View Full Version : 1770 - Tuesday 24th August
trout3030
28-08-2004, 09:31 PM
My first trip report so here goes. Weather report looked good so a quick trip up to 1770 on Monday night saw us arrive in time for a quick sleep then grab the boat and head out. Water was perfect - not glassy but close to it. Ran out to the Inner Wides in under an hour. Fishing was slow to start with but a bit of sounding around found some fish on a small dropoff. The fish were hussar, and of a better than average size for the area. Some went over a kilo! With 3 on board we soon had enough to keep us happy. We then started floating down large flesh baits (mullet of course under the new rules). Out the back were some good sized lippers. After a while I dropped a large bait straight down and hooked up a nice trout. Not the 6-9 kilo variety Tony catches though (Will have to find those close in trout spots one day). Caught 3 around the 2-3 kilo mark before I hooked a better one. The last trout came in at 5 kilos - very happy. A move and a drift in some deeper water off the reef found a few reds. 2 were just over the 55cm mark and already weighed 3 kilos - a nice fish for just legal. The third went around 5 kilos - very happy fisherman on the boat again. Moved to South Bustard and caught a few more nice lipper and a couple of nice Grassies around the 4-5 kilo mark. Rest of the catch included brown maori, moses perch and railways. We did end up with close to our bag limit for 3 fisherman but before you all get upset please realise this is the first time we have gone out since January and that none of the fish is wasted. It was divided between the 3 of us and won't last more than a month or two in my freezer. I would love to have the luxury of living on the coast so I could go fishing whenever the weather was good and the freezer stocks low. To finish off the trip back in was glorious. Also during the day sighted 2 whales, a pod of about 40 dolphins including many young, a hammerhead shark, tiger shark, snakes and turtles. 1770 has it all.
jeffo
29-08-2004, 03:08 AM
ahh thats the life! i will have to drag myself up there one weekend. beentrying for a while now to get the boss to organise a "work trip" to 1770 (there is only 3 of us.. and all love fishing ;D). have to keep nagging i spose ::)
will have to get back there has been about 10 years
great report dont apoligse for keeping fish to eat
hoga
trout3030
29-08-2004, 07:30 AM
thanks hoga. just seems some people get a bit narky on here when they think someone has taken too many fish. Don't get me wrong I am a big advocate of ensuring that there is fish for the future but when you make a large investment into boats and gear and then pay a large amount on bait, ice, fuel etc for each trip its nice to get a good feed.
megafish71
29-08-2004, 08:53 AM
Well said there trout. I too have copped a bit of flack about taking fish. I don't see what the problem is with putting some nice fresh fish on the table for the family. It was a lot different for me when I was living in the NT though, as I could fish just about every weekend and only needed to bring home one or two each trip to eat fish twice a week. I still put alot of fish back now but I do keep more than one or two as it may be a month or more between trips. So long as nobody takes more than their bag limits I'm happy with that. Oh by the way great report and good on ya for keeping yourselves a good feed.
Cheers Ron
Sportfish_5
29-08-2004, 05:17 PM
Well done Trout, good report ;D
Will have to get up there with the boat soon.
old_mate_china
29-08-2004, 05:42 PM
Where's the photo's ??
gday all it was about 4 months ago when me and my family went up there but we go some real nice lil queenys around the snags up some lil creek sorry no photos 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
trout3030
30-08-2004, 10:53 AM
china i have some video footage of the fish but i dont have a firewire connection to my pc so i can drag out ome pics. don't have a digital camera either. sorry no pics till i get a new pc
agnes_jack
02-09-2004, 12:48 PM
Way to go Trout!
As the other fellas said, Nothing wrong with keeping a feed for the family mate.
Good to hear you had a good run. Don't you just love 1770?
Call in and see me next time you come up, might give you a few marks ;)
Regards, Tony