View Full Version : Deep tempest wednesday
no_worries
26-08-2004, 03:24 PM
Hi all,awesome day most of you missed out on today.
The weather was stunning all day with heaps of snapper on the chew and tons of dolphins heading out to sea in large pods of 50 or greater then they all swam back a few hours later.
Don'y ask me why ,there must have been a dolphin convention out there today.
There was no snapper under 4kgs and the best was 7.5kgs i'll post some photo's when they're available,cheers no worries
jeffo
26-08-2004, 04:01 PM
no billfish seen today?
27-08-2004, 03:47 AM
no_worries keep this post running for Snappa, he will just love seeing the pictures to. [smiley=bigcry.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif]. What bait where they chewing and did you score anything else?.
Hagar
27-08-2004, 05:34 AM
No_worries
Glad you guys are getting some fish up that way . Things down here at the Tweed are pretty tragic at the moment offshore bottom fishing . I fished from in close out to the 36 's Mon. and my mate fished similar known good spots Tues. and we both only got a couple of throwbacks . Very few fish on the sounder .We have 20 yrs. local knowledge so that should not have been the problem .
Lots of locals having the same result lately with just a few odd good fish taken . The top water temp is good at 19 deg. but maybe there's a cold current below . Beats me - anyone have a theory ?
searaider
27-08-2004, 07:50 AM
Geday no_worries ,
Without trying to steal all you secerets can you help us out with some info :-
Deep Tempest is in one big chunk of water , the chance of finding me in your spot would be 1 in a Million .
*Did you get the Snapper during the day , or before dawn ?
*Was there much current running ?
Now I'm really pushing the friendship :-
*What depth were you fishing ?
*What type of bait were you using ?
Searaider 2
Streaker
27-08-2004, 08:09 AM
SNAPPA are you reading this. [smiley=wut.gif] [smiley=wut.gif]
Wayne
blue_rogue
27-08-2004, 08:11 AM
Just out of interest, Was the current running hard? It seems to be flowing like a steam-train at the moment.
Where are the photos mate!!!!!
Well done
no_worries
27-08-2004, 01:59 PM
Hi all,i don't know where snappa is i'll try ringing tonight.
The current was funny yesterday with the top half running hard to the south and the bottom much slower which made for awkward fishing but later on in the day the bottom caught up and while we were still drifting fast if was much easier fishing.
The bait was mainly good quality wa pillies as they took them before the yakkas and squid and we caught the bulk of fish on the eastern edges of the outer rock,a spot which normally doesn't yield big fish yet we fished the deep water north of the rock and caught very little.
No billies seen or hooked and the pearlies were pretty average.
cheers no worries
no_worries
27-08-2004, 02:02 PM
Forgot to get rid of the excess numbers on the photo,here's one with a fishing buddy
no_worries
27-08-2004, 02:07 PM
Another photo
no_worries
27-08-2004, 02:11 PM
Hi searaider give me a ring at home on 32036629 sometime and i'll fill you in ,cheers no worries(gary)
Abalone_4.9
27-08-2004, 03:17 PM
Nice fish mate.
What was the total haul ??
no_worries
27-08-2004, 05:50 PM
We all achieved our bag limit,that's why we only brought good fish home but we didn't catch that many small ones to release ,mostly good solid fish,cheers no worries
MY ALIBI
08-09-2004, 05:48 AM
Hi guys great pics .Sounds good out there can't wait 2 go ;D
any tips would be great [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
no_worries
09-09-2004, 03:11 PM
Hi red rocket,it's easy to catch snapper at the moment at deep tempest.Fish the outer rock with plain old pillies on a 10 ball floater at about 60mts and hang on,no real expertise needed recently,cheers no worries