View Full Version : Brisbane River - interesting

firetruck
24-07-2004, 06:19 AM
Found this on Brownies website :o :o

Under the fishing reports section.

NIce fish!

Grozzo
24-07-2004, 06:35 AM
Yeah mate it is a ripper :o :o::) ::) ::)

What fish ??? ??? ;D ;D

Wayne

firetruck
24-07-2004, 07:01 AM
Threadfin salmon caught Monday 19th July in Hamilton Reach Brisbane River on Australian Maritime Services
tug "Gibson". Fish was seen swimming in circles on the surface and appeared injured, most likely by a beam trawler
working nearby. Tug skipper Lex Kimlin manoeuvred the tug alongside (no mean feat) and the crew deckhand Mark Sheen (holding the fish) and engineer Evan Milne used a boat hook to bring it on board. Fish measured 1.2m and weighed approx 12kg. When cleaned it contained a large number of fresh prawns. This is a rare catch for the
Brisbane River as threadfin salmon are usually found further north

SeaHunt
24-07-2004, 07:49 AM
Yeah, It was so sick it got lost. :P
I didn't think they were that rare around here , I've caught a couple of small ones in the Pine river.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
24-07-2004, 07:51 AM
This is a rare catch for the
Brisbane River as threadfin salmon are usually found further north

what crap (not you firetruck - would never mess with anyone with "truck or "brick" or "axe" in their name)

we used to catch dozens of them less than 10cm around the mangroves on coronation dr as young teenagers in the 70's.

they definitely wern't catties - they had the advanced nose etc & we look them up to find out what they were - gotta admit though nothing anywhere approaching that size so it could be said that size is rare.

beefaman
24-07-2004, 08:06 AM
Caught a few threadies in Kedron Brook as well, but not that big.....

firetruck
24-07-2004, 09:11 AM
I didn't write that little story i just pasted it in from the website.

craigie
24-07-2004, 09:47 AM
Excellent fish for the Brisbane River !!

I remember back last year a guy named Baden Sparrow, also caught a threadie of similar size in the Brissie River on a soft Plastic (a photo was in the QFM Fishing Mag) :o , maybe there are more in there than we know off ???

I to have caught the little fellas in the Brisbane and Pine Rivers. Was always led to believe they were a species known as "Putty Nose Perch" and did not reach the glorious sizes of a threadfin Salmon ??

Craig.

C@RLO5
24-07-2004, 10:08 AM
i go fishin in the river quite a bit and have seen one bigger than that caught on a baby bream,brilliant orangey-gold colour, theyre king threadfin salmon,caught a few little ones myself, people would be surprised whats in the brisbane river ;)

SeaHunt
24-07-2004, 11:26 AM
i go fishin in the river quite a bit and have seen one bigger than that caught on a baby bream,;)

Baby Bream ??? You mean 23 cm right ? Because if its littler than that you are breaking the law.

MY-TopEnder
24-07-2004, 03:42 PM
Yeah i've caught little ones of these bastards in the brissy river... i thought they were catfish only cos i couldn't tell what they really were.

Thats BS about them being rare.

25-07-2004, 04:26 AM
Yeah i've caught little ones of these bastards in the brissy river... i thought they were catfish only cos i couldn't tell what they really were.

Thats BS about them being rare.

Caught plenty in the cast net on Sandgate Pier........biggest only about 20cm though. I reckon they come down here to spawn as with the numbers of littlies caught, you would expect more bigger ones around.

BogusPokus
25-07-2004, 05:27 AM
I,ve caught em in D'bay and Bramble bay but never of that size thats a stonker. :o

NeilD
25-07-2004, 02:44 PM
I have caught heaps of little ones around the boat passage but after making a few enquiries I was told they were definitely Putty Nosed Perch. I wonder if they are one and the same fish. Get one of those on your bream gear and hang on.

C@RLO5
27-07-2004, 06:43 AM
SeaHunt mate i said i saw one caught, not that i bloody caught it, i release undersize fish, but i cant say the same about some of our ethnic friends....