View Full Version : Double Island Sneaky

13-09-2004, 09:02 AM
Adamleigh and I travelled to Tin Can Bay, Firday night and camped ( although, Adam spent most of the night cutting wood ::) ), at the ramp carpark, right next to the No Camping sign.

Opimax had rang earlier and said that he'd still be going to beach and was coming up soon, as the weather had changed and he had to fish Saturday and NOT work. ( priorities ).

Thunderbird and crew arrived about 5ish. After our cuppa tea and biscuits, we hit the water and in no time we were at the bar. Bit jiggley, but nop probs. So those interested, we were off Carlo Point and we could here Opimax quite clearly on the 27meg, and he was on the beach at Di.

Reached our first spot and sounded. with a few shows of fish, but nothing to set the world on fire. Having not " really " fished this area before, I needed to suss it.

Weather was getting better, with the wind dropping and the seas fairly flat.

A couple of fish started coming into the boat and some even went into the esky. My floater produced a nice Mac Tuna, which was promptly cut for bait, as was a couple of species.

The next fish was a Snapper ( squire actually, wasn't over5kg ) on the Shimano 6500. Whole pille, 2 gang VMC6/0's and NO lead, in 60 mtrs of water.

Anyway, went further afield looking, looking and finding bits and pieces. The fishing was slow, and as Thunderbird said, the afternoon bit is always best.

I thought I was doing well when I radioed the boys to tell em I was a feed of Lamington Fingers for morning tea, but that didn't come close to Thunderbirds crew who were into the XXXX Gold and chicken sangers. ;D ;D ;D :P

Tiem went on and wind picked up a tad, so Opimax went in closer for a kip ? so did the others, it appeared. Adam and I went sth looking for some pearlies, but alas, more Parrot.

We saw, mid afternoon, a few Pro boats heading to port, and by the weather, it might get a little blowey overnight. The forecast was for the wind / change to hit Sunday arvo, but we called it a day late in the arvo.

Back across the bar no probs and safely to port.

Species put in th esky were, Squire, Parrot, Maori Cod, Coronation Trout, Grassie Sweetlip, Moses Perch, etc.

We did get a lot of Reds. but the best went 50cms. Caught other species that didn't keep, Gold Spot Cod, Coral Bream, Goat Fish, Coral Cod, and others.

Round trip in boat was 135k's. and for the 4 x 4 freaks, The Nissan Navara ( 3ltr turbo ) towing 2 ton of ReBait over 266k's used 42ltrs diesel.

All in all, maybe the overnight thing will be best, in hindsight, going out on Friday arvo would have been Ideal.

Expect to see the others post reports here soon. Thanks Mark and Lee.

13-09-2004, 09:02 AM
OH little squire

13-09-2004, 09:03 AM
Pic doesn't do it justice, fat Grassie.

13-09-2004, 09:04 AM
Finally, legal Red, and more in the esky, I bet. ;)

And YES, that is Lee's head sticking out of the bow. " I wasn't sleeping, just resting me eyelids ". Sure Lee. ::)

ken4159
13-09-2004, 09:47 AM
Phil, nice to see someone caught fish this weeked.
sounds like you & Adam had a good trip, conditions looked good.

cheers, Ken

13-09-2004, 10:06 AM
lol why were you cutting wood Adam ??? ;D good to see you got something for the not inconsiderable effort to make that trip!

Reefmaster
13-09-2004, 01:43 PM
Bugger
i wished i was there but i had my fun else where. Good to see ya up there phill maybe next time you can come out wide. Atleast you got a few for the dinner plate.

Cheers Greg

snappa
13-09-2004, 03:22 PM
l..phill

great report and some fish in the esky.
how were you feeling getting to the bar ????
no knowing.. the condition on the bar..
what about a beach launch..
b.b.q on the beach [cook up the ex fish]
nissan ... 42 lts for the round trip. WOW
i was looking at one myself.
what happens when you get to a hill still plenty or does the nissan slow.
next trip give me a ring ,, now the trailer has brakes i can legally tow it.. reel keen to get up there.....
i'm sure i could crew for a trip to d/i from the site...

13-09-2004, 04:08 PM
I thought you sold "Kellogs", Peter ?

or was that fella, just a tyre kicker ?

Of course the Nissan slows, but I still overtook a semi on the " overtaking " lane. ;D ;D ;D

" Next time give me a ring"......Peter. That's why it was a sneaky trip, didn't want you to know ;D ;) ::) ::) ::)

The bar is Always, workable, Peter. If ya got a 2mtr swell running and an out tide, with 15 to 20knots, sure, there might be trouble.

So far, in all the trips I have done to the bar, none had to be cancelled due to bar conditions.

Then again, the shoredump at DI can be unforgiving.

Plan 'A'. leave Brisvegas for easy run to the Truck stop at Gympie, Burger & Cuppa, while watching the footy on the big screen. Off to TCB and good sleep prior to per-dawn raid on the bar. Doesn't get any easier than that, no tides for beach run, ferries etc. !

Also, at TCB, once you have the boat on the trailer, you can hose it down imediately, get rid of rubbish, flush motor, utilize ammenities and get a feed at the local.

it's all my opinion, anyway. to each there own.

Phill ;) ;) ;) ;)

snappa
13-09-2004, 04:43 PM
L...phill

i was thinking the beach because i thought no one would be leaving from the ramp...
if there are a few leaving from the ramp in the future .. give me a ring...
and yes a lot easier thats for sure but will try a beach assult and work out which one suits the best ......
love the sand between the toes :)
the trailer can travel now ... its legal sort of.... :P

13-09-2004, 05:27 PM
Ditto to Phils last post!

SeaSaw
13-09-2004, 06:26 PM
Peter & Phil,

I am also keen on a trip up to DI, and would want to launch from the ramp, as my rig is a bit heavy for towing up the beach and launching (and I am not set up for it). If there is a group going up one day, I would love to come along, especially as I am a first timer to DI and dont know the bar. It would be a good way to learn a new area.

opimax
14-09-2004, 10:24 AM
good to see you out there phil & adam but you should have stayed the snapper come on ;D :D :D. lee

Sportfish_5
14-09-2004, 11:10 AM
This sounds like a plan ;D

Count me in work commitments permitting.

agnes_jack
14-09-2004, 11:20 AM
Good on ya guys!
Sounds like ya had a good weekend.

Regards, Tony

14-09-2004, 12:56 PM
Where is that Thunderbirds report ?