View Full Version : Day on the Bay 26th
I went to the southern side of Peel yesterday afternoon to get away from the wind.
I Caught one nice 48cm squire and one chopper tailor. I lost 3 other tailor because the line kept getting bitten off at the swivel as I was in the process of getting them in.
I was up Rous Channel way earlier in the day and the police boat came alongside looking for safety equipment, licence and rego check. The boys were all business until the checks were over and then quite nice blokes to talk to.
It was a great day out on the Bay early in the day but that NE wind came up later in the arvo and sent me back behind Peel. It was a blessing in disguise actually, 'cause that's the only place I got any fish for the whole day, apart from the usual grinners.
GES
DaneCross
28-08-2004, 07:07 AM
Good to hear you got something for your efforts GES. We're heading out Saturday morning and with the northerly predicted, I was interested to know what area/depths were you fishing in on the southern side of Peel?? Were you using bait? What type were you using?
Dane
beefaman
28-08-2004, 08:27 AM
Getting bitten off at the swivels.....hope you were using black ones, tailor love hitting the silver ones when another one is hooked up :-/
Maria
28-08-2004, 10:45 AM
Use a heavier trace line than your main line mate. Also, as already mentioned....use black swivels. Tailor will snap at brass coloured swivels as the sun glints on them. Same goes for your sinker...don't use sinkers with shiny finishes on the lead.
aquarius
28-08-2004, 05:40 PM
GES you should have gone out in the morning, glassed out until midday.
We came back then just as the north wind kicked in.
48cm of snapper will give you a nice feed
Did you take any pics of the fish?
There,s plenty of good legal snapper around Peel at present.
You just need to sneak up on them...lol
Cheers Brent
DC
I tried several areas SW and S in 4 to 6 metres of water. I got out of the slop and then looked for good bottom and anchored. I used fresh caught grinner and squid.
beefaman
I used brass swivels. hmmm looks like I need to get some black ones. Thanks for the tip
Maria
Yes. I used heavy trace line but I think the brass swivels were the problem, even though it was late afternoon and the sun was gone.
Aquarius
Yes mate, I was out early in the day too but up the Rous Channel way. Beautiful day. Didn't care if I caught nothing it was so nice to be out there. Sure beats working for a living doesn't it.
I didn't get any pics 'cause I don't own a digi camera. Nor do I know how to put them on the puter.
Us old buggers are flat out knowing how to turn the bloody things on, never mind the fancy stuff. Then again, if I was young I would have to work and not go out fishing whenever I like. ;D ;D
GES