View Full Version : New Engine Blooded at Barwon

SeaSaw
12-09-2004, 06:41 PM
After getting the boat back yesterday with the new Yammy 4 stroke on, I couldn't wait to get out today. As mentioned by others, I headed out to Barwon Banks leaving Mooloolaba about 3.30am. Condition were great, but is was a slow trip out as I have to keep the revs down for the first 10 hours. It was tempting to open it up, given the glassy conditions ;D

The fishing was consistant most of the mornng, but not startling. There were a few other Ausfishers in the same area (Reel Job, Rea Raider II, 620 sf) , and everyone seems to have come up with similar results. We ended up leaving around lunch time after we reached the bag limit of 6 each for Parrot. In all we got a good mixed bag of 23 fish between two of us, including Pearlies, Parrot, Squire & Trag. :)

Here is a picture of the best squire and parrot.

SeaSaw
12-09-2004, 06:42 PM
Here is the full catch

SeaSaw
12-09-2004, 06:50 PM
And check out the shiny new engine ;D ;D ;D I used about 40-50 litres less fuel today that I did for similar trips with the old 2 stroke [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

philip_thomson
12-09-2004, 07:07 PM
thats a nice catch there. new shiny engines great sights ;D
glad to hear your back on the water. very nice boat also

well done
cheers phil

dfox
12-09-2004, 07:10 PM
good on you mate, and youve already saved 50 bucks
howd the boat like the extra wieght of the yammy. sound like a great day to try it out catch up with you soon...foxy

12-09-2004, 07:24 PM
Mark, motor looks great [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

top catch of fish.

13-09-2004, 05:36 AM
Good to see you back on the water again Mark. Looks like you had a good session out there. Will see you out there soon.

searaider
13-09-2004, 05:44 AM
Hi Mark ,
With such conditions ,I bet you had trouble holding the new Yammie back to the running in rev's . It'll be interesting to see what she will wind out too .( Looks good on SeaSaw ).

With the good fuel econnomy , the more you go fishing the more you save . ;D

By the photo's it looks like you ended up with a good feed .

Searaider 2

SeaSaw
13-09-2004, 11:35 AM
Thanks Guys,

dfox, the yammy went great, although I did notice the extra weight when first getting up onto the plane. I have a foil from the old engine that I will probably have to put on to give some extra lift during acceleration. Otherwise it went really well.

craigie
14-09-2004, 07:21 AM
Mark,

Nice haul of fish mate ;)

What was your fuel burn for the trip ??

Craig.

SeaSaw
14-09-2004, 01:29 PM
Craig,

I went through 107 litres of fuel and travelled 105km according to the fuel managment system on the engine. This is not bad as I was having to travel at an uneconomical speed due to the break in requirement, so it should be better again when I can run at the optimum cruising speed. :D

With the old engine, I would have burnt at least 150litres of fuel for the same distance and speed. :'(

megafish71
14-09-2004, 06:15 PM
Got to love those big 4 strokes. The economy will get better Mark. I found that with mine after about 50hrs the economy got better. Don't know if it was the motor starting to free up more or if I just sorted the trim and best cruising rpm out. But am more than happy with the fuel economy of mine. As for it being a little slower out of the hole, what does it matter is it a fishing boat or a race boat. What prop are you running on yours Mark? Im running a 17" on mine but I think it could spin a 19" as I can still get 6200rpm out of it with 3 blokes on board 200lts of fuel and heaps of gear. Was also considering a 4 blade. Good to see you get a few fish on your first trip out with the new outboard.
Cheers Ron.

PS: What brand and model are your trim tabs.

SeaSaw
14-09-2004, 06:40 PM
Ron,

I am running a 17" prop at the moment. During the water test we ran it out to 6200 revs with 3 people on board & 350 litres of fuel (full tank), which is close to a full load, only a bit of fishing gear missing. I think the 19" might be too much. It is a shame there isn't an 18" as I reckon that would be a perfect match.

I am not really concerned with the acceleration, but would like some extra lift in the transom to counteract the extra weight. Either a foil or a 4 blade prop (or both) would have the desired effect. Only a minor modification really to achieve the best performance from the engine. I love the engine and want to get it set up just right.

The trim tabs are Trimmaster 305mm x 305mm. They make a huge difference to the ride. I have been happy with them ever since the plastic pins that hold the Ram onto the plate got changed to stainless bolts. This happened after I broke the plastic pins twice in the first 3 months, and I think they got sick of sending me new ones under warranty, so replaced them with stainless bolts instead.

dazza
15-09-2004, 09:19 AM
hi mark,
great to see the new donk on the back.
we tried a 19'' prop and it really worked the motor getting onto the plane. once there though it went like a scalded cat :o :o. settled for the 17'' 4 blade solas. the 4 blade gives a bit more arse lift. also reduced the size of the fuel tank to 200 litres. and moved it forward which has made a big difference to the weight distribution.
i am bringing the boat back from rainbow in a couple of weeks, we can put the 17'' 4 blade on yours and go for a spin, see how she goes.
dazza

SeaSaw
15-09-2004, 04:51 PM
Dazza,

I'd like to try the 4 blade and see what difference it makes. Much appreciated - talk to you soon.