View Full Version : This is why I fish. My biggest flatty on an SP

ba229
17-08-2004, 02:09 PM
Went for a cast today and had a great time.

First up caught just a nice sized flatty for a bit of fun (photo 1)

But then I hooked a monster of the deep. Great battle and great fun trying to land it without a net. The thumb now has some nice cuts on it :-). Mental note "time to buy a net"

The flatty was caught on a 3" bass minnow with a no.2 hook. A council worker i was chatting to the other day told me that hook is too small for flatheads. lol wish i had seen him today :-)

I am sorry that the photo of me holding it is unfocused but i had to put the camera on the boot of the car and take it myself cause i was the only one around.

Heres to soft plastics and their ability to catch fish.

p.s. both fish returned unharmed

ba229
17-08-2004, 02:12 PM
:)

ba229
17-08-2004, 02:13 PM

ba229
17-08-2004, 02:14 PM

DaneCross
17-08-2004, 02:24 PM
Good stuff Alex, that second one is a beauty [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

philip_thomson
17-08-2004, 05:16 PM
well done there mate there some thats a top flatty in the 2nd pic. i think you might have to raise the height of the boot of your car so that you can get your head in the photo next time.

well done again mate
cheers phil

Captian_Zero
17-08-2004, 05:21 PM
Jeez mate, you are really nailing them on the softies.

Encourages me to keep trying

vertico
17-08-2004, 06:03 PM
nice flathead
good work

aquarius
17-08-2004, 06:45 PM
Great fish on sp,s ......i to am having some luck on the plastics.
Took a fellow work mate out for a session last week and we nailed 5 fish all in the same location.
Anchored up and just cast ahead of the boat and let the soft plastic berkley power bait drift in the current.
These things are deadly on flatties!!!!!!!!!!
Cheers Brent

ba229
17-08-2004, 06:48 PM
yeh. i've got the flathead technique down pat now :-)

now i want more bream. more whiting and more.... ahhh just more will do :-)

beefaman
18-08-2004, 03:57 AM
Great fish [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Perserverance pays off!! Keep trying different techniques, differnet styles, and you will be amazed!! How big did the second flatty go???

ba229
18-08-2004, 07:26 AM
I didn't measure the fish (time to put a measuring tape it the kit :-) ) but after examining the photo and measuring afterwards i would say it was around the 60cm mark.

I was really happy with this till checking out the flatty of the week photos and saw one at 90cm :o :o lol i'll keep casting and one day i will get one that big i hope ;)

beefaman
18-08-2004, 08:17 AM
Plenty of 90cm flathead around.....keep on trying ;)

cactus
19-08-2004, 05:12 PM
gday ba,
heard of monsters of the deep in there lol ;D
nice fish.

ba229
22-08-2004, 11:23 AM
Went out today(saturday 21st) and caught a nice little flatty.

This time i measured it against my fishing rod and when i got home i got the measuring tape out. The little flatty went 47cm :o :o

So it got me thinking about the big one the other day. I looked at the photo and measure my rod to see how long the fish was.

I have now revised it's size UP to 75cm :-)

I like these sort of fish. the type that keep getting bigger the more you think about them ;D