View Full Version : Banks trip report

Reel-Job
29-08-2004, 01:03 PM
Hi all .
Left the Moolooabah Ramp at 4.30pm only to be meet with a good 15 knot N/W wind so we had a fish at Murrphys till 11pm. Only boated one 2.8kg Snappery Squire and a Heap of undersize Red Empror and Sweet-lip which were let go to fight another day.Then we went to the southen end of the banks at 11 pm and caught not much except undersize Squire.So then we went to the Center for a fish and between 2am and 3 am we caught all up 10 fish,1 Pig fish,1 Parrot 2.5kg ,1 Mosses Perch, 5 Squire, 1 Snappery Squire Just under 3 kg, Missed 3 more hits on the Floater, And had no chance of getting up 2 other Larger Fish of the Bottom. 99% sure Large Snapper.And one Very Happy Wife .Trip home was Excellent. PHOTOS TO COME
Lou
Reel-Job

DALEPRICE
29-08-2004, 01:26 PM
good to sea u got a feed lou
cant say the same for my effort today
three trips now and not one fish to bring home

searaider
29-08-2004, 02:11 PM
Hi Lou,
My reserve deckie Dale & I are really having a dry patch , couldn't catch a keeper if you through one at us .
Got to Combie just after daylight , run across the bay was good . Heading for the Cape there was an interesting Easterly swell running .Run to the Northern end of Inner Deep Tempest a bit slopy , there was also about 2.5 knts of current running , making it just about unfishable . Stuck it out for a few hours with no luck . Moved into Shallow Tempest , looks like everyone else had the same idear . Still no keepers .
Give it the flick at about 11Am with the Northerly starting to crank up .Same lumpy run back from the Cape to Combie , once we hit , the bay the run back was good at about 20 knots .
Highlights for the day
*Saw a couple of whales , crusing past pretty close to us at Shallow Tempest .
*Said giday to Bugman on the radio .
*Still better being on the water in the slop , with no fish , than at work . ;)

Searaider 2

searaider
29-08-2004, 02:19 PM
Lou,
A number of the other guys are also having trouble loading photos on to the site ( must be a problem with the site ).

Did you see that Webby bagged out on Squire in the Bay again last Friday night .

Searaider 2

SeaSaw
29-08-2004, 07:20 PM
Hey Lou,

Well done. Good to see you back into the fish ;D

searaider
30-08-2004, 01:11 AM
Guys .
Did you see no_worries trip report post from Deep Tempest from yesterday.
He bagged out on good snapper again .( I think that when he left in the arvo , it would have been a real ordinary trip around the Cape ).

Searaider 2

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 05:30 AM
Some of the fish

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 05:35 AM
My Deckie Michell

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 05:38 AM
TheTrip Home

30-08-2004, 05:40 AM
Pete,

It did sound like you were doing it tough when I was talking to you. We pretty much had an awsome trip for what we wanted to do. The whales were very playful and the last pod of four hung around for 30 mins doing all the antics - including hanging under the boat for ages and scarying the bejesus out of me and the deckie.

I think they were putting on a display for the tourists on eye-spy the whale watching boat.

Had one drift over the St Paul that was showing lots of fish and got a nearly legal squire but it was time to go. Even got back in time for an awsome riverfire.

Nice talking to you - Brett

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 05:41 AM
My share of the catch we go halves in costs and fish

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 05:53 AM
Pete and Dale you should of come we had some good info on what time and where they might be from a old Deckie that use to come out with me once a pond a time ,thanks Mark you were right on the money.It's a wonder that no one has taken you yet in there rigs i am sure they would gain a lot of knowledge taking you out ,plus fish to take home.

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 06:00 AM
About 10k to go to cartwright and /all up 3 rum can trip with out spilling a drop :-X

DALEPRICE
30-08-2004, 06:10 AM
sounds like i need to take mark out for a trip !!
new sounder will be installed this week and then i might see if i can catch something worth bringing home.
thanx again for the top trip in searaider pete. it was a tough trip
on the way home. i still got a saw neck from those hits, ( if only i was awake to see them coming)

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 06:23 AM
Hope this is a fish photo

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 06:31 AM
This is the size of the Undersize Reds we were catching and releasing (about 7 all up)

Fatty
30-08-2004, 06:40 AM
hi lou
were you in front of us on friday afternoon we were in a white stacer pretty sure it was you we fished murphys till about the time you went to the banks . two leagal pearlys in first hour then every thing i tryed failed fished till 6am for the same two fish [smiley=bigcry.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif] that is my second average trip in a row now thats fishing

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 06:56 AM
Hi Fatty
The trip out was a bit ass pounding to murrphys but the trip out to the banks was pretty good at 11pm. anytime you want to follow us out give us a yell ,saftey in numbers.We were going to ask you if you were interested comming out to the banks after we had dinner (fried fish in beer batter). I live at Morayfield .keep in touch should be going again next weekend Your wellcome to follow us if you want. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Lou.
Reel-Job

Fatty
30-08-2004, 02:59 PM
hi lou
would have been keen to follow you to the banks we ended up all over the shop to find bugger all i live at morayfield as well next weekend is out but would be there any other weekend if you want another boat to tag along as i have never been the banks. will have to chat over drink ;D ;D
cheers fatty

Reel-Job
30-08-2004, 03:44 PM
YES THAT WAS US IN FRONT OF YOU FRIDAY AVO.We were all over the place .Michell my deckie was learning to drive the boatand work out how to use the GPS just in case i had to many rum cans.

Fatty
31-08-2004, 04:15 AM
hi lou
just finished a feed of pearlys can certanly understand why people rave about them pretty bloody tasty. my wife is normally my crew but she seems to be growing a big belly at an alarming rate :o :o this means when i come home with bugger all fish she ribs me because she was not there to pick up my slack :P will talk soon
cheers fatty

Reel-Job
31-08-2004, 12:36 PM
They are not bad to chew on. My wife hates boats she get sea sick just standing on the mud guard of the trailer looking at the fish in the esky when i catch them that is.But she loves eating them,and so does the 4 kids.I will send you a PM about the drink time and phone number. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Regards Lou
Reel-Job

seahunter
06-09-2004, 03:28 PM
nice catch LOU :) :) ;D :o TREVOR SEAHUNTER

searaider
06-09-2004, 06:51 PM
Hi seahunter/Trevor ,
Did Lou let you know the Goldfish boys have got a club trip out of Mooloolaba this Saturday .
Hopefully the conditions will be better than last time we were up there . If the conditions are OK I'll be following Lou ( Reel-Job ) out to the Banks .

Might see you on the water .
Searaider 2