View Full Version : Snapper a plenty off Double Island Point
Reefmaster
03-08-2004, 06:27 PM
with the forecast of 10-15 Knots SE the trip was on and it would see Lee(opimax) again come up to have another bash out from DI but this time he would bring SNAPPA Peter up with him. Friday night had storms up there and it even hailed but was only small. It blowing a good 20 knots sat morning and we sat in bay area catching yakkas and headed out around 2-3 pm. We headed to the snapper grounds approx 9 miles from DI headland. we nailed some nice maori cod and even a blue Maori cod before anchoring and the action was unreal with good snapper up to around 7kg coming aboard and even two at a time. We had a limit but caught around 20 more nice fish. we also caught a few nice sweeties and moses perch and even 1 lonely trag jew. we hit the sack and around 4am my old man drop down a pillie and got nailed by a monster Amberjack. Sunday we fished around the 14 mile area and bagged out on pearlies and one was a ripper. We also couldnt escape from the snapper and caught some around the 7kg mark. That morning resulted in some big moari cod and a gold spot cod as well as a couple of nice reds and other species. Most of the fish were qaulity fish and it was good to see the snapper were here in good numbers. We used around 8kg of big pillies and over 30 whole yakkas and 4 kg of mullet fillets.
While we were having a ball Lee and the boys were having a shocker and while we were nailing the snapper the boys were really struggling and were only a stones throw away. It just shows how win some and you lose some and if your not on fish your not gonna catch em. But me thinks that Snappa put some really bad luck on lees boat. or maybe we had some really good luck on our boat as we couldnt do a thing wrong.
i guees thats fishing. Snappa i think you gonna have to suck right up to lee now to be able to go out with him again ;D
Sorry guys but i have a stack of photos to go through and need the good shots for BushnBeach article. Heres some dodgys that wont be needed but.
Cheers Greg
Reefmaster
03-08-2004, 06:29 PM
this 150ltr esky was full in just a few hours and they were all good fish
Reefmaster
03-08-2004, 06:31 PM
alot of snapper were around this size. Not big snapper but a good size and plenty of them
philip_thomson
03-08-2004, 06:43 PM
thats one full eskie well done. some nice sized snapper there
cheers phil
03-08-2004, 06:49 PM
Greg, u keep your title as king of DI, i really cant see you losing it for sometime :o
that is good fishn! ;D ;D
rob
nofrills
03-08-2004, 07:04 PM
ONYA GREG,
not only are you a great fisherman,but the way you have still taken the time to sink your boot into poor peter{notice i didnt say old :-X]is truly an inspiration.
cheers scott
Reefmaster
03-08-2004, 07:16 PM
well maybe it wasnt snappa that boarded the bad luck but actually lee for not taking luke his usual crew member. :-/ Sorry peter i just wasnt thinking ;) Or like i said maybe we just had a really lucky trip ;). Scott thanks for making me feel bad but young peter still has the touch im sure ;D
Thunderbird
04-08-2004, 03:49 AM
Good to see the 140l esky full to the top!
Don't worry snappa i've got an idea for the perfect crew perfect crew. The old man(bobby) and yourself that'd be the ultimate jinx. ;D ;D
04-08-2004, 04:12 AM
Good pic's and top fish.
04-08-2004, 04:25 AM
Greg,
was just talking to my neighbour 3 doors up and he was the bloke with the family talking to you back on the beach. It's a small world.
I still think fishing off DI is cheating :P ;)
dazza
04-08-2004, 04:46 AM
hi greg,
is the current still a northerly? fished the rainbow comp during the week and everyone did it pretty tough in the northerly current.
hopefully getting back up there soon to chase a few reds around. heaps of snapper and pearlies on the northern country. but the decent reds were hard to come by
dazza
GiddyUp
04-08-2004, 05:02 AM
Well done Greg....Looks like you had an awsome trip up there mate
snappa
04-08-2004, 09:34 AM
GREG
theres only one way out NOW
that is for me to crew with you and your dad. :P
sorry but its the only way around this mess i'am in :-/
making sure lee fishes the same weekend ::)
and see what happens..
if its me [smiley=helpa.gif], then lee will have the trip of a life time ;D
[smiley=end.gif] [smiley=hammer.gif]
Reefmaster
04-08-2004, 02:11 PM
Dazza the current had swung around to be almost due East where we fished but sometimes in close it can be a northerly current and out wider a southerly current.
Peter mate im sure its not you and i have seen this happen plenty off times. ;) ;D
snappa
04-08-2004, 04:43 PM
reefy
BUGGA :-/
i was trying to grab another trip to D/I ;D
Abalone_4.9
04-08-2004, 04:58 PM
Well done Greg,
Excellent report and even better fish.
I think were all jealous now.
I caught an 8kg 'Woobygoong'(think the spellings right) on the weekend and until now I felt pretty happy with myself.
Keep it up.
Lee
nofrills
04-08-2004, 05:28 PM
BIG DI red taken from dazzas family boat :o;;;;;;; enough to turn me off pelagics for ever :o
team_mongo
05-08-2004, 02:14 PM
You and me too scottie, Going to have to give this bottom bash a good go.
Awesome fishing greg.
George
eggbeater
05-08-2004, 04:49 PM
Good catch again Greggy,some nice fish there.
Dont feel bad mate.....the same thing happened to me and my old man when fishing right beside Greg and Terry at D I.
snappa
06-08-2004, 07:05 AM
awesome
thats the truck :o i need to tow the cat to d/i :P
when are we going ???