View Full Version : 1770-22/8/04
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 04:58 AM
A nice early start saw us heading out in absolutely awsome conditions, hardly a ripple as we crossed the bar. Straight to the bait grounds to load up with a few live yakka. The bait was a little hard to come by, they don't seem to like hitting the jigs while it is still dark,so we headed off to spot x. By the time we got there it was nearly daylight, so a slight diversion put us over another bait ground close to spot x. Filling the live bait tank with yakkas and a few slimeys was no problem.
First few fish were grassies and moses perch, a few hussar and the odd baldy bream. Next was a nice red, things were looking up. A few more schrapnel fish, and the decision was made to head over to "the trout spot". First fish up was a nice 6-7kg barcheek, A few more grassies then things went a bit quiet. We then decided to check a couple more spots, but only more grassies and hussar could be found. Hit one spot where the trevally were so thick you couldn't see through them on the sounder, so one or two of those each for a bit of fun then back to the trout spot. It was by this time getting towards the change of tide, this always seems to bring the fish back on the go.
Next trout was a little bigger, about 7-8kg. Finished the day on the trout spot with a few more around the 6kg mark.
Yet another fantastic day at 1770!
Regards, Tony :D :D :D
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:01 AM
Bar cheeks
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:07 AM
Love em!
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:10 AM
A couple of whales, you never seem to have the camera ready at the right time, at one stage we had a tail out of the water about 20 ft away!
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:13 AM
Heres one for Heath.
A 15-24 kg live fibre loaded up on a grey coat!
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:17 AM
The offending grey coat
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:20 AM
Another shot
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:22 AM
Smile for the people!
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 05:26 AM
Another trout shot
Daintreeboy
Nice pics tony. Once again some big trout there mate!!
NeilD
Great Trout there Tony. What sort of gear and rigs do you use for them? I will have to get back up your way soon (probably around x-mas). We have normally concentrated on pelagics and the creek but those red fish sure look good to me.
Cheers Neil
24-08-2004, 07:36 AM
Tony,
Is there no wonder I'm coming up to pay yourself and your wonderful fishery a visit. Just don't hook'm all before I get there.
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 08:20 AM
I'll try and leave a few for ya mate! ;D ;D ;D
Dr_Dan
24-08-2004, 08:22 AM
Is that the average size of trout down there? Top fish!
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 08:36 AM
At the moment it is the only size trout we seem to be able to get! :-/
No small ones (below4kg). Seem to be around here at all on our closer reefs.
Its got me wondering about the ''trout dont move between reefs'' theory. ??? ???
Regards, Tony :-/
agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 08:39 AM
Give me a yell when youre coming up, will try to get time to have a fish with ya!
Yeah the red ones do taste good! ;D
Regards, Tony :D
trout3030
28-08-2004, 09:11 PM
Great fish there Tony. I made a flying vivit to 1770 on Tuesday 24th. Got there early Tuesday morning, out for a fish, back in to clean them and home again late Tuesady night. So I didn't get in to see you - sorry. Am still hoping to get in and have a chat to you about the location of the live bait schools out from Round Hill. And the report of the trip should be up soon.
agnes_jack
02-09-2004, 12:53 PM
G'day Trout
Sorry i've been a bit slow to respond, been down the gold coast for 4 days checking out the tackle trade show. Had I known you were coming I could have given you the bait ground marks no probs :D Call in next time!
Regards, Tony
02-09-2004, 04:12 PM
nice trout tony, thought a few might come our way but they didnt ::) those whales must of found us midweek we had 4 trying to play with the boat, usually i enjoy it but they were more keen than normal :o cya next time
rob
zedjack33
03-09-2004, 03:49 AM
Anyone smelling an M&G at 1770 or there abouts? ::)
I'm thinking so.
[smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
old_mate_china
03-09-2004, 12:16 PM
Well done boys. nice to see thise great eating fish coming over the side. The pics are just great too, The fish seem to just look a helleva lot better when snapped after just coming on board. Keep up the great work.
Living around 1770 must be a treat. My dad heads out from there on the "Coral Sea", (relocated a few years ago from Hervey Bay afetr Tex sold out). Dad usually manages to score pretty well from his 4 day trip, but not as good as the photos depict if he had had 4 , 1 day trips like you guys. once again - timing is everything.
Well I'd better get back to my Tuna sandwiches - the weather has blown up for the weekend again out of Cairns ... so no reefies for me
Cheers again, Lee