View Full Version : Deep Water Jigging Pic's From Sunday

shawn
24-08-2004, 04:42 PM
Went Deep water jigging off the top of Moreton Island yesterday. Had a great day, with fellow Ausfish members Double-Whammy, (Jason) and Thunnus, (Justin).
We took a while to find the fish, but when we did we had numerous double and triple hook ups.

Justin and I with a couple of Amberjacks.

shawn
24-08-2004, 04:46 PM
Justin in a world of pain:o, trying to hang on.;D

shawn
24-08-2004, 04:51 PM
Jason hooked up.

shawn
24-08-2004, 04:54 PM
Jason and Justin with a couple of kingfish.

shawn
24-08-2004, 04:57 PM
Me hooked up. :D

Dr_Dan
24-08-2004, 04:59 PM
Nothing like a bita exercise early in the morning hey guys! Well done, good photos

shawn
24-08-2004, 05:02 PM
Me with an 11kg GT......tough fish. ;)

philip_thomson
24-08-2004, 05:02 PM
there some top photos there and some nice fish as well. did you measure the length of your arms before and after? im sure they must be longer now.

cheers phil

shawn
24-08-2004, 05:09 PM
Justin hooked up again.......37kg rod, 80lb braid, 20kg of drag and something has to give:o.......that something was us, we are all a bit stiff and sore today. ::)

shawn
24-08-2004, 05:25 PM
Thanks guys, it was a top day, I think my arms are a little longer now. ;D

Most of the Amberjacks were about 6kg and the kingfish were a little smaller. They never look as big in a photo. ::)
They are tough fish and I can't wait to hook a big one.

shawn
24-08-2004, 05:35 PM
All up we landed about 40 fish for the day and dropped a few more.
Bloody good fun and I can't wait to do it again......I'm a sucker for punishment. ;D

thunnus
24-08-2004, 05:46 PM
thanks for the day boys, had a ball!!! World of pain....yes it is, but its the best fun you can have with ya pants on i reacon.

heres another pic of shawns trev. Mighty good fish that one, and i think we did well to land that one out of the triple hookup!

thunnus
24-08-2004, 05:48 PM

thunnus
24-08-2004, 05:48 PM
shawn with a nice little aj - first of the day.

thunnus
24-08-2004, 05:49 PM
the secret jig.........shhhhhhhhhhh ::) :-X ;D

thunnus
24-08-2004, 05:50 PM
the boys hooked up

thunnus
24-08-2004, 05:53 PM
jason on a late afternoon ambo........what a day, good company, good weather and best of all lots of fish stupid enough to eat big bits of metal.

thanks again fellas.

24-08-2004, 05:55 PM
"Gotta love it when a plan comes together", think I have heard that somewhere else ;)!

Dr_Dan
24-08-2004, 06:13 PM
Fair size jigs there, you targeting larger fish or are they the average size. Not that they are bad fish! TOP CATCHES!

shawn
24-08-2004, 06:27 PM
Fair size jigs there, you targeting larger fish or are they the average size. Not that they are bad fish! TOP CATCHES!

G'day Doc, The jigs are about 250 to 300mm long and weigh 300 grams, even bigger jigs are used in deeper water. We had Pearl Perch shorter than the jigs eating them last trip.

megafish71
24-08-2004, 06:34 PM
Nice haul of fish there guys. Must try this jigging myself one of these days. Any advise on what sort of jigs work better or you have had more success with.

Ron

25-08-2004, 04:56 AM
Feel like I've just had a day on the water. Nice photo-report mate.

Long time since I've jigged (like 25yrs ago, back in the Scottish sea lochs) and I've been meaning to get back into it someday. We used to catch 30lb cod on old chrome handles which we took off cars at the wreckers :-) It's come a long way since then. My tackle box is well rigged with a nice collection but I've yet to have the right weather and opportunity to use 'em.........someday..........someday :-)

duckbill
25-08-2004, 05:41 AM
Hey Witchdoctor,

Is that your boat you went out in? Is it up and running well now? ;D ;D

BTW, check with Jason, my name should be at the top of the waiting list for the next outing, and I am ultra keen [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

TOLGA
25-08-2004, 11:22 AM
Nice photos guys it would have been unreal fun those knife jigs really work well. I had a 180g fishing the seaway last week and all i could manage was a foul hooked 40cm whiting.

25-08-2004, 12:02 PM
What reels & rods were you using?

Double_Whammy
25-08-2004, 02:41 PM
yer it was a great day had by the 3 of us and I cant wait till the next time ;D

but the next trip wont be till we get back from p/phaust next month (sorry Duckbill u will have to wait a little long but u will be the next to feel the fury of the deep water jigging torcher )

shawn
25-08-2004, 04:00 PM
G'day guys, The fish were pretty turned on the other day, so I think you could have caught them on almost any of the jigs available. As much as I hate to say it, the more expensive jigs seem to work better when the fishing is slow. The jig I caught most of my fish on was a Lumo Green Jigs Ace in 320 grams. The fish normally hit the jig in the head and mine worked well until the eye was ripped off, the strike rate was a lot poorer after that. The Knife jigs and the Sure Catch jigs worked well also. Justin was using Zest jigs and these were kicking ass until they were donated to the fish gods......50lb braid was not enough.;D

My rod is a 37kg Calstar jigging rod, great rod, but any heavy rod will do if you are just having a go at it. The reel is a Saltiga SA40 loaded with 80lb braid, 20kg of drag out of the box. Again any heavy-duty reel will be all right for a couple of trips before they start to fail. Justin was using my ABU 7000 with a souped up drag, and it was making funny noises by the end of the day.

Outsider
25-08-2004, 04:09 PM
Great pics guys - well done. I knew I shouldn't have put my boat on the market in winter - best time for jigging.

megafish71
25-08-2004, 05:27 PM
Thanks for the advise witchdoctor. I am off to the tackle shop to buy some jigs. Will give them a shot next trip out and I'll let you know how we fair up.
Cheers Ron

thunnus
25-08-2004, 06:30 PM
shawn - im still unsure wether it was the reel or me making the funny noises ::) :o ;D

must admit but, the calstar/saltiga combo makes a big differnce in the comfort stakes. The big handle on the reel makes jiggin and fighting fish all day a breeze, not to mentoin the retrieve rate. The blank that the rod is built on is superb, as you can see from the pics even when it is fully loaded its still got heaps in reserve, plus being ultra light.

jeffo
26-08-2004, 02:37 AM
how do you all think the live fibre PNG black bass 20kg stick would go for jigging? 239 bucks.. or is there a better rod for that money?

Double_Whammy
26-08-2004, 03:27 AM
Hi Jeffo

I dont know that actual rod but like WD said any heavy rod will do just to have a go at it, but if ur looking at doing it a lot then I would go for some about 24kg or up that has a lot of backbone for lifting as u can see in the photos the fight is very vertical so what u need is a rod that can be loaded to the hilt with 80pound braid and not have the braid to the blank. I would also say that a rod with a fairly soft tip for the actual jigging part of it but if its to soft (like the rod im using at the moment ) u have to be careful when jigging that u dont rap the braid rod the tip of the rod when fast hard jigging
Im using a 10-15kg hb60b Loomis at the moment but Im getting a Sabre 24kg rod built very soon

Have fun guys

nictim
26-08-2004, 09:37 AM
Hi Guys
What type of water depth are we talking about ? I’m down at Currumbin or get out the Seaway or the Tweed
What would be the shallowest , is there any good videos on jigging showing you the basics

cheers Steve

shawn
28-08-2004, 08:15 AM
Hi Guys
What type of water depth are we talking about ? I’m down at Currumbin or get out the Seaway or the Tweed
What would be the shallowest , is there any good videos on jigging showing you the basics

cheers Steve

G'day Steve, Sorry for the late reply, we were fishing in 25 to 40 meters of water. A few boats are jigging out off the Gold Coast and I have seen some photos of a lot of good fish caught. I don't think the water depth is as important as finding the fish on the sounder. Most of the wrecks and reefs off the Gold Coast would be a good place to start.

Hope this helps.......Shawn.