View Full Version : No fish,,, No Fishermen. Very odd.
25-07-2004, 05:14 AM
Went out to Mud yesterday at around 3.30pm till 10.00pm. Weather was ok. A bit windy but reasonably flat. Solunar peak at 4.00pm. sunset 5.00ish, and tide change a bit after 7.00.
I thought there would be a lot of boats out there, but I was the only boat. Not one single other boat was there fishing anywhere.
I tried various spots all around but apart from my mate picking up one 43cm flattie at the first spot at around 4.30pm, that was pretty well it till about 9.30 when I finally got my first fish on the line. Was the first of 3 undersize. Five and a half hours for the first fish on the line? That's a long time. Not even Bream on secret bait in close.
So, what did everyone else know that I didn't? Was there a good football game on or something??
Not really fussed about not coming home with anything. That's fishing. What a really what to know is what was so bad about yesterday to put everyone else off and the fish off. If I knew that I could have stayed home and watched the football as well.
Maria
25-07-2004, 07:32 AM
Sounds like your should have been where everyone else was Cheech. As you said, they knew something you didn't.
this weather has been a bit suss lately i reacon.
but right now looks to be the goods at wello.
damn, might get ready for a fish tonight.
vertico
25-07-2004, 09:47 AM
iam heading out tonight to rouse
if the weather holds up
aquarius
25-07-2004, 12:34 PM
Not going to bother getting the boat wet this weekend!!!! with a forecast of N/W WIND for Sunday, Monday im sure thats enough to put fish OFF THE BITE!!
Good luck to those who venture out tomorrow.
Cheers Brent
PS..........RAIN.. RAIN.. RAIN where are you?
searaider
25-07-2004, 02:49 PM
All the best & good luck to those that get out .
Hope you get a feed , I was going , but pulled the pin ,with my luck the 15/20 forecast for after lunch tomorrow would come in early .
Searaider 2
snappa
25-07-2004, 03:27 PM
searaider 2
me too :-/
straddie
25-07-2004, 04:09 PM
Heya Cheech,
No full or new moon thins the horde a bit, all the lightning over the bay through the week would have bothered others, and the forecast 15kt would have taken out a few more. They didn't know anything you didn't they just weren't keen enough to get out there.
If I wasn't feeling crook myself I would have been out last night and tonight, just not at mud, fishing deep with big baits and would be leaving to go about now.
Did the little bit of weather we had during the week dirty the water up at all or still very clear out there?
26-07-2004, 06:40 AM
Well I don't know which Mud Island you went to, but when I got there about 5.30 there was 6 boats on the east side, 5 on the West and 2 on the Nth. There was also 1 anchored on the Sth.
Called into see a mate on the east who was Snapper fishing, and said it was quiet. Gave Webby and Bugman a ring as they were on the East side from early Sat until 4pm ish, and then they headed to the Nilsen. Also Overnighter was out there. A boat beside Webby donged a 7kg Snap at 3.30pm ish.
Craigie an I hit the nth close to no avail, and then to the Oyster place :-X. That only produced Shovelly and Squire. No wind, No current and a bit of Moon probably put them off, including the very, very clear water. An hour after the bottom ( 9pm ), we went to the East again, chatted to Webby and Bugman who had returned from Nilsen. Brett got a bad news phone call and had to return home, so Craigie and I went into the Logs and proceeded to get a few Bream. They were very quiet, but held up after the moon went down. Pulled the pin 1am ish.
Craigie also got a very good Sandie.
The round up is, no wind ( good onya BoM >:( ), some Fire in the water, a good moon ( too bright for shallow stuff ), little current, no swell, a tad cool, no mozzies and the fish very quiet.
The result is, Cheech, hit the shallows on the weekend on the 7 & 8th August and also the following weekend. As these are showing no moon to scare the Bream, 7 & 8 should have little run , but the 14th & 15th will have more run and is over the new moon and good tides as per 9pm high on the 14th. Perfect for the Bream. ;)
Use the east side if little wind, go in shallow and berley. Take a bigger esky if you going overnight. ;) ;D ::)
Cheers, Phill
26-07-2004, 06:43 AM
<snip>
So, what did everyone else know that I didn't? Was there a good football game on or something??
Had planned on going but we had a street party for me mate coming back from Iraq......Planned on going today but slept in [smiley=sleeping.gif] and too hung-over [smiley=wreck.gif]
26-07-2004, 06:49 AM
Straddie, it didn't seem to be much different to usual. The berley seemed to disappear about the same distance back.
Phil, Have you got the right day? I went out on Friday night, not last night. Thanks for the info though. Think some Bream will be the go next week.
26-07-2004, 08:03 AM
You never get too many day/nights on the bay like saturday, with the expected 10/15, what a load of croak, came out of the river at 12, and found a bay smoother then a babies bot.
No wind, No waves and this continued up until 11pm when we cut our trip short and headed in.
A s Phill said still some phosperhous in the water, shit load of jelly fish and some of them glowing from the phosperhous stuck to them, great site seeing illuminous jelly fish floating past at night.
We hit the east of mud, the paddock reef, 4 beacons, neilsen and back to mud, and the only waves we found were what we made.
Susprised really at the lack of boating traffic in the areas we traversed, suppose everythough 10/15 blowing through, stay at home.
Yep no more then 20m off our port, 7kg of bay snapper landed.
Leanne scored 90% of her first bay snapper (4kg).
Brett scored dust bin lids all night and catch of the night, a grinner and squire on the one snooded rig ;D.
The 4 beacons and middle banks were loaded with yakka, waters were boiling with them.
Sorry Darren for the short cut phone call, dropped the phone when one of my lines too off at 100mph, didnt stop it what ever it was even on 50lbs braid.
Great night, put a good feed in the esky, and had the joy of cruising around the bay on a perfect night in Bretts big big rig, even had dinner and drinks served from the galley.
This big toy of bretts has everything, except rod holders ;D
So if you want to boogie around the bay in the "Bogey", give Bugmans Moreton Bay and Offshore Charters a call, Chef and Deckie supplied. :-X
allniter
26-07-2004, 11:33 AM
Webby, you'd be good at working at centrelink - had just rang u to see where u were lurking, next minute i;m put on hold - forever!! :-/
Fished western side - still sussing area out -
The whole dam Bay was as SMOOTH as a pair of goolies after a vasectomy! ;D
Total tally 2 squire at 45cm , one bartailed flathead at 55cm,
a couple of giant frying pans, wobblygongs :P
Had a good bait gathering session, the young lad had caught about 20 gar, some grinners, and pike for use that night but no biguns to take them.
oh well try,try again - still another good adventure ::)
regards darren
26-07-2004, 04:04 PM
Jeez, Cheech sorry about that, but at the top of your post, it says " yesterday ", and Sunday being today, thought it was Saturday that you went out.
Now this all depends on when you put the post up !
And now I see it as 9.14 in the morning. So, Friday night was quiet hey ?
I noticed that Bugman's Bogey galley fridge holds many Black Cans ::)
craigie
27-07-2004, 09:53 AM
Thanks Phill for the tour around your "spot X" Bream spots at Mud Is. As you mentioned it was a little quiet but a dozen fish to 35 cm is still not too bad.
Yes the conditions were just magic, an oily calm bay is a wonderfull sight when either anchored up or slipping across it at 40 knots.
Nice Squire by ther way Webby ;)
Fishing from the "BOGEY" looks to be mighty comfortable, she is a seriously big tinnie that is destined to find the wider grounds of DI.
Craig.
Touchy - R.I.P.
27-07-2004, 11:30 AM
Bloody 'Ell You lot ,there wont be any left there if I dont extract the digit 8),Just as well I have been working on building up a stock of my secert baits :-X.that will outfish you lot hands down.Touchy.><>.
29-07-2004, 01:02 PM
Sorry for the delay but have been a bit otherwise engaged courtesy of some filfthy thieving scumbags.
Anyway - had the great pleasure of Webby's compqny for a trip out in Moreton Bay. Conditions were passed being sublime - they were incredible.
Despite Webby's best efforts - a bay snapper (or even legal squire Phil) eluded me once again.
However I did knock around the stingray population and had the pleasure of catching two fish on the one rig as Webby mentioned. Leanne was wrapped with her hand in the last fish.
Here's a couple of snaps.
Leanne at the back of Mud
29-07-2004, 01:02 PM
Webby in action looking for some big animals at the 4 Beacons
29-07-2004, 01:03 PM
How good was the Bay
29-07-2004, 01:04 PM
I became very familiar with these - the photo doesn't do true justice to their size.
29-07-2004, 01:05 PM
Sorry for the picture quality but the waterproof casing started to fog up.
Leanne looking happy with Webby's fish
29-07-2004, 01:06 PM
The Bogey's total catch (kept)
29-07-2004, 03:41 PM
Bugman,,,
You are so lucky having a partner that likes to go fishing with you. I know a lot of the guys couldn't think of anything worse and use fishing to get away, but not all think that.
Maybe to get my better half more interested I need the luxury of your boat. All I need to do it is get a reeeeally big pay rise.
Normally I would have been out on Saturday, but had a party to go to. Looking at those pics, I missed a great night. Fish or no fish.