View Full Version : Gold Coast Seaway This Evening

Maria
26-07-2004, 11:22 PM
Headed down the Gold Coast this evening for a bit of a bash around the seaway. Fished from 2000 to 0230 with Tailor being the target species. Lost a lot of fish for reasons I am yet to establish (hooks just kept pulling), but managed to bring 11 to the bag in between checking the other rod and stretching a useful shape back into my spine.

Great evening with absolutely zip wind and a beautiful temperature. Fish were biting hard and fast right up to the high tide when they died off.

Dylan_Rylatt
27-07-2004, 03:41 AM
nice report ben.
Any sise in those fish???
was worth the late night run then.

Dylan

Maria
27-07-2004, 07:47 AM
Yeah Dylan was definately worth the run down there - always is this time of year for Tailor. Best fish went 58cm, everything else at least 40cm.

Saw the usual sight of gooks paying no consideration what so ever to the bag limit, and not only taking undersized fish, but intending to catch them. I.e, dropper rig with no less than 8 or 10 tiny baited hooks, taking everything and anything that got caught on it. At one stage, a few of these individuals even decided to help themselves to my bait because they'd run out and the fish had come back on the bite suddenly.

Never mind the fact that they were well in excess of the bag limit - they just kept piling em up. Those individuals had a short and heated lesson on Aussie swearing.

However, besides having to contend with individuals such as the previously stated, it was a most enjoyable evening. I'm feeling it now though. [smiley=sleeping.gif]

Mortalkombat
27-07-2004, 08:37 AM
Ben give fisheries and call and let them now what’s happening down there
Nick

firetruck
27-07-2004, 08:38 AM
Saw the usual sight of gooks paying no consideration what so ever to the bag limit,

Pretty ordinary choice of language there mate!

I think we all get the message without having to go that far.

27-07-2004, 08:59 AM
good result for you anyway ben.

sux to hear of the asian fish rapers at it yet again, its time something was done about this >:(

Brenno
27-07-2004, 09:28 AM
nice to know someone got onto the Tailor.

i was down at the the Pin and saw a group of asian fishing one of them started to make a big noise cause he caught a fish and it looked to be and undersized bream, and i watched him go back to re bait and put the fihs in the esky.

something should be done about these blokes, who can i call if i see this type of thing happening.

27-07-2004, 09:53 AM
Call Fishwatch on 1800 017 116

ba229
27-07-2004, 11:46 AM
In Melbourne at this time of the year there is a continous run of tailor into a warm water outlet from a power station.

Believe it or not it would not be uncommon to see 300 plus people fishing this spot any day of the week.

Now i fished there a lot and had a good time catching UNDERSIZE tailor (23 cm limit if i remember correctly) which were then put back to swim another day. Well sort of... they would be caught by someone else and promply kept.

One night i fished there for the usual undersize fish and was just having a bit of fun with these fish when a couple arrived and started to fish next to me. Now at this stage i had caught about 20 undersize fish and NOT 1 keeper.

This couple caught a fish first cast (they are thick there when they bite) and he pulls the fish out holds the rod back over his head and his wife unhooks the fish. it went into the bucket and she baited him up again.

I thought "wow not bad, first cast and he gets a keeper"

Next cast he catches again. holds rod over the back of his head,she keeps fish and baits him again.

Now they have my total attention.

For 15 min they fished. they caught 12 fish and as quickly as they had arrived they left.

Stories like this one make me mad. I could have ripped their heads off but i rang fisheries the next day instead. I was told by fisheries that they didn't have enough officers to deal with it. the abolone poachers are a bigger target so they go for them instead.

I fished there several times after this and then gave fishing away for several years.

What a saw disgusted me and i could not bare to watch.

I have seen the same here in nsw now and i make a point of not fishing at the notorious spots due to what it does to my sense of common good. besides that i don't enjoy myself trying to fish along sides people that do this sort of thing.

Now I'm not saying we should stop fishing because some people are doing the wrong thing. I hope fisheries can get their act together and deal with a MAJOR issue to recreational fishing.

It is a wide spread practice that is more blatant than most other forms of crime such as prostiution and drugs yet there seems to be no effort made to stamp it out.

It's a shame that a minority of fisherpersons can be so disrespectful and do what they like with no concequence.

ba229
27-07-2004, 12:04 PM
this is the place in melbourne

http://www.fishvictoria.com/pyoursay/general/s010729blitz.php

now let me see 400 fisherman and 71 guilty = 17.75% guilty (not good)

then 161 fisherman and 47 guilty = 29% (even worse :-( )

ba229
27-07-2004, 12:18 PM
Sorry to hyjack your post ben but i came across this.

http://www.fishvictoria.com/pnews/govt/030702capsicum.php

Now i know it is Victoria related but it made me think.
If all officers are undergo training.
How much does 4 cans of pepper spray cost? lol

DaneCross
27-07-2004, 12:42 PM
Good effort Ben... bet your tired now though ;D I wouldn't mind a feed of tailor myself... what to do, where to go... ;D

Abalone_4.9
29-07-2004, 08:36 AM
I hear ya guys...Re our Asian friends and their lack of size/bag limits.
I'm sure that they are not the only ones showing total disregard for our fishing habitat however from what I have seen they certainly appear to be the major offenders.
I have seen them cast for prawns non stop for about 2hrs in the bay, not one or 2 boats but 10 boats with Asian Pax on board. There where only about 15 boats in total chasing the school.
We had enough prawns after about 45mins so we decided to have a beer, set a couple of livies down and enjoy the bay without the wives and kids (God luv em) :-)
They kept on casting and after awhile we joked that there couldnt be much room left in the boats.
This topic gets my goat due to the fact that I send way more fish on their way then I invite back to my place for dinner.
Now I'm going to hop down off my soap box and go back to work ;D
Good to hear the fish are on down the Coast.
Seeya
Lee

fishy_phil
02-08-2004, 04:08 PM
gday everyone
this is something that my fishing mate did last time we went to the coffs harbour jetty. we're fishing and a man and a few kids of asian appearance starts keeping all the fish they catch, bream whiting flatties etc. so my mate walks up to him tells him to throw them back and he tells my mate in no uncertain terms that he is doing nothing wrong and that he can keep them all because they are above legal size. yeah right the biggest would be lucky to be 15cm. so he tips the bucket of fish back into the water and the asian guy didnt like that so he hit my mate. then my mate hits him he falls into the water and by some strange coincidence his rods goes in too.
all this shows is that not only do they not know the regs but can get violent when confronted. but this guy was fighting with the wrong person.
so just a word of warning be prepared to defend yourself if you tell them what they are doing is wrong.
im not a racist, i hate anyone that has no regard for the rules. be it asian aussie kiwi etc. it makes no differance to me. if your a good bloke ill have your back, if you have no regard for the rules ill do everything in my power to give you what you deserve. preferably not voilent, but it would not be the first time ive rang fisheries to report illegal fishing. and i would recomend anyone who sees illegal fishing to report it.
i dont approve of what my mate did but i believe that if he kept to the legal limits my mate would not have even appoached him.
anyway there are my two cents
phil