View Full Version : Moreton Bay Today

skippa
11-09-2004, 03:58 PM
Day off today, so with a quick check out the window (rain gooone) it wasn't long before I was hitting the water. Didn't really expect too much, just being an opportunist but the day was too good to be mowing the lawn.

Fished the usual haunts around Peel and Rainbow for a mixed bag, with most going back as undersize, but still a few legals to take home for the BBQ.

Ended up at Harrys with seas smoothing out, when I got some very unexpected visitors. They initally gave me quite a scare as I was still at anchor when they arrived. (Jeez, what the??) Hung around for about 15 minutes which allowed for a few pic's to be taken. I've had 'em swim around the boat outside, but never in the bay.

Just a great sight on top of beautiful day.

Tony 8)

skippa
11-09-2004, 04:01 PM
try again

11-09-2004, 05:25 PM
Great sight for sure. I didn't realise they came into the bay. Hope I get such a close look one day. I suppose mid week reduced boat traffic helps not scare them off.

skippa
11-09-2004, 06:59 PM
G'Day Cheech,

First time I've seen them in the southern bay, I've seen them up around the Curtain and off Bribie. I read in today's local rag there is a 500mt ban on them. I certainly wouldn't just motor up to them, but it was good to have them swim by. The day just glassed out in the afternoon, Jeez it was good not to be at work. (for once)

Tony 8)

skippa
11-09-2004, 07:08 PM
Horrible conditions later in the afvo

bigbrian47
12-09-2004, 02:18 AM
early one morning couple of years ago same thing off the sandhills absolute magic that was midweek too though i heard
from a ferry deckie that a cow @ calf spent @ couple of weeks in the bay that year
i wonder the reason disoriented or maybe eluding predators
wonderful to see them you were lucky
cheers brian

skippa
12-09-2004, 04:21 AM
G'Day Brian,

Yep, it was wonderful to see them. According to the local paper it's Southern Wright whale with her calf. Not known to be this far north before, it's unusual indeed.

I came across them again when I was coming back to the ramp, they were in a lot closer to shore then. Need to keep a good lookout.

Tony 8)

Burley
17-09-2004, 08:59 AM
The whales have been in the bay for at least two weeks now. I've seen them at least five different days always around the southern side of peel. Last Friday arvo I saw a guy in a c/c almost hit one. I was on the Straddy Flyer and the skipper was giving all the warning he could. The guy came off plane right on top of where they last surfaced. The deckie got rego details, anyone know what they could do if they track the guy down? ???

SeaHunt
17-09-2004, 09:54 AM
Well Burley if he didn't see them, he didn't see them. I believe you can only get fined for deliberately approaching them.
There was one stuffing around under the Story bridge in the middle of the night a few years ago. :o