View Full Version : Beautiful Gold Coast Snapper
blue_rogue
27-07-2004, 06:47 AM
Saturday couldnt have turned out any better. throughout the morning we bagged two beautiful cobia and were home by 12 fish cleaned and in the fridge. so with the weather looking like it was going to hold up we made up our minds to refuel buy another block of pillies and head out in search of some more quality snapper. by the time all the preperation was done we were back on the water by three. the tide was going out through the seaway so she was a little bumby on the way through but passed the seaway it was lovely and flat with a slight breeze and very little swell. after getting some livies we were on our way out to our favourite snapper haunt north on the 24 fathom line of the Gold Coast seaway. didn't take us long at all to motor out there and start belying up with some tuna and tailor and to try our luck with the elusive knobbies. after sorting through some undersize squire our first knobbie was landed with a live yakka and it went just under 4kilos. the light was soon diminishing and the fishing was starting to hot up, and so was the wind. after a few more smaller fish and some pulled hooks of bigger ones we had soon landed our second snapper on a floating pilly, a fish that went over 4 kilos. the sun was well and truly gone and the tailor were here taking everything from lovely big slimmies (bloody hard to get) to half tailor heads, they were ferocious. once you did manage to get a bait past them you were half a chance. the third snapper was landed again on a floating pily around six o'clock. this fish went a little over three kilos. we tried fishing for a while longer but the tailor were so thick and we got sick of catching them and them busting us off, so it was time to call it a night. three nice snapper wasnt too bad and as for the morning as well with the cobia the day couldnt have turned out better.
blue rogue.
blue_rogue
27-07-2004, 06:47 AM
fish over 4 kilos
blue_rogue
27-07-2004, 06:48 AM
two more
blue_rogue
27-07-2004, 06:49 AM
all together
Dominic , Some top results there mate. I also headed out both saturday morn and sunday morn to the 24's off surfers after snapper. Unfortunatly it looks as if i'm a bloody ordinary snapper fisherman as all i managed were undersize squire and pearlies. I was in a white trailcraft side console pro fish., i tried several spots round the 24's off surfers , then the 24's east of southport. Can u tell me if you were anchored or drifting? and were u north or south on the 24's? Also are dark periods the only time u can catch size fish? The only action i had was a livie that got smashed on way down , but i stuffed that one up with too much drag and got bused off on 50pd braid. :( 1 very unhappy JB
Below, one of many undersize fish caught.
my storm on sat that my gps said head towards.. :(
blue_rogue
27-07-2004, 07:42 AM
JB, Bad luck about the weekend, but im sure they will come your way very shortly.
Anyway we were east north-east of the seaway about 5.5nm out. Once we got there we work out the drift and current movement, then throw the pick above the mark, so you are fishing back to the pinnicle. Burley hard and float your baits out and hand on. Braid is a must and free running reels. (TLD 15's, Baitrunners, Abu 7000's) Fishing is firing out there at the moment. These fish were not massive but sure tasted good. Did you see the last report i posted "snapper off Goldie", a couple of good fish in that report.
About the dark period. I don't really worry to much about that, only really the weather. If it is good, i am out there, because work takes up all the other time. I have found the afternoons much more productive than the mornings, and burley hard.
Goodluck BJ. Will look for you when im out there.
Colorado
27-07-2004, 09:08 AM
Nice Squire Blue Rogue well done. I wish I was out on Saturday night the conditions would have been great out there.
Thanks very much for all the info mate, it is appreciated ;D. I will say gday if i see you round the traps.
Jason
blue_rogue
27-07-2004, 09:27 AM
Yes Colorado,
Was a good night out there, but not as nice as the morning session on saturday with you catching the cobia, (That is leigh holding the tagged cobia in the other report).
The tailor gave us a terrible pizziling out there, smashing all the live and dead baits, and then have to re-rig after very bloody fish. Caught probably 10-15 tailor all in the 2-3 kilo range. Big tailor out there at the moment. Got all the snapper before dark..... if that is any help to any of you.
Keep the reports going...... It helps get you through the week..