View Full Version : Townsville Mackerel
Robbo_Townsville
12-09-2004, 11:07 AM
Trolled around West Point and picked up 2 nice fat doggies. Dropped 2 ah well. Once again the hot pink lures ot fished the gold halco laser pros and my rapalas. Cheapest ones in the tackle box and seem to do the job time after time.
12-09-2004, 11:18 AM
WOO, nice effects in the pic and a nice doggie, are you seeing many fish on the sounder robbo? usually when you can get one on the troll with a lure the size of that vertical jigging small slugs in the area will produce constant hookups.
SNELLY
12-09-2004, 05:05 PM
Robbo,
Well done good to see you are slowly advancing to something half deicient
Cheers Snelly
PS heading to Darwin next weekend and with a 256mb card for my camera as well
Robbo_Townsville
13-09-2004, 06:58 AM
Never really tried any jigging mackmauler. Sounds like fun, the water I am fishing in there is only 5 metres deep though. I should have a rig ready and waiting to go, maybe with an old wonder wobbler on it or something. Reckon it would work?
13-09-2004, 07:23 AM
It would still be worth having a rig ready robbo but id probably use a heavier slug and cast it some distance, the wobblers dont like really fast retrieves to much. best time is when you hookup on the troll, usually a few fish following the hooked one.
Robbo_Townsville
13-09-2004, 12:58 PM
Cheers for that Mack, let you know how I go.
Leo_N.
14-09-2004, 11:10 AM
I went out to West Point on Sunday morning early before going to the boat show. We picked up a heap of diamond trevally on the last of the run in tide, and the school mackeral came on the chew when the tide started flowing out hard. We got bitten off a few times, not fishing with wire, but ended up with three nice schoolies for the esky. Had one bit beligerant fisht just before pulling up anchor - the hooks eventually pulled and the yakka fillet came back absolutely covered with mud - reckon it may have been a big shovelnose by the way it was hugging the bottom (but not a snag by the blistering first run).
I have found that trolling can work well at West Point to find what depth the mackeral schools are hanging out at, but anchoring and burlying up heaps brings on more takes. I tend to drift whole pilchards in the current if there is enough run.