes_jack
19-07-2004, 07:58 AM
Thanks Phil!
Good to be back!

Cheers, Tony :D

jeffo
19-07-2004, 08:41 AM
i am in the process of planning a trip up there tony...not a bad drive from here on a friday arvo after work ;D ;)

agnes_jack
19-07-2004, 09:18 AM
Jeffo
Your best bet is to leave it till mid oct-early nov.
There is not a lot of decent pelagic action at the moment, the small blacks have gone again. Bottom fishing is great though at the moment. About the only pelagics that seem to be in any numbers at the moment are the schoolies. Let me know if youre coming up so I can come and have a fish with ya!

Regards, Tony

jeffo
19-07-2004, 11:21 AM
hrmm schoolies ::) the warmer water might be the go. ill let you know though. 1770 billfish better watch out ;D :P

skippa
19-07-2004, 04:28 PM
Geez Tone,

That wall must getting full with all those pic's by now. You'll have to move to a bigger place or maybe you could put 'em on the floor, u know use 'em as floor tiles ;D

Tony 8)

agnes_jack
20-07-2004, 12:13 PM
Yeah Skippa
I'll cover the ceiling first mate! ;D ;D ;D

Regards, Tony

Daintreeboy
20-07-2004, 12:48 PM
That's one of the biggest Grassie's I've ever seen :o

agnes_jack
20-07-2004, 12:53 PM
Daintree
Yeah thats not a bad one, but we do get em a bit bigger on odd occasions.

Regards, Tony ;)

Angha
20-07-2004, 01:06 PM
Where is this off the rock @ catwalk? Is it a land based or off shore that you need a boat

craigie
20-07-2004, 03:04 PM
G'day Tony,

Plans are in the pipeline for a trip to your area around October. Looks like we will have 2 boats (although it would have to be very good conditions to take my rig outside) and 4 guy's ??
It would be great to hook up with you for a chat/Fishing trip when we arrive.

I still have the GPS marks you passed on to me from my failed Turkey Beach trip earlier this year. Would be great to get out and explore them this time around.

Will talk to you about it in more detail when it gets a little closer.

What are the predominant target species for October/Spring ?

Craig.

20-07-2004, 03:34 PM
Craig, I noticed a cyclone 540 doing 50 knots down the bruce coming back from 1770, turned heads faster than a topless billboard ;D was blue and white this time.

agnes_jack
21-07-2004, 05:03 AM
Angha
The catwalk is on the headland at 1770. Its a reasonably deep drop straight off the rocks. The area tends to hold good bait schools and this in turn attracts good numbers of pelagic species. You can fish the area standing on the rocks, or from a boat trolling baits and lures or anchored with floating pillies. Some of the species regulary caught here include- school, spotted, spanish mackeral, longtail tuna, queenfish, golden and giant trevally, cobia and the odd yellowtail king (only on occasion). There has also been the occasional sail or small black marlin hooked here as well.
Craig-
October-November is my favorite time for the pelagics in close. Seems that nearly all the predominate species are available at that time. Bottom fishing is also good offshore at that time, and if the weather is bad the jacks and an occasional barra are also an option. Give me a yell when you are coming, look forward to having a fish with ya!

Regards, Tony ;)

craigie
21-07-2004, 02:11 PM
Rob,

sounds like you may have spotted "Spike 2" as he has the blue and white 540 side console Cyclone. He's been off the radar of late ??? ??? Yep gotta be carefull with those Racey "Billboards", almost caused me a couple of accidents AND I nearly crashed into the car in front of me :-[ ;D.

Tony,
I passed your comments onto the rest of the crew and there now just itching to get this trip on the road.
Can I assume that it's Spottie macks, Tuna etc that you are talking about when you say "pelagics in close" ? Have done a bit of digging around and it would seem that the Spanish Macs may be "out of season" by the time we arrive, would that be right ??
Looking forward to a few drinks and talking fishing tactics/Fishing with you.

Craig.

agnes_jack
22-07-2004, 03:35 AM
The spanish are usually back in good numbers by that time. Now till sept-ish tends to be the quieter time for spanish up here. Last year at that time we had a heap of spanish getting caught off the rocks, up to 16kg. I look forward to your visit.

Regards, Tony ;)

caloundra
22-07-2004, 08:44 AM
top pic's there tony i like many others are planing a trip up there soon might leave it till oct as you have recomended to others
will drop in and say g'day

Daniel

agnes_jack
22-07-2004, 11:26 AM
No worries daniel!
The way the list is growing maybe we should call it a meet and greet! :D
Ausfishers are always welcome.

Regards, Tony

CQ_Fisher
22-07-2004, 12:08 PM
i think you might be onto something there Tony. A meet & greet at Agnes would would be a top idea. It would take a bit of organising to get everyone sorted with travel and stuff like that but its definately food for thought.

JD

craigie
22-07-2004, 12:43 PM
Tony,

Our dates have been set. We are booked in at the Camp Ground (1770) from October 23 - 30.

Bring it on !!!

Craig.

agnes_jack
24-07-2004, 05:14 AM
Way to go Craig!
I look forward to it Mate.

Regards, Tony

zedjack33
24-07-2004, 05:25 AM
No worries daniel!
The way the list is growing maybe we should call it a meet and greet! :D
Ausfishers are always welcome.

Regards, Tony

M & G in that neck of the woods. Bloody ripper ;) ;)

Tony, still getting a good number of prawns and crabs at our previously discussed location ::) ::) ::) :-X. Should have stopped some time ago, its been a great season. Goes to show what a good wet can do ;) ;) ;).

Cheers zedjack33

agnes_jack
24-07-2004, 05:59 AM
Zedjack
Way to go mate, There are still 2 creeks up this way that have big prawns. One of the 2 has not stopped producing prawns since feb.......... last year!

Regards, Tony :D ;)

agnes_jack
24-07-2004, 06:50 AM
CQ
Yeah it would be a buzz if we could get enough starters at the same time!
I'll be there! ;D ;D ;D ;D

Regards, Tony