View Full Version : Barra Hoodoo at Escott

landy1
21-08-2004, 05:28 PM
G'day All
Well back from Escott Barra Camp where im happy to say i finally landed a barra. He was only a little bugger but i reckon he still counts. We left the Isa and headed North through Burke and Wills Roadhouse and then took the Nardoo track to Burketown narrowly missing an emu en-route. The trip up and back was awsome with heaps of fun and games including a self destructing trailer, two little flattened piggys, majestic scenery, a couple of million corrugations and a whole heap of bulldust. We settled ourselves into the Escott Station campground where we found we even had a complementary calf that insisted on joining us in our tent each night and kept trying to help us cook dinner.
The boat played merry hell, apparently outboards dont like getting heaps of bulldust in their fuel intakes ::) but we still managed to fish from the banks of the river where to my great suprise I landed the little barra on a squidgie on straight 10 kilo line, Good thing I bought along those gold bombers and knotted dogs ::).
Well the camping had to end so keep reading for chapter 2.

landy1
21-08-2004, 05:45 PM
Well after leaving Escott we thundered down the backroads to the Gregory River Hotel loosing both mudguards on the way. Once we had a feed we decided to detour out to Lawn Hill for a sticky beak (Awesome place definately going back there). then we again headed home. Then on the way two little pigs decided to race the Disco and the Disco won, bacon anyone. Well after destroying all of the ratchet straps on the trailer we arrived back in the Isa dragging a sorry arse looking boat trailer with the boat tied down with its own anchor rope. Several beers later we decided we'd had a great time and I would definately recommed the experience. So while there was farting and snoring aplenty at the M and G I was thinking of you all from the glorious gulf.

landy1
21-08-2004, 05:47 PM
More piccys

landy1
21-08-2004, 05:50 PM
The road to Lawn Hill 80kms each way of yeh ha corrugations

landy1
21-08-2004, 05:54 PM
A little taste of Lawn Hill Gorge

landy1
21-08-2004, 05:56 PM
Last but not least, our new friend, The bloke in the piccy is Daz our intrepid photographer and fellow Ausfisher (Gypsea). The other bloke is a cow ;D

Gorilla_in_Manila
21-08-2004, 06:17 PM
Great report Mick.
Well thats 1 more barra than I've caught.
Looking forward to Bernard's comments about the trip. :D
Jeff

landy1
24-08-2004, 05:47 AM
Thanks Jeff,
The way Bernard was going hes lucky we didnt just chuck him on the fire, :P hmmmm nice big steak feed.

24-08-2004, 07:14 AM
Mick - awsome. I bet a lot of us wish we had a chance to get out there and see some of that country.

I've just got an uncle who's moved to the Gunpowder mine working onsite. He calls into the Isa every now and again and I've told him to look up the famous local fisherman "Landy1"

Bugman

landy1
24-08-2004, 12:58 PM
I cant argue about it being a slice of paradise up here, at least when you get away from the Isa. Around February March next year im trying to get my arse up to Karumba for a fortnight or so and employ the services of a guide so I can make the most of it. That should be pretty damn relaxing. Interesting to be at one of the only spots in Queensland that you can sit on the beach and watch the sun set over the sea.