View Full Version : Bay on Ekka Day

12-08-2004, 03:13 PM
Left a glassed out Shorncliffe for the bay at 6.00am hoping to get the first of the run in. Arriving Brizzy channel found the going too lumpy for comfort (again!) and headed for the lee of Nudgee. 2 hrs produced one shovelly, 3 stingies, 1 whiting and (I lost count) toadies.

Wind backed/eased so headed back out and decided to fish edge of Brizzy channel as we had a good show of fish on the sounder. Met another Ausfish member (Craigie) who said it was a bit lumpy out Mud way so decided that this would be the spot for the day.

The fish on the sounder proved to be a shoal of small tailor and one keeper (32cm) went on as a livie. An immediate take resulted in a 10 minute tussle with whatever? and a break off on 30lb mono. The kids meanwhile were plagued with stripey grunters and small squire and one of the grunters replaced the now gone live tailor. 10 minutes late a slow creeping of the ratchet signalled the expected Wobby, but this was a nice one coming in at around 5 feet and released at boatside. Just as that was released my other rod went off......a tandem hooked rig of 12/0s one baited with a medium squid, the other with mullet fillet on 50lb mono. A few short runs then gave way to that tell tale hammering as the shark rolls up the line and I knew it was over.........the line parted :-(

The rest of the day was spent with the kids constantly rebaiting and me constantly releasing stingies (11 in all). 2 Blind sharks were also released boatside (well, the freezers full of cod innit?) :-) A good portion of time was spent in upping anchor and repositioning bow to meet wash of oncoming container ships (8 in all). Normally I just cast off anchor warp on float, bugger off and return, but I'd forgotten the bloody float!

Deciding that we'd had enough of constantly upping anchor, we decided to call it a day, only to find on this occasion the anchor didn't want to shift. After a 10 minute tussle and with a container ship bearing down, I decided that it was time to get out the knife!

An expensive trip, but cheaper than the Ekka and not half as busy apart for these :-)

Dylan_Rylatt
13-08-2004, 04:04 AM
sounds like a pretty fun day in all. pitty you did not land that biggun prolly woulda been a shark tho?
nice report

Dylan

HAZ
13-08-2004, 06:39 AM
Hi Kingtin,
I haven't fished the bay before and plan on doing it soon in a 4.6m half cabin. When these container ships pass at that distance,how much of a swell do you get ? Is it scary stuff or do you just up anchor and point the nose in the right direction and just roll over them ? [smiley=huh2.gif]
Harry.

craigie
13-08-2004, 10:07 AM
G'day Kev,

Nice to meet up with you and your crew out on the water.

Looks to be "truckloads" of fishing room aboard "Kingtin" ;)

Your secret Cod Spot is safe with me :-X ;D

Craig.

13-08-2004, 01:04 PM
Hi Kingtin,
I haven't fished the bay before and plan on doing it soon in a 4.6m half cabin. When these container ships pass at that distance,how much of a swell do you get ? Is it scary stuff or do you just up anchor and point the nose in the right direction and just roll over them ? [smiley=huh2.gif]
Harry.

Hi Harry,

No worries at all if you fish out in the bay but I was fishing the edge of the brizzy river channel. Wind was blowing the wrong way for the side I wanted to fish putting the boat stern towards wash. Shes a 20footer but having no pod and a low transom, I wasn't taking any chances. The container ships move pretty slow and they only produced a moderate swell and no white water. If I anchor bow towards with plenty of anchor rope, there's no problem, a smaller boat may drop over one swell and get hit by the next before she rises........I wouldn't really know mate, unless I experienced it. Steer clear if you ain't sure, there's plenty of water to fish out there. Beware the Tangalooma Dolphin ferry......I didn't see it, she wasn't moving slow, and she nearly had us over from a *big* wash.

13-08-2004, 01:12 PM
G'day Kev,

Nice to meet up with you and your crew out on the water.

Looks to be "truckloads" of fishing room aboard "Kingtin" ;)

Your secret Cod Spot is safe with me :-X ;D

Craig.

Cheers Craig, nice to meet you and your deckie too :-)

Yeah, I love me boat, plenty of room without a cabin and with one kid at the Ekka I had even more......from the console to the rear is mine and the other 6 have to share the front half..........well, I *am* the skipper :-)

As for the cod spot..........don't laugh.........I was on the wrong one! I was that pissed off with moving around earlier that I simply headed back to the first "thingy" I saw, it was only after you left that the kids said, "Dad, you told a lie, this isn't the cod spot" Only then did I realise that they were right............it's the furthermost one that I should have been anchored at......if you know what I mean :-)

I think I posted in reply to Jeremy where I was, so it's no great secret. I've only had two there in two years so it's not exactly a "hot spot"......or is it? I don't know how frequently decent sized Cod are caught in the Bay?

joeT
13-08-2004, 04:25 PM
The swell from the Tangalooma Dolphin Ferry is huge! :o Especially since my boat is only 4.1m. Damn hazard that thing, and it arrives before you know it.

Abalone_4.9
13-08-2004, 04:31 PM
Hi Kingtin,
Your not kidding about the Tang Dolphin ferry.
How big are those bow waves, not to mention the jets coming off the props.
We had to get the towels out after getting close to that big thing.
Hope they did well.
We just about hit a couple of whales and spent 15mins sitting waiting for them to pass.
Lee

13-08-2004, 05:02 PM
They really are fast. I launch at Pinkenba and before I launch or retrieve, I check up and down river as I was beached once by them. Then on Tuesday evening I had to rush back to the boat as one of them materialised out of nowhere.

Look left, look right, look left again.

vertico
13-08-2004, 06:10 PM
ahhaha watch out for those container boats :)
especially on a quiet night :)

14-08-2004, 03:54 AM
<snip>

Look left, look right, look left again.

Shouldn't that be port and starboard Cheech? ;-)

shano
14-08-2004, 05:26 AM
yeap have had my fight with the waves from one of the huge tugs in the river! hit a masive wave from one at night didnt see it till it was too late,then hold on for ya life as you get launched up out of the water and wait for the impact back down again!!!! :o